Preview of the Sizzlin’ Sixties Book

As promised, I bring you the preview of my other new book, called “Sizzlin’  Sixties”

Here’s a shot of the cover, featuring the Oh My Stars quilt.

(Fabrics:  Basket of Flowers by Mary Engelbreit for Moda)

ank2029220front

The concept for this book came to me while I was playing around with 60-degree angles in my studio one day.  I’ve recently discovered that I love 60-degree angles, but I usually use them to make diamonds.  As I was playing with those angles, I started to get caught up in the possibilities beyond diamonds, like stars and hexagons.  I found that I could arrange those same pieces to form many different blocks.  Those blocks could then be laid into many different setting.  The options were endless, but I only had 8 color pages in the book to work with – So nine quilts are featured, but you can substitute different blocks into different layouts for your own unique designs.

Got all that?

As many of you know, I love to use time-saving techniques in my patterns.  I especially love when things are easier to make than they look.  I’ve incorporated those ideas into this technique as well and have shared many ways to make the hexagons easier to assemble – from strip piecing, to specific pressing instructions,and how to avoid those dreaded y-seams.

Secret Garden

Fabrics:  Gypsy Rose by Fig Tree Quilts for Moda (with a few pieces from Fig and Plum)

dsc_2834_ak-copy

Opposites Attract

Fabric:  Neptune by Tula Pink for Moda

dsc_2781_ak-copy

Whirly Bird

Fabrics:  Oh-Cherry-Oh by Me and My Sister for Moda

dsc_2744_ak-copy

Tumbling Triangles.

Fabric:  Cottage Charm by Heather Peterson (Me) for Henry Glass and Co

dsc_2752_ak

Caught In A Web

Fabric:  Beach House by Blackbird Designs for Moda

dsc_2803_ak-copy

If you want to try the technique out on a smaller scale – I’ve included a couple Toppers and a Table Runner

Twirling Toppers

Fabric:  Nature’s Chorus by April Cornell for Moda

dsc_3993_ak-copy

Fabric:  Patisserie by Fig Tree Quilt for Moda

dsc_4018_ak-copy

Secret Garden Runner

Fabric:  Rebel Roses by Heather and Deb (Me and my Mom) for Henry Glass and Co

dsc_2727_ak-copy

After all that, I’d like to say that these are all Fat Quarter or Jelly Roll friendly.  Yeah!  So between this book and the one I showed  a few days ago, I’ve been collecting Jelly Rolls like a mad woman!

Like the preview of the other book, I’ll again be looking to hear which quilt is your favorite.  All comments will be entered into a give-away for the new book.  The winners will be announced next week, so stop back then.

I had many of you ask about where to get the new books.  They are available to start shipping now, so the distributor orders are on their way and a flier has gone out to the quilt shops.  We go to quilt market in two weeks and the books will be shown then.  You should start seeing them out and about within that time.  If you can’t find them in your area, you can always drop me an e-mail to order direct (hmulder@wecnet.com).  If you prefer to order on-line – they are on their way to Kimberly at www.fatquartershop.comand www.Hancocks-Paducah.com, though it may be a few days till they are up on the website.

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Quilting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

133 Responses to Preview of the Sizzlin’ Sixties Book

  1. Christina says:

    It’s got to be Opposites Attract for me! It’s like Bento Boxes, but in a new, fun shape!

  2. Carol Lewis says:

    I like Caught In A Web, it’s beautiful with the Beach House fabrics. Looks like another great book. Thank you for making these wonderful quilt patterns with the Jelly Rolls. I happen to love Jelly Rolls and always looking for patterns to use them. Lately I’ve been acquiring a bunch of Honey Buns, any plans for patterns using the Honey Buns?

  3. sherri says:

    I never cease to be amazed at your creativity! This is another great book…I love them all, but the Twirling Topper and the Secret Garden Runner are my favs!

  4. Cecilia H says:

    I like the cover quilt. Of course, I ‘m thinking how I can quilt it..maybe try it in batiks!

  5. Anita says:

    I really like the table runner.

  6. Alicia says:

    I love Secret Garden. What great patterns!

