Carter’s 2 Year Pictures

The first order of business is announcing the winner of this fat quarter pack from my last post -

091 adj taller

The randomly selected winner is:

Deborah A Manning, who commented on July 28th at 8:01 pm

Please email your shipping address to me at:  hmulder@wecnet.com and I will ship your fat quarter pack out right away!

 

I am so behind on blogging that I have yet to share Carter’s 2 year pictures or even show a baby bump picture!  Carter is already 25 1/2 months, so we will start with that first.  A few of you have been asking for an update and I am more than happy to oblige!  (I will also make a few comments here and there – just so I can refer back and remember what he was all up to at this age).

DSC_0804 crop

 

Carter turned 2 on June 13th.  I was so busy thinking about planning a party for each side of the family that I totally forgot it was also our Anniversary!

080

 

One of Carter’s favorite things to do is be outside.

030

 

Much of the time outside includes water.  Early this summer, we just had the water table to play in, but that didn’t stop him from getting completely drenched each time we went outside.  I think we average about 2-3 outfits per day.

017

 

Now that the lake has warmed up and the water levels are down, he is spending a lot of time in the lake.  (We had the coldest winter in 30 years, followed by the second wettest June on record.  That meant that lake season really didn’t start until July)

100 098 081

(BTW – did you see how huge Romy has gotten?)

 

He also loves boat rides – especially sitting in Dad’s lap and trying to drive.

 

039-(2)

He is obsessed with driving and keys.  Not fake keys, only the real ones and not play cars, but real ones.  We spend hours and hours every week sitting in the car while Carter pretends to drive to Grandma’s, the zoo, or go grocery shopping.  Did you know that you don’t have to start the car to be able to put it in neutral?  All you need is a 2-year-old, sitting in a truck, playing with the keys.  It all seems pretty harmless until you see the trunk with your precious 2-year-old in it roll a few feet into the garage door.  Somehow he had gotten the correct key in the ignition, depressed the brake pedal, while pulling the truck into neutral.   We were standing right there and no one was hurt, so we were lucky.  All the keys are now kept on top of the fridge.  He asks for them constantly and knows which keys go with which of our vehicles.   Lord help me.

IMG_2279

He is also obsessed with this hat, as you can see in many of his pictures.  Substitutions with that have also failed.  Have I mentioned that he really, really, really, really knows what he wants?

050

 

He also loves rough housing with Dad.  Everything is Dad’s.  Dad’s boat, Dad’s truck, Dad’s this and Dad’s that.  The main thing Carter and I have in common is our love of chocolate.  I’m just kidding – but not about the loving chocolate part.  We both really love chocolate.  (I read yesterday that what a woman eats a lot of in her third trimester is often a food the kid loves.  Let’s just say this next baby might have an even stronger chocolate addiction than Carter).

019

 

His other favorite thing is still letters.  Now he is obsessed with all the sounds.  many times a day, I hear him say “Yetters make sounds”.  We are constantly drawing him letters or rolling his Play-Doh into letter shapes so he can tell us what sound it makes and what words start with that sound.   As my husband says, “I think he is going to be a nerd.”  (He’s definitely not going to be an athlete.  When you ask him to jump, the only thing that goes up are his arms).

DSC_9437 ADJ

 

Two things that Carter hates are: not getting his way and cameras. We tried having family pictures a week ago and I am still recovering.  He wouldn’t smile at all or even sit still for the pictures.  There were so many bratty moments that I just didn’t even know what to do with him.  Despite all his cute moments, he can be quite the challenge.  I will show you a couple of those pictures anyways -

Heather-175

 

And a bigger bump shot for you -

Heather-160 crop2

 

And the only one with Carter smiling -

Heather-135 crop

I am about 3 1/2 weeks from my due date.  So far everything is going well, though I am definitely feeling my age and being pregnant.  On Wednesday I had a check up and found that I am already dilated to a 4 and thought – “Well that explains a few things”.  Maybe it’s not just my age after all ;-)  So do ya think I better get that hospital bag packed?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Family, Quilting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Carter’s 2 Year Pictures

  1. Jocelyn says:

    I love the pictures!! You have a beautiful family.

