Patchwork Mosiac Runner

I finished up a runner for my dining room.  I started it 2 or 3 years ago and the top has been sitting in my closet since then.  I found it the other day and was reminded how much I love this fabric line, and I was so close to being done, so why not finish it?

031

 

I quickly got the quilting and binding done, so it’s ready for its close up.

038

 

Seriously, what took me so long?  I love these fabrics, though I can’t remember the name of the fabric line.  I am assuming it was done by Basic Grey, as it contains a few of their “Grunge” prints.  If anybody remembers the name of the line, please leave it in the comments . . . .

035

 

This runner was published in my “On the Run” book, quite a few years ago.  It was when hexagons were first starting to surface, along with a technique for assembling them that didn’t require y-seams.  In the photo below, you can see the runner is assembled using half-hexagon blocks, which are sewn into rows.  It’s so much easier that way!

033

 

This runner is cut from a Charm Pack and does not require a special ruler.  You will also need a bit of background and some binding fabric.

032

 

Below are the original runners from the “On the Run” book  (not to be confused with our new “On the Run Again” book.)

DSC_9387 adj1

 

I could easily make a few more of these.  I need to go check my Charm pack stash . . . . . .

DSC_8683 ADJ

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Fabric Trends, Machine Quilting, Pattern of the Week, Quilting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Patchwork Mosiac Runner

  1. Sue says:

    So pretty! I love seeing several views of the runners.

  2. Shelly J says:

    Thought I had that book but can’t locate it. I guess I need to add it to the list that already has “On the Run Again” on it. The fabric line is Hello Luscious, one of my favorites. It’s always fun to see patterns that have been around for awhile make encore appearances.

  3. Marcia Willey says:

    I love getting these emailed updates!  The runner AND house colors are amazing!

  4. I love the look of the hexagons, I haven’t made anything with them but I’ve got the bug now and these runners would be perfect to start with. Where can I find the book(s) you mentioned?

    • Hi Dorthy – There is a link in the post to our online store. I think it’s by the second to the last photo – but just look for the book names, they will be highlighted a different color and that is the link to view or purchase the books.

  5. Karen M says:

    Beautiful, love the colors and the size of the runner. How long and wide is the runner? Really like it!

  6. sazcreates says:

    Beautiful! And the quilting really sets them off :) x

  7. Diana says:

    Love e runner, your table, the dishes, the glasses, well everything! Your home us so pretty & cozy. Could you please decorate my house? ;)

  8. Nancy Harpster says:

    Love these runners!!

Leave a Reply