  7. Jo says:

    They are all clever – but I really like Spider Web. I have a fat qtr collection that I been trying to figure out how to use – I think this will be perfect. Looks complicated, but looking closer, I think it won’t be.

    You really come up with creative patterns to show off fabric and quilt designs!

  8. MichelleB says:

    It’s a toss up between Opposites Attract and Whirly Bird. I love them both!

  9. Anne says:

    Good grief Heather… TWO books? You’re like superwoman! My favorite is the Secret Garden table runner. Great job!

  10. Eunice says:

    I like the secret garden runner. The cover quilt is also great.

  11. Another winner Heather! My favorite is Whirly Bird. I will be making a lot of these patterns. Wow!

  12. Diane says:

    Congratulations on another wonderful book! For my favorite it is a tight race between the cover girl – Oh My Stars and Opposits Attract! I guess I’ll just have to make both of them and then decide!!!

  13. Sheila says:

    I love 60-deg patterns and these are fabulous. Tumbling triangles & the cover quilt are my faves, but I love them all.

  14. Julie says:

    It’s a toss up between Twirling Toppers and Secret Garden Runner… but either way I’ve been hooked on 60 degree angles for weeks and I’m excited to see more patterns with them!

  15. Vickie E says:

    WOw those are great. My favorite is TUmbling triangles…

  16. Nancy E says:

    I like the quilt, Caught In A Web” the best & I love your fabric selection for it. I like that the book has some smaller size quilts, too. Think you have another winner.

  17. Sarah C says:

    I am LOVING the Whirly Bird pattern! What a fun idea.

  18. 2hippos says:

    Opposites Attract is my favorite. I really want to learn how to make things with hexagons and that looks awesome.

  19. Rebecca Woods says:

    I love the patterns in this one. Whirly bird would have to be my favourite. I will definately be buying this book when I find it (Fatquarter shop here I come again) I love the Oh my stars quilt too. Good excuse to get some more Jelly rolls too. My favourite.

  20. Vangie says:

    I really like all the quilts from both books. I love Opposites Attract, but think I like Secret Garden the best.

  21. Sharlene says:

    Secret Garden runner is hands down the Best!! It’s the fabrics that are so fabulous. I’m hoping to fine the pattern and fabrics at the MN state show.

  22. Ruthie says:

    OH my, it is so hard to choose just one….I love Opposites Attract, but I also love secret Garden Runner. That is a must have book for sure!

  23. Mary-Kay C. says:

    I really like the quilt on the cover of the book, Oh My Stars and the table runner, Secret Garden Runner. I like the applique on it. Actually all the quilts are beautiful.

  24. Stephanie says:

    WOW! The quilts are amazing and the quilting is stunning! A favorite…Secret Garden and Whirlybird a definite tie. They’re all so pretty.

  25. Karen Sikes says:

    I love the Secret Garden Runner, it looks so bright and cheerful….all of them are great.

  26. Jennifer says:

    Whirly Bird is my favorite!

  27. BethAnn says:

    These quilts are great. I’m thinking my favorite is Secret Garden. . .but then maybe the star one on the front cover.

  28. Jackie says:

    I have 3 favorites, is that possible? Oh, My Stars, Whirly Bird, and Tumbling Triangles. But I really do love them all and will have to purchase the book if I don’t win. Thanks for the opportunity.

  29. Kelly O. says:

    Seriously I think the Whirly Bird is the most fabulous quilt!

  30. Shelly says:

    It looks like another must have book. My favorites are Oh My Stars, Opposites Attract and Tumbling Triangles.

  31. Lisa says:

    Wow…when do you find time to do all this??? I love the opposites attract. Once again….I’d love to try it with some of my asian prints….

  32. rachel says:

    oh how fun!!!
    i really like secret garden & the secret garden runner.
    those would be my favs.

  33. Sequana says:

    I love them all, but Twirling Toppers is really cute and fast to make, I bet.

  34. Nova says:

    Secret Garden!

  35. A Betty says:

    I like the Stars on the cover quilt as my favorite. All the fabrics are so bright and pretty. I picked up a new jelly roll today in preparation for something of yours. Maybe the chain quilt from your other new book. They all look like fun and something different to try. Can you tell us about any new rulers? (Hint). Betty

  36. Laura says:

    They are all GORGEOUS! I love the whilry bird quilt and the secret garden topper the best. But LOVE LOVE LOVE them all! I can’t wait to find your book!

