Meet the Elves

I wanted to introduce you to some of my elves.  I say elves, because the rush to get things ready for market feels like the rush the elves must feel getting ready for Christmas.  There never seems to be enough time to have everything done on schedule.  Thank goodness for some help or I’d never make it.  So, I wanted to give credit where credit was due!

First, my husband Joel and his assistant Daisy (his friend calls her Daisy Fuentes).  Joel is best known for his outgoing personality, especially at market.  He is a natural sales person and has been a great help to me at shows and such, where I generally struggle a bit.  He thinks I have some quilt-designer-Rapunzel-type disorder where I like to disappear into my tower, I mean studio, for days on end, only talking to my fabric scraps.  He helps balance me out in this department, by pulling me out of my shell.  He also helps out by traveling with me when I teach, etc.  I taught in Mexico once and he served as my interpreter as he is fluent in Spanish.  He takes care of daily business activities and is best known for his highly tuned dis-organizational skills. (and he will proudly tell you this!).

Mom and grandson Gavin

Second, is my Mom, Deb.  She has too many valuable skills to name, so we’ll start with just a few.  She’s an excellent sample maker, pattern tester, editor, and sounding board.  She is a very detail oriented person which is great for pattern testing – as we don’t want any wrong measurements!  We have designed a few patterns together – in fact, one of her designs made the cover of That Patchwork Places’ 2007 Calendar.  Mainly she helps me with my designs.  Usually I get myself into such a tizzy that I can’t think striaght to decide which of my 5 options for a table runner pattern is the cutest.  She puts in her vote (and sometimes Joel votes too) and then I go from there.  She is always there for me in a pinch and gives up much of her freetime to come to the studio and work.

Thanks Mom and Joel – I REALLY couldn’t do this without you!!!  I appreciate and love you both –

I also wanted to give you a sneak peak at my new fabric line, Cottage Charm.  Some small amounts of yardage just arrived from Korea yesterday.  The rest of the yardage is on the slow boat from China, or should I say, Korea.  It literally comes across the ocean on a big cargo ship.  It should be in stores sometime around the end of September.  Check back around that time, as I’ll be sure to have a give-away when it comes in.

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Meet the Elves

  1. mariajhmom says:

    Gorgeous!!! I may need to purchase some of that!

  2. mariajhmom says:

    Oh, I meant the fabric, not Joel. He’s kinda ugly!?!

  3. Colleen says:

    Those fabrics are truly beautiful! I will be looking :o)

  4. Linda says:

    What gorgeous fabrics, will definately need to keep a check on when it hits the stores.

  5. A Betty says:

    Wow! I am completely impressed with that fabric. Looks like it will cover a wide range of quilters’ tastes.

  6. Chelsea says:

    That is GORGEOUS fabric. I love it! Please let us know when/where we can get some when it’s available!

  7. Cathy DiNardo says:

    Your fabric is beautiful. Can’t wait to see it in the stores!

  8. robin says:

    Your fabric looks terrific. And it looks like you’ve got a great support team. Hooray for those personable, super-friendly husbands to balance out the introverted quilt designer …I’ve got one of those, too!

  9. Jean C. says:

    Yeah for helpers! Aren’t they great? I have a few myself, in the form or our dog jamie and 3 grown daughters… and oh yes… my dear husband! Mostly he wonders when I will ever come out of the sewing room!
    Keep up the good work! Your fabric is really great!

  10. Helz says:

    Wise Girl Indeed acknowledging your most helpful Elves… LOL !!!

  11. Andrea says:

    Hey!! thought i would let you know that fatquartershop.com is advertising your line already and the pattern you have posted!

  12. You are so lucky to have your elves! As you know I love chatting with Joel…he cracks me up! Looks like he’s keeping you on task with your web site – which looks great! Hope all is going well with you all.

  13. Darlene says:

    A must have – I’ll be anxiously waiting. I spoke to Joel while visiting your booth at a quilt market a couple of years ago – he’s a keeper! 🙂

  14. Aim says:

    The Cottage Charm fabrics are lovely! Lucky you have such willing helpers🙂

  15. Pam says:

    Love this Cottage Charm Heather! I see baskets!!

  16. CJJ says:

    VERY PRETTY new fabrics!

  17. mar says:

    What a beautiful line! Look forward to it.

  18. well… I’ll be on the look out for this fabric range if it makes it’s way to Australia – I love the warm, rich tonnes set amongst the lighter colours… delicious fabric. Congratulations

    have a day full of creative inspiration!!

    hugs
    xoxo

  19. Liz says:

    Looking forward to seeing Cottage Charm!

  20. anna says:

    i found you throgh Bunny Hill Designs.

    beautiful fabric designs!

    i’m looking forward to reading your blog more often.

    anna
    olivemediagroup@yahoo.com

  21. Amber says:

    HEATHER!!!!! I love your new fabric line! It’s soooooo cute

  22. Sonia Bowers says:

    LOVE THIS RANGE OF FABRICS…OH DROOL, AMAZING RICH REDS AND SOFT GREENS

  23. Susan says:

    Came over from Anne Sutton and love the colors of your Cottage Charm fabrics.

  24. Pingback: My Holiday Recap and Winners of the Happy New Year Gifts « Trends and Traditions

Leave a Reply