  2. Bette says:

    as always TOOOOOOO cute for words

  3. Jen W says:

    WOW! Baby #2 will be here soon! That went by fast! I will agree with you. My daughter at Carter’s age was obessed with the car. She used to love the beep the horn. Thankfully we live in the woods. Only way to keep her out of trouble while doing yardwork was to stick her in the car and let her play. She stuck 11 cents in my CD slot and shorted out my radio. Took over $1,000 to replace the system for 11 cents. We didn’t know about the 11 cents at the time until the tech took it all apart. Carter is too cute, dispite his strong personality. :)

  4. Jen W says:

    Nice typos. It’s Friday and the end of my work day. :D

  5. Chookyblue says:

    wow Carter is growing so quickly and so cute………………you look great…………….yes pack the bags………goodluck for baby No 2…….

  6. Gloria says:

    Every time I see pictures of Carter, I think he is the cutest little boy! He really is darling and I chuckle at his stubbornness! Pack your bags and praying for easy delivery and healthy baby.

  7. Cyndi Shaver says:

    Love the pics and up date, 2 yr olds can be very challenging, he is one smart boy! Congrats on baby number 2, looking forward to hearing if a boy or girl!!

  8. deborah a. manning says:

    Hi Heather, I won the fat quarter pack. I am Deborah A. Manning. I cannot pull up the website for hmulder@wecnet.com. I have tried every which way. Can I give you my address here under comments? Please advise. Thank you.

  9. Sue says:

    Wow Carter is growing up. What a cutey and a handful by the sounds of it. Yes I’d be packing my bag for hospital. Next time we here from you Carter will be a brother! All the best.

  10. I was finally able to access the website. I hope it went through to you. Thank you.
    Deborah A. Manning

  11. Patty Fowl says:

    What a beautiful family you all are!! How is Carter feeling about a new sibling? You are glowing and do not look that far along. Hoping your labor and delivery are smooth and all is happy and healthy with your newest addition!

  12. Tina says:

    Wonderful pictures of your lovely family!!! Carter is an absolute cutie and yes, you’d better get that bag packed ;o) !!!!

  13. Sandra Davidson says:

    He is so cute but boys can be a handful they always know what they want and are very determined. I have two grandsons so I know but they are so special.
    I didn’t even know you were preg but congratulations I hope all goes well. Blessings for all of you

  14. Judy Werner says:

    Heather and family, Thanks for sharing your beautiful family with us. I once did care about the smiles and sitting still for pictures. But no more! Enjoy Carter, and the soon to be, they grow up way to fast, then you just become Grandparents, and it gets even better!

  15. Mary Ann says:

    Love all the photos. Your baby will be here before you know it!

  16. Great pics! A kid who knows his mind won’t be swayed by peer pressure as much when he hits school. ;-) Yes! Pack the bag~ #2’s sometimes want out quickly. ;-) Have a happy weekend!

  17. Karen Shackleford says:

    Such fun photos and a beautiful family. Can’t wait to “meet” your new baby.

  18. Ruthie says:

    Great pictures! You have a nice family and it looks like you live in a wonderful area for the children to grow up. That Carter is such a cutie! Maybe he just likes casual shots better than portraits. Good luck on the upcoming birth, and I can’t wait to see the new little darling.

  19. Carrie says:

    Oh. My. Gosh. When did I miss that your family is growing?!

    I love the pictures of Carter – I can’t believe he’s two. And I love the pictures of Carter and Joel – perfect. But the pictures of the three – four – of you are the best. I am so happy and thrilled for you both – you were both meant for this. Congratulations!

    (And Romy – she got so big so fast! Amazing how that happens… lol)

  20. Denise says:

    HE is so cute. Yes at two they can be quite the little characters.lol Love all the pictures.
    Good luck on birth of Baby #2. Please pack. I waited a bit too long for baby #2 and he came early. Went to the hospital in a hurry. Husband packed and brought my stuff later. Needless to say, I got a few laughs at what he thought I needed.

  21. Connie says:

    Cute pictures of Carter, baby bump too. And yes, pack that bag girl!!!