  37. Ruth B says:

    I guess the Secret Garden runner is my favorite but it is so hard to choose because I love them all. I love the fabrics you used as well!

  38. Ginger says:

    What a fun book. It is nice to see something a little different out there!
    I think my favorite is definitely Whirly Bird. What a fun quilt!

  39. Tara says:

    Oh I love the whirly birds! Especially the movement given then with the quilting!

  40. Alison says:

    Hmmmm….I keep changing my mind, but will vote for tumbling triangles and opposites attract.
    Love the book.

  41. Danith says:

    I love the colors – my favorite pattern is Secret Garden Runner. And I love the shapes in Caught in a Web. Great book – can’t wait until it is ready for order!

  42. Debbie says:

    Holly cow…two books, both with amazing quilts. You cease to amaze me! If I had to pick just one I would have to say “Opposites Attrack”, love it. I love your color choices, your fabric line is amazing!

    Keep up all the hard work!!

    deb

  43. Melody says:

    Tumbling Triangles is fab.

  44. Gayle says:

    I think I like that Secret Garden Runner the best – the touch of applique really adds a lot to the design!

  45. Christine Thomas says:

    My fave is Secret Garden Runner with Rebel Roses (your fab fab-ricks). It is so bright and bold without being brash or bawdy. It is cool and clean without being cluttered or clumsy. (Better stop the alliteration.) Thanks for the chance to win your book.

  46. Priscilla says:

    my goodness! you have been busy! I love the opposites attract, although they are all wonderful.

  47. Erinn says:

    Love Whirly Bird and Opposites Attract! I don’t know which one I will make first! Beautiful work.

  48. Viv says:

    I really love the Opposites Attract pattern. Love the fabric used too.

  49. Susan Lanthrip says:

    I love the secret garden runner. Your Rebel Roses is fabulous!

  50. V says:

    Secret Garden, a favorite! love hexagons. I think the colors of the fabrics are much more appealing to me… blues and browns are a favorite palette of colors for me.
    You’ve been busy! they all look lovely.
    How’s nest lake! we’re counting down the days til we get there memorial weekend. woo hoo!

  51. Jana says:

    I think Whirlybird is my favorite🙂

  52. Cindy says:

    I can’t choose between Whirlybird and Opposite’s Attract!

  53. Gina says:

    Secret Garden is stunning…and I love the way you positioned the different fabric patterns together in Tumbling Triangles. Opposites Attract is fun too, love the uneven border!

    Hooray on another winner!!

  54. JasonsMum says:

    I love the Oh My Stars quilt and the Twirling Toppers best. All are wonderful though!

  55. Sue Cahill says:

    I love all the quilts you show here but I really love “Caught in a Web”, “Tumbling Trianges” and “Whirly Bird”.

    Very well done.

    Sue Cahill (sbonetsue at yahoo dot com)

  56. Marcy says:

    I am loving the Secret Garden table runner….it really lifts me up. Love the fact that they use jelly rolls. I guess that will be my new candy….I usually purchase fat 1/4’s.
    Marcy

  57. Linda T says:

    My favourite quilt you’ve shown is Secret Garden. Count me in on your giveaway. What a great looking book. So many beautiful quilts.

  58. Ferne says:

    This is hard, but I think I like Secret Garden the best then Caught in a Web. I have not sew with diamonds yet and have always wanted to…my favorite quilt of my Grandmothers was a lone star quilt and I vow to make one someday. Maybe your book could make this easier for me and someday will be soon!

  59. Leslie L says:

    I love this book, too! My favorite is the Secret Garden table runner, but I think I’m becoming addicted to all your patterns. I can’t wait to get my hands on both new books. And I’ll be collecting jelly rolls “like a mad woman,” too! The hardest part will be deciding what to make first.

  60. Kjersten says:

    All of these quilts are great. I think that my favorite is the Oh My Stars quilt on the front cover

  61. Kathleen says:

    My first like is Opposites Attract. I am working on the baby quilt from your Living Large book, and am thrilled to see those diamonds go together so easily. I have always avoided them….and now I can’t wait to do more.

