Day 8 of the Minnesota Designer’s Blog Hop

We are down to day 8 of the blog hop.  Today Shelly from Cedar Canyon Textiles is our featured designer.  Be sure to stop by her blog and check out what she’s doing.  If you are into art quilts, Shelly is the designer for you.  If you aren’t, here’s your chance to learn something new and think outside the box! 

 

I have to show you what I made the other day.  My mother-in-law came over and we worked on a valance for her bathroom.  It’s made out of my Rebel Roses fabric –

DSC_6757 

It’s made from one of my favorite combinations – a multi-colored floral and a stripe.  Notice how the edging is made from the stripe cut on the bias.  We had to cut it on the bias, because the bottom edge of the valance has curves.  Cutting the stripe on the bias will give you the extra stretch to make it around those curves.  But, I would have cut it on the bias anyways because it looks so darn cute that way!

DSC_6761

Eveyone moans and groans about having to cut something on the bias.  It really isn’t that hard and it’s totally worth the effort.  To see my technique for cutting bias strips, click here.  I’ll get off my soap box now.  But I still really think you should try it!

 

The technique my mother-in-law shared with me was baking bread.  She’s been making home-made bread for over 40 years now, so she’s had lots of practice.  She’s also very quick at it – see?

DSC_0033_1

She does every step by hand. 

 

Me ? – I’m not so quick at it.  In fact, I felt quite awkward trying to do this.  I guess there is a reason I’m not a domestic goddess.

DSC_0035_1 

 

Here is the bread raising.

DSC_0047_1

 

It’s oatmeal molasses bread and the secret ingredient is black strap molasses.  Regular molasses just doesn’t cut it (I’ve tried it both ways)  The bread was delicious.  In fact, I’m debating which I like better – home baked bread or bias cut binding.  It’s a tough decision!

 

 

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Quilting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Day 8 of the Minnesota Designer’s Blog Hop

  1. Shelley C says:

    Ohhhh, what I wouldn’t give to have a slice of that luscious bread with butter!!!! The valence is just too cute…very professional looking. Love the decor…wish I had the gift of that special touch….

  2. Carmen says:

    Love that valance. Could you possibly post the bread recipe? It looks wonderful.

  3. Bonnie says:

    Heather your valance you made turned out gorgeous and what time are you serving bread?
    Looks yummy.
    Keep Stitchen’
    Bonnie

  4. Cecilia says:

    Heather, is that valance a pattern, or did you wing it? very nice.

  5. Jolyn says:

    Do you share recipes? I’ve made rye bread for over 40 years, but the molasses/oatmeal bread sounds good! The valance was so neat!
    Jolyn

  6. Trya says:

    Certainly need the recipe for the bread..looks yummy!!Love making bread and quilting!!!

  7. Looks great!! Love the valance…and I’d take the bread too! LOL

  8. V says:

    I can smell that bread all the way over here.😉
    awesome.

  9. Karen says:

    Great looking bread and bread making is an art. My sister-in-law makes great bread (when her kids were at home-they preferred store bought!). Love the valance. Then I love your rebel roses line. Was able to get some at a LQS and can’t wait to use it!

  10. Mary-Kay C. says:

    The valance looks great. I love that fabric and the bias cut edge. My friend makes me bread and there is nothing like home-made bread.

  11. Kathy says:

    Heather, the valance you made for your mother-in-laws bathroom is oh so pretty! She is fortunate to have you as a daughter-in-law and you to have her as a mother-in-law! I think the two of you complement each others talents nicely.

  12. Beth says:

    Heather, I really enjoy your blogs! They are so informative and fun to read. The valance is so pretty and the bread looks delicious. Nothing better! I met you a few years back when you were teaching at several Grubers retreats in Little Falls. It’s been fun to see your style change through the years and everything is always wonderful! How do you get so much done with the remodeling project on top of it??!! I’m working on a quilt now from one of your books using layer cakes and am having so much fun putting it together. Keep up the great ideas!

  13. Lisa says:

    Your valance is absolutely beatiful! Love the fabric and the colors too!!! The bread looks delish also!!!