  22. Denise in PA says:

    Heather, Carter is so adorable! (Good thing, huh? LOL) You look gorgeous. Best of luck – and yes – have that bag ready at the door! o:)

  23. Catherine says:

    Fabulous pictures. Good luck over the next few weeks

  24. Rita Nichols says:

    Get your bag packed and don’t forget to have your back up plan for Carter! He has really grown and being a typical terrible 2 he will surprise you every day! Loved your pictures and sending blessings for that new little one who will be here before you know it!

  25. Marsha Nelson says:

    Carter is darling. He’s a real charmer. Yes, pack your bag for the hospital. Number 2 is on the way.

  26. Susan K says:

    He is so cute! They can definitely get stubborn in their 2’s and 3’s. “I do it” “No” are just two phrases that they will repeat over and over. My oldest was addicted to Mexican food and salsa. It’s what I craved while pregnant with him. He had his first bowl of salsa with chips at just over a year. Finished it off all by himself. He’s now almost 29 and still eats salsa instead of sweets.

  27. Diana says:

    Love the pictures, thank you for sharing. You all look great!

  28. Debbie says:

    Adorable photos! Thanks for the update. Wishing you a timely and easy birth.

  29. Cindy Hagen says:

    I hope that bag is packed or I’m afraid you won’t have time to do it!! We’ll all be anxiously awaiting the news. Prayers for an easy delivery.

  30. Kristy says:

    You have a beautiful family. Carter sounds like he will have soooo much to teach his new little brother. Just to let you know baby #2 will make his arrival whether you pack that bag or not. :)

  31. ColleenM says:

    OMG! Carter is ADORABLE! You better get that bag packed and in the car, you don’t look like you will make it another 3 1/2 weeks. I’m posting on the 4th and I may be too late already:) Good luck.

  32. Bari says:

    Loved these pictures and can’t wait to see the newest member! And yes – pack those bags!!!!

  33. Kris P says:

    Carter is so stinkin’ cute! Sounds like he’s stubborn like my first. By the time was almost 2 she decided what she would and wouldn’t wear. She simply would not put on the outfit I purchased for her 2 year photos. Even after putting her in a time out 3 times for refusing! She still is very stubborn, but a wonderful child of nearly 13 years. I love that Carter is so interested in letters and sounds. Be prepared for him to start reading soon. Our 2nd daughter was reading at 4, with absolutely no help from us. She’s now 10 and has read everything she can get her hands on- Including the Harry Potter books- twice!
    One more comment… about your cravings. For our first child, I ate Peanut Buster Parfaits, like no body’s business. 1st kid is lactose intolerant and really doesn’t like chocolate anything. 2nd pregnancy, I craved tomatoes. We had BLT’s at least once a week. I normally never eat tomatoes and couldn’t get enough of them. Our 2nd daughter is allergic to tomatoes. They make her throat itchy and as a toddler, she would get a rash on her face and her bottom within minutes of eating fresh tomatoes.

    Enjoy these last few days of having just one child. Make time to get a nap in for yourself. Once baby #2 comes, make sure you nap when the kids are napping. You’ll need it. Two is much more difficult in the beginning. They both need you… all the time, but you must take care of yourself. Sleep deprivation is not good for a new mommy.
    Hugs!

  34. Jennifer W says:

    The pictures are adorable. I love the one of him in the car with his travel mug! I notice other things though and want to know about your cute shoes in the picture? I am wanting some like that.

  35. Pam Bush says:

    Oh my goodness Heather, I had know idea what you have gone through personally to create this beautiful happy family. I have been looking for a car quilt and began with pinterest and found yours. Then kept searching and read your blog about struggles. Now I see this news in August of 2014, and I am so very happy for you. I sent you an email about the pattern…well you have more important things to attend to I can clearly see! Many blessings! Pam

  36. Kate says:

    I’m a little late, but a tip on the keys – I still remember when I was a kid, my parents had a ring of real keys for us to play with. The tip part is that none of them went to anything, so my sister and I could play with them and try to put them in locks, but the worst that we could do was try to pick the lock on a bathroom door knob. No driving!

Leave a Reply

