I Heart Moda Precuts, cont.

Thanks for the great response and to all who commented on my last post.  I really enjoyed reading through all the comments and I’m so glad to see that so many of you are truly “getting” the concept of precuts.  When they first came out, I’ll admit that I was a bit skeptical too!  I loved to pick them up and look at them, but my next thought was, “now what do I do with them”.   That thought is what got me into designing patterns for precuts.  I designed and published my first Little Charmers patterns, really not knowing what would happen with them.  As it happens, Little Charmers II turned out to be my best selling pattern.  That really taught me a lot about what my customers were looking for, but I knew I had a long way to go to help convincesome of the skeptical quilters to give them a try.  Ever since, I have been on a bit of quest to share my enthusiasm and my reasons for working with precuts. 

265-charmers-cover-500-x-772

 

I would like to share a few of the comments from the last post, along with answer a few more questions that people had –  I’ve highlighted the parts of the comments that I found more interesting and added some additional comments in (italics).

 

“I just ordered some precuts after spending hours of standing and cutting. I am also not the most adept cutter, so it makes my life easier… Can’t wait to give them a try”

 

Charm packs are totally addicting! I think they’re a great way to preview a line, to see if you want to order yardage. And I will have to look for that ruler

 

Thanks so much for the tips. I love pre-cuts because it can give me a scrappy look quickly. I don’t have a “huge” stash like some people I know, so to be able to buy a charm pack or two is so convenient and gives me the results I ‘m looking for.

 

Please enter my name in the conest for one of your patterns. Jelly rolls and charm packs have changed the way I quilt. In fact, I purchased two of you books a couple of weeks ago and am currently working on ‘Cotton Candy’ from you book, ‘On a Roll  (I agree – they have changed the way I quilt too – from how I buy fabrics, to how much time I spend cutting)

 

Before Moda precuts, I would stare longingly at those tall piles of fat quarter bundles that included each fabric from a line. I couldn’t justify the sometimes $100+ investment in them. Now, I can collect from all the lines I love. I just bought Rebel Roses (one colorway anyways) from Fat Quarter Shop. Why doesn’t Henry Glass do something similar to Moda?Does Moda own the rights to all these precuts? I am sure the names (charm squares/jelly roll, etc.) are trademarked, but how can you trademark a cut?
Oh, and I would love to win one of your books or patterns!   ( I wish that Henry Glass would, but economically they maybe just can’t justify it.  I’ve noticed that some of the other companies that offer precuts have to charge more than Moda for the same thing.  I think Moda is just a big enough company and sells enough precuts that they are able to produce them at an affordable price.  Just remember that I also include fat quarter options for my patterns, so if you are using some of my fabrics from Henry Glass, these same patterns will still work!)

 

I’ve only bought a couple of precuts….and haven’t used them yet. One day…famous last words. Question: if a charm pack is one of each in a line, how come the numbers are different for jelly rolls and layer cakes?  (With Charms and fat quarter packs, you get one of every print in the line.  Jelly Rolls and Layer Cakes each have a set number.  This way the price is always the same and it’s always affordable.  With charms, they are always under $10 and can have from 25-60 pieces.  If you have jelly rolls with that much variation in number of pieces, the prices would be all over the place!   It also makes it easier for the designers – I know what size to aim for with every Jelly Roll and Layer Cake pattern and I know what I’m dealing with each time.)

 

I think of using the precuts as sort of like using a cake mix…quick, easy, and still yummy! I love that you are creating patterns just for them-sometimes you just want to make it quick!  ( I love this comment – so true!   Who makes a cake from scratch if there is a good mix available!)

 

Precuts are the best thing! And the more there are, the more patterns there are for them. I saw Joanna from Fig Tree talk about the edges when she was on The Quilt Show. She said they expect you to use the outer edge of the pinked point, so that’s what I do now.  (I just want to make sure that people understand that I am saying that I use the pinked points most of the time.  Moda does mean for us to use them, it’s just  that sometimes they need to be trimmed for the math to work.) 

 

I didn’t think I would but I love precuts!! I just made your Square Dance pattern from the Livin’ Large book over Christmas break for my daughter. I cut it out in about a half hour! What a time saver. By the way, she LOVES the quilt. I love not having all the left overs from buying fat quarters…I also love that the gal at the counter doesn’t have to grown when I say…”Quarter yard cut of all of them please!”  (That’s another great thought – no more waiting in line for a quarter yard of 30 different fabrics!)

 

 love the pre-cuts! You can get such a variety of prints for applique. I just bought 3 Moda scrap bags and they are wonderful!  (Did all you appliquers notice that?  Using Charms for applique is a great idea!)