  62. pattyf says:

    I favorite is the Secret Garden table runner (but then I really love the Rebel Roses line of fabric). When do you find the time!!??? I am looking forward to the time saving tips too… anything to make it simpler.

  63. shauna says:

    I love all the quilts shown, but if I had to pick the one I’d make first it would be Basket of Flowers. What a great book to look forward to! Count me in on the giveaway.
    shaunsnews@hotmail.com

  64. Stefanie says:

    Secret Garden is my favorite!

    I have a collection of your books and I would love to add this one to it! Count me in on the giveaway!

    Thanks for sharing!

  65. Dawn says:

    It’s between Whirly Bird and Secret Garden…I can’t decide! Your books are wonderful!

  66. Becky says:

    It is hard to choose just one-they are all beautiful!
    My favorites are Secret Garden, Whirly Bird and
    Tumbling Triangles.

  67. Carol Radcliffe says:

    “Opposites Attract” is my favorite. They all look and sound complicated to me when you start with 60 degree triangles!!! I need to make a 92″ tablerunner and your Secret Garden Runner is very pretty! Thanks for sharing!

  68. I love the Caught in a Web quilt. That is one I am going to have to make. I also love table toppers and like both you showed. I have a round coffee table and I like putting a table topper on if when I am serving snacks at a get together. I fact I just finished one out the Rebel Roses fabric and got lots of compliments on it from guests.

  69. I think I like tumbling triangles this time…although they are all very neat. 🙂

  70. Alissa says:

    I like Opposites Attract. The pattern comes out fun and mod!

  71. Christy says:

    Love them all! What a great idea to do hexagons and stars! My favorites are the cover quilt and Tumbling Triangles! Thanks for the preview!

  72. Kelli says:

    My favorite from this book is the Secret Garden table runner. The applique really sets off the blocks. I also like Opposites Attract. Can’t wait to try some of these–I’ve never done anything with hexagons before!

  73. Mary Jo Larson says:

    They are all wonderful but Opposites Attract is my favorite! Mary Jo

  74. Vivian says:

    I like the cover quilt, Secret Garden (can see this one in thirties fabrics) and Opposites Attract (hmmm, maybe also in thirites fabrics!).

    I am also big fan of your use of the newer “fresh” fabric lines (including yours). I think your patterns help bring in a lot of new, younger quilters into the fold.

  75. I am totally impressed with your quilts from this book! I love learning new techniques. Opposites Attract is jumping out saying, “Make me, make me.” Thanks for more temptation!

  76. rebecca says:

    Great to the the runner variations! Those are my favs. Cool new book. Reb

  77. Deb says:

    I like the Whirlybirds and also the Secret Garden table runner. They are all beautiful!

  78. Kim H says:

    All of them are winners!!! But I would have to say my personal favorite is Whirly Bird.

  79. Chris says:

    wow! Another book, you are BUSY!!! They are all so nice1 I think my favorite on is on the cover! It looks old fashionwed to me..and I love the fact that you can use jelly rolls!🙂 OH to have enough time to make them all!🙂

  80. Dana says:

    Each quilt is beautiful… it’s hard to choose! I really like the Secret Garden runner and wish I had a quilt like that to cozy up in!

    I don’t think my skill level is quite up to that though… I’ll have to keep working on it!

    From one Minnesotan to another… aren’t you just thrilled it’s SPRING? Finally… a little warmth!😉

  81. Kathy Savage says:

    Secret Garden and Caught In A Web are my very favorites, although it was so hard to choose! I like the way Whirly Bird was quilted…it looks rounded rather than straight lines because of the quilting!

  82. Barbara says:

    Caught In A Web is my favorite with Secret Garden a very close second. I love the way the design works on them. Beautiful.

  83. Charmaine McL says:

    I’m going to need to run out and get your new books! Your nieces and nephew in your last post were just too adorable! They are naturals and I love the pic of the girls sitting next to the lemonade, how clever!
    Charmaine and Company

  84. Maureen says:

    Congratulations on your new book! All of the quilts are wonderful. My favorite is the quilt on the cover “Oh My Stars.”

