Clear Creek Pullover

Finally!  A finished knit project.  I really got out of the knitting mode for a while.  I’m not sure what happened, but it was very unlike me not to have a knitting project always at hand.  Not to worry, the obsession is back and once again I am wondering when I get to start a new project!  I just finished a sweater for myself and one for Carter, so now there is another one for me started, and one for the new baby.

 

Here are a few shots and details of the one I finished for myself.  You will just have to image the fit, as my big pregnant belly doesn’t currently fit very well in it.  I can get it on, but the front gets completely stretched out and it rises up about 3″ in the front.  You can’t help but laugh when you see it, it looks so ridiculous.

152

The pattern is the Clear Creek Pullover, from Interweave Knits.  It’s a very quick, easy knit and I really enjoyed working on it.  I love that there are short rows across the back of the neck, so that it doesn’t hang down in the back (which is something I have complained about here in the past when I have made top-down sweaters).

156

 

You can see the short-rows a bit in this picture.  The top band is a bit thicker in the back.  It’s only a few rows, but it’s just enough.  This photo also shows the sleeve detail.  I love Raglan sleeves – again something I have mentioned in the past.

157

 

The yarn is made by Claudia Hand Painted Yarn.  It is hand dyed linen, so it has wonderful color variations and beautiful drape.  In person, it’s actually a darker, richer color, but I had trouble capturing its true color with my camera.  I was really impressed with the linen – which I am having to switch to for my summer sweaters, as I am running a little hotter since having Carter and being pregnant.  The linen is much cooler than cotton and way cooler than wool, my preferred fiber.  It feels almost crusty in the skein, but after washing and drying this, it is much softer and has beautiful drape.  I didn’t even block it, just pulled it out of the dryer and laid it flat to finish drying.

154

The bottom hem here looks a bit ruffled, but it goes away once it’s on.  I did notice that for some of the projects on Ravelry, this did not go away.  Something you could easily adjust for by using smaller needles for that part of the sweater.

158

You can find more details on my mods by checking my Ravelry page here.   My next project for myself is using another linen yarn, that claims to be the softest.  Will report on that as soon as I am finished.   Does anyone else have a prefered linen?  If so, please share in the comments.

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Clear Creek Pullover

  1. Susan Wilkerson says:

    Very, very pretty Heather! my only complaint is the hanger!!! lol!

    • Diane W says:

      I heard at our local yarn shop to crack the linen skeins before you use them. Otherwise it is pretty rough on your skin. You take the skein and crack them around on a table edge, etc. Wonder how well this works. Im stuck on cotton and wool. I made 5 sweaters last winter. A few that i had started, but now i think i ‘need’ more yarn….and finish a bunch more that are half done. I love your style. Need to look again at your ravelry account.

  2. Verónica says:

    Beautiful and what a fantastic color!

  3. Cindy Hagen says:

    I love the color and look of that sweater. It almost makes me want to take up knitting again…almost, but not quite!

Leave a Reply