 

The quilts you showed in this post all look so perky! I havenot done much with precuts yet because they always seem so expensive and seldom get marked down. They have been tugging at me, so I am bound to try them before long. Once I start, I expect to be hooked.  (I have heard several people mention that they think Jelly Rolls and Layers are expensive.  You get about 3 yards/jelly roll, so they average out to be about $12.50 per yard.  Fat quarters are $10-$11 per yard, so on 3 yards of fabric, that’s about an extra $5.  To me, that extra $5 is SOOOOO worth it!  It saves hours of cutting, so isn’t your time worth more than say, $2.50 per hour?)

 

I love precuts…I don’t think I would be quilting without them. Thank you so much for designing patterns that use them. Hope you have a nice week. 

 

Love all your tips about the pre-cuts. I have lots to learn, but I just made a table runner from charm squares and the entire project was finished in hours, not days. It’s nice to see all of the fabric line but in just a smaller version. Thanks again.

 

I love using precuts – but have found the pinked edges to be a bit of a challenge. Your tips make perfect sense and I look forward to using them  — (Please note that I only use precuts with the tiny pinked edges.  Some companies use a large pinking and this means you have to trim everything, because the pinked edges cut into your seam allowance too much.  This is the main reason that I only use Moda precuts (plus they have the best designers and colors!))

 

This was really one of the best responses and suggestions for all the precuts I have seen. I fell in love with the first charms when they came out, but not the others, then it was like a light bulb went off!! If I dont know what I want to make but love the fabric I get some of the precuts and then pick one I lovefor a binding…… and saves shelf space too I find!! Time save, space saver, and thinking saver – just get ‘em!!!

 

I’m mixed on precuts! I love that it comes all cut for me and that you get a sample of everything. But by that same token, often there are only a few of each of the fabric lines that I’d actually use. There have been a few exceptions, but not often!  (This is one of my pet peeves with precuts.  I always keep this in mind when I’m designing and try to use as many of the pieces as possible and sometimes it doesn’t even matter if you have lights or darks.  See the jelly roll quilts below, for example.  They use 40 strips (the entire roll, no waste) and they have a total mix of lights and darks.  I could go on and on with examples from Layer Cakes and Charms too, but I will spare you!)

boxed-in-cropped

Boxed In from the book Let the Good Times Roll

 

cafe-aulaite-adj

Cafe Au'Laite, from the book Let the Good Times Roll

 

04-geo

Keyholes from the book On a Roll Again

 

picture-perfect-cropped-and

Picture Perfect from the book Let the Good Times Roll

 

Now I will get off my soap box and announce the winner of the books and patterns:

 

Winner:  John , posted on Feb 25th at 10:44

I LOVE charm packs and I am completely addicted. It’s for one of the reasons you mentioned: sometimes I love an entire fabric line, but cannot buy yardage of all of it. Charm packs are just enough to “scratch that itch”! And I just bought my first layer cake — “Nest” — but haven’t decided what to make with it yet. Thanks for hosting another great giveaway!

John – you are too funny.  Please email your shipping address to hmulder@wecnet.com and I’ll get your books on their way!

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Quilting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I Heart Moda Precuts, cont.

  1. Deb says:

    I find it interesting that Little Charmers II is your best selling pattern – it was my first Anka’s Treasures purchase and I’ve actually made all 3. I’m one to buy lots of books & patterns with good intentions, but most of them are still on my “someday” list. Your patterns are so appealing, I just love everything you do – great job!

  2. Sarah G says:

    We just got your new patterns in here at our new shop, and I can hardly wait to make these runners, and quilts!! It really does make it easier for our customers to be able to buy a precut, with a pattern in mind. Thank you thank you!

  3. Kathleen says:

    Thanks for sharing all the wonderful comments. I will now be looking at charm packs with an eye for applique, too!

  4. rachel says:

    yayyy john!!!
    congrats!!!

  5. John says:

    thank you thank you thank you!! i am so excited to win this prize … i really, really wanted those books. YEAH! i’ll be sure to post pictures of the many great anka’s treasures projects that i make!

  6. Sequana says:

    Let me just add that I almost always find JRs on sale. I use the search engine

    http://www.quiltshops.com/

    and put in the line I’m looking for along with “Jelly Rolls” and from 200 shops they pop up. Almost always I can find something I want on sale.

    I don’t think I’ve ever paid more than $20 for a JR, and sometimes under $15.

  7. Alleane Calazans says:

    OMG! thats so beaultiful!
    really amazing

  8. Carrie P. says:

    Great read. I love charms for applique. They are just enough sometimes.

  9. Linda Reisinger says:

    I recently completed two Jelly Roll quilts, both for gifts. . I love the Precuts, as you can make a very nice quilt in just a couple of hours. I have several in my sewing room just waiting for me to sew them. Love the Moda rolls. Linda

Leave a Reply