  85. jo says:

    I think I prefer “Opposites Attrack”. A quilt that I have from my grandma has 60 degree angles and I would like to reproduce it. So I would love to just read all the tips and info about working with 60 degree angles. I do love Jelly Rolls too so it’s a prefect combination for me!

  86. patty says:

    My favorites are whirly bird and twirling topper.
    Congrats on the new books, hope market is a success!

  87. Jo Anne says:

    I like Caught in a Web and Secret Garden Runner.

  88. Cat Wilson says:

    I can see that I have a new favorite, and I’m not done with Livin’ Large yet, you really must slow down, I can’t keep up……just kidding!!! Keep them coming!

    I love Opposites Attract, I’ll have to do that one first, but I think Sixties might be my new obsession.

  89. Jeanine says:

    I love all the patterns in this book. My favorite is “Oh My Stars”.

  90. Sinta says:

    Whirley Bird and the cover quilt are my favorites but I could easily see doing all of those great quilts. You are amazing… you always have something up your sleeve! Two new books, have mercy!

  91. Anne Simonot says:

    Oh, all the beautiful quilts pictured – I hope you pick my name. I love the “Neptune” collection and it was great to actually see something made from it.

  92. Karen Holland says:

    I like them all! But, since I have to pick one, I would pick the table runner! I love the applique!

  93. Alexandra says:

    OMG!!!! Give me that book NOW please! I love it, love it, love it!!! Opposites attract is gorgeous, so is secret garden and every single one, where to start. Can’t wait to get it.
    You go girl, now can you teach me to quilt like you on my neglected long arm?

  94. wendysquilting says:

    I love the table toppers but I esp love Opposites Attract!

  95. Nicole says:

    You have done it again!!! I think Caught In A Web will be the first pattern in the book I will try. You never disappoint!!!!!

  96. Christy says:

    Wow, Heather – they are all so gorgeous! My favorite is “Opposites Attract” with the Neptune fabrics. Thanks so much for the chance to enter!

  97. Sheri says:

    I love them all, the cover quilt Oh My Stars is my favorite!!

  98. Cathy says:

    How can anyone pick just one? Well, ok. My pick is whirlybird. I love the fun colors.

  99. carol broughton says:

    Hi Heather:

    I am not sure I could pick a favorite – both books look fantastic! I really like the title of Stop, Drop and Roll! Thank you for all of your inspiring designs. I look forward to your new patterns. Carol Broughton

  100. Lissa says:

    Heather, Love your new book!!I mean books!

  101. Sally M says:

    I love those patterns, I’ve been on the look out for a 60 deg triangle ruler. But my LQS doesn’t appear to do them. Will ahve to find 1 online.

  102. Casey says:

    wow! I love all the quilts, the quilt on the cover is amazing! I love all the quilts, I wish I had your kind of talent

  103. Molly Culley says:

    Oh.my.gosh. I love them all! But Caught in a Web is my favorite. This book is a must have for me!🙂

  104. Nichole says:

    Wow, these are all so great, and hard to choose a favorite. I love the Opposites Attract best, I think. I love the shape of the blocks and the unique edge shape. It that hard to bind? Probably not with bias cut binding. Can’t wait to see both new books in person! Keep up the great work..I’m a big fan!

  105. linda k says:

    Wow!! Just love opposites attract, love the edge shape!! Thanks for the giveaway!

  106. Chantie Belnap says:

    Definitely love Whirlybird–your designs are too awesome! Thanks for the entry–

  107. Christine says:

    Absolutely gorgeous (as usual). My favourite is Tumbling Triangles. Love Whilrybird too.

  108. Vickie says:

    Another winner … wow … wonder how many books from one artist I can have in my own studio at home … can’t wait for a copy of this book … hope it gives helpful hints on how to sew with those dang angles.
    Congrats on another hit!
    Vic

  109. Bev C says:

    Gee these are just so beautiful I especially liked the Secret Garden Runner. Will the book be available in Australia???

  110. dorothy says:

    Whirly Birds & Opposites Attract are the quilts i’ll make when i win your book🙂 the twirling topper made with Nature’s Chorus is such a clever use of quilting lines–it makes it look even more complicated than it really is. congratulations on a beautiful book. (i never win these things so i guess i’ll have to go out and buy one!)