  14. Diane Cannon says:

    Oh Happy Day to you and yours today–I think I could actually smell the bread baking–I “used” to make my own–now I can’t seem to put down my sewing long enough to even pop a batch of muffins in the oven!!! The valance is really cute and it was a great idea and neat look to cut the fabric on the bias–I always think of those kind of things afterwards!!!! See ya tomorrow–hugs, just, Di

  15. mariajhmom says:

    Is your mother-in-law aware that you’re the perfect DIL? Your husband has it figured out!

  16. JoAnne says:

    Love the valance! Bias striped is also a favorite of mine.

  17. Linda Groth Olsen says:

    I love the valence–it is a pattern….maybe it should be—it is so cute….and I love to make bread too–

  18. Your bread looks YUMMY;p Stripes on the bias…one of my favorites;)

  19. Anna says:

    The valance looks great- I don’t mind making bias either- it makes things easier with curves.
    I used to make bread but haven’t made any for a long time- perhaps I will try it in the bread maker at least. When I make bread I want to make a number of loaves and there is no room in our little freezer anymore.
    Breadmaking is fun though- my mother inlaw was a fabulous breadmaker too- She made bread for her family every week- My mom still makes bread too but she uses the cuisinart as her arthritis makes it difficult for her to do so.
    Regards,
    Anna

  20. gwendie says:

    Where did you find the recipe? I’ve been looking for a good bread recipe with molasses. I have to admit to using my extra-heavy duty Kitchen Aid to knead the dough, though. It does such a good job!

    I’m with you – I love bias! I’ve never minded making yards and yards of it.

  21. Marilynn says:

    What an adorable valance! How cool! And the food looks so yummy!!! Can I come over?? It looks like you had so much fun! Have a great day!

  22. girlsmama says:

    I bound my first bias bound quilt using your handout! It worked beautifully. Thanks!

  23. Nancy L says:

    Love the valance!! And I KNOW how good Diane’s bread is–hope you can make it as good as she does!! Wish I could to!
    Nancy

  24. Dawn says:

    The valance is stunning!! The bread looks yummo! Looks like you had a good day!

  25. Cynthia says:

    Love the valance, so cute!
    The bread looks tummy!

  26. Kathy says:

    Wow!Your right it is a tough desicion. Don’t know that I could decide either!!!!!!

  27. Leslie says:

    I’m with the others….would love the recipe. Gorgeous valance!

  28. isathreadsoflife says:

    What a lovely day both of you had ! I am not too sure what I prefer, the flowery valance or the tasty looking home made bread. Probably both🙂 Thanks for sharing. I had never heard the word “valance”. I wonder does it come from our word “volant” in French and that means almost the same object.

  29. susan says:

    Hasn’t anyone told you that you can’t put pictures or stories about food without sharing the recipes??? lol
    The valance is great-love those fabrics!

  30. Nancy E says:

    Great valances & the breads looks so yummy. Did you design the valances or is it a pattern?

  31. CJ says:

    LOVE that valance! The stripe adds the WOW factor! I’m not afraid of no bias binding 😀 I have some of your Rebel Roses (the yellow background) that my college girl picked for a skirt. I think I shall get that sewn up this month. I do love that chocolate with the roses too.

  32. Colleen Barber says:

    Hi, Heather,
    Just found your site…what a wonderful addition to your books and patterns and fabric! I’ll be stopping by to visit often. The valance is gorgeous with the stripe on the bottom and then the stripe bias binding. I’m going to try to make the bread recipe also…by hand! I used to make bread by hand when I was growing up, but never mastered the 8-12 loaves my mom used to make at one time. We had 11 kids in our family, so she was baking bread every other say, it seemed! She did get time to sew, tho, and that’s where I picked up my love of sewing and other needlework crafts.

  33. Edythe Monroe says:

    I really liked you curtain, was bummed there was no pattern, so I sat down and cut out a newspaper in the scalloped pattern (for the front piece) and rectangle piece for back piece and put the paper together with tape. which helped me see how it needed to go together, and your bias info was very helpful (thank you). All and all your picture was great inspiration, and helped to encourage me to work it out.

Leave a Reply

