More Puppy Quilts

The wind cooperated today and I was able to get a few photos of two more finished quilts featuring my fabric line “I Love Puppies.”

The first one is called Building Blocks and can be found in our “Little Quilts for Little Kids” book.

DSC_1143 crop

 

This pattern is designed to show off large pieces of a feature fabric – in this case, the aqua puppy print.

DSC_1169

 

I am having some trouble with my camera lately – My photos are so blurry and washed out.  The cad shows the fabric much better.  (I think it’s time to send the camera in to be looked at – These photos are not good!!!)

aqua puppies

 

DSC_1153

 

The argyle print pulls everything together and frames the quilt so nicely.  Plus, it’s so boyish -

DSC_1141

 

I fussy cut a few of the puppies inside the pieced blocks.  (which would work great for this pattern  also, which you may remember I did with the Fishy panel from my last boy fabric line.)

DSC_1141 crop 600

 

The second quilt is also from the kids book and is called “Oh Baby”.  I plan to decorate Carter’s new room with this line, so he needed another quilt with his name on it for that room (the new baby will be getting his room and all his previous quilts were made with the Fishy fabrics)

DSC_1119

 

This one is also framed in the argyle print – which I can’t seem to stop using!  It works so well with the line.  It was inspired by the argyle I painted on the walls in his room.  (Click here to see his room)

DSC_1165

 

I used the panel-style print from the line for the backing.

DSC_1131

 

I framed the panel print in orange, making the border just slightly wider than the border on the front side of the quilt.  I think it’s cuter this way, than using just the panel print.  It probably only took me an extra 10 minutes, so it was totally worth it.

DSC_1133

 

(Again – a cad image to give you a more accurate image of what the fabric actually looks like.)

grey puppy panel

For those of you who have asked – we will be offering kits of the puppy quilts on a first come-first serve basis.  The fabric won’t be here until July, but you can pre-order here.

DSC_1122

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Fabric Trends, Pattern of the Week, Quilting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to More Puppy Quilts

  1. lucyannluna says:

    I love dog fabric.

  2. Sartenada says:

    The first one is my favorite.

  3. treadlemusic says:

    Totally am in love with the argyle! There are so few really boy-ish prints ‘out there’ and this one really fills that need! Wonderfully sweet for that growing young man in your fam!!!!! Hugs…………….

  4. Megan says:

    little quilts 4 little kids is one of my go-to books for kids quilts, I love all of them! I have only ever done Baby Cakes (my local quilt store did a kit) and the one with the owl, can’t think of the name (which would be super cute if done with a dog applique instead of the owl). I really like the building blocks one. And I love the new dog fabric!

Leave a Reply