  111. Marianne Penner says:

    I love, love, love this book. I love all the quilts but I think my favorite is “Opposites Attract”. I would love to win this book! Oh my, I think I said love 5 times!

  112. scrappylady says:

    Both of these books are fabulous! I really like Oh my Stars, Whirly bird, Caught in a web, and Secret Garden runner. Your choice of fabrics are always awesome! Congratulations on both books! I almost went over to thefatquartershop to order, but I’m actually holding out. ( but only in case I win!!! lol )

  113. Shari says:

    I love the pinwheel motion effect of “Whirly Bird”.

  114. I LOVE the cover quilt… didn’t see the name and I like the Whirly Bird and I like Twirling Topper and Secret Garden Runner. Wow! It’s been a while since I have liked so many quilts in one book! I’m so glad I jumped to this web site from Sherri’s A Quilting Life blog. Pick me, pick me! (uncouth but I do really like the book!)

  115. Judy says:

    Amazing what you can do with a 60 degree angles. I’ve made two baby quilts that were ok, just wishing I’d had your ideas, or your books were out like two years ago. Keep up the great work.

  116. Jessica says:

    I love them all, but I’d have to say Tumbling Triangles is my favorite. Its so generous of you to have giveaways like this so often (and fun for us, too!!) 🙂

  117. Laine says:

    The Secret Garden Runner is my favorite. Love the fabrics & colors. It would go great in my kitchen.

  118. Donnelly says:

    I am so excited to see that they all have hexagon variations. I love them all, but my absolute favorite is “Opposites Attract”. I am going to have to have this book!
    Have a great day.

  119. Peggy M says:

    Love the new patterns…all of them. But I think my favorites are the cover quilt and whirly bird, but then I could keep going. Great book. Love the preview. Thank you for a chance to win a copy. Always love your “stuff”.

  120. Lucy says:

    This will be a big seller! They are all great, but the first one I would make is the Whirly Bird because I just happen to be looking for this type of pinwheel (which is what I call them). One that doesn’t require much thinking on my part — lol. I’m quite certain your directions will be perfect.

  121. Angie says:

    All are beautiful. I love caught in a web. Congratulations.
    Angie

  122. Iva says:

    This Secret Garden is my favorite; so vibrant and fun!

  123. Susan says:

    I love them all but Whirly Bird is my favorite. thanks

  124. Amy says:

    I’m loving Whirly Bird, Opposites Attract, and Caught in a Web – how am I for decisive?! Seriously, I think every one of those quilts are winners – very fresh and fun!

  125. Natalie says:

    You are SERIOUSLY skilled! Even if you weren’t doing a giveaway I would still be compelled to leave a comment saying so. Congratulations on both books….everything looks fabulous. Love the way you used the same triangular pieces/blocks in each quilt… I am going to have to check out your book just to learn how to make those. Very cool.

    OK, hard to choose, but I really love the modern lines of Opposites Attract.

  126. Jolene says:

    Oh Heather, How can we decide on our favorite ONE! They are all so beautiful and unique. I just love visiting your website and seeing all your new creations……always amazed! I think I can only narrow it down to Whirly Bird and Tumbling Trianges. I would love the book and be able to try working with jelly rolls for the first time. Thanks for the contest!

  127. Pingback: Randomness & Greatness « Passing Down Crazy

  128. Manuela says:

    I like the Opposites Attract – it´s also my favorit fabric ;o)
    Thanks for the contest!

  129. Kay says:

    I really liked the Whirly Bird pattern & would like to do it in your Rebel Roses fabric. I love that line of fabric, but haven’t been able to find it in the stores around here yet. I may have to order it online.

  130. Pingback: How to Bind Inside Corners – Plus a Give-away to Practice Your Skills! « Trends and Traditions

  131. Cathy Anderson says:

    Around the Corner table runner was sold out before I could purchase the pattern/kit from Connecting Threads. Could someone share the technique for this pattern because I would live to tackle it.

  132. Pingback: Dresser topper and needle case « Crafty Tokyo Mama

  133. Pingback: Let's Talk About Swag, Baby... - Stitchery Dickory Dock

Leave a Reply

