Day 9 of the Minnesota Designer’s Blog Hop

Only 2 more days left of the blog hop.  Boo. Hoo.  But, that also means only a couple more days until the winners of the Blog Hop Grand Prizes are announced.  WooHoo!   Today Jamie over at Scrap Bags is our featured designer and she is sharing a fascinating demo on fabric dying.  You can read all about it here.  It looks like something you can really get creative and have some fun with.

 

I also wanted to just answer a couple questions from the posts from the last few days.  Many of you have been asking about who does the machine quilting you have been seeing.  I like to do every step of the quilting process, from the piecing, to the quilting, to the binding; so everything you see on this site has been quilted by me.  I have been machine quilting on a Gammill for the last 13 years, but just made the switch to an APQS a few months ago.  I used to do my machine quilting on a regular home machine, but after a year or so of that, I got a longarm and went into business machine quilting for others.  I have since quit that part of my business, but continue to keep my machine and quilt my own samples.  That way, if I have to finish a quilt by a deadline, I can! 

 

The other question that came up yesterday, is where is the bread recipe?  Joel hinted about it to his Mom and she offered it up! 

Here is her version, with as I mentioned yesterday, everything done by hand.  (I’ll follow up with my version, adapted for the bread machine)

1 Quart Boiling water.  Add to boiling water:

4 tsp salt

2 cups quick oatmeal

Stir and add:

5/8 cup dark molasses (she uses black strap molasses from our local health foods store – this is key!  It won’t be as good if you just use regular molasses)

1 stick butter

2/3 cup brown sugar 

Cool this mixture to 110 degrees

When cool, mix in 4 cups flour and

4 T. yeast, dissolved in 1 cup warm water and a little sugar (1 tsp)

Continue to add flour to make a fairly stiff dough – about 4-5 cups.

Knead on floured countertop until smooth.  Let rise until double in size.  

Make into six loaves on a cookie sheet (you could also make 4 loaves in standard size bread pan) and let rise until doubled in size and looks airy on top.

Bake at 350degrees for 30 minutes.

DSC_0047_1 

 

Now, here’s my version, for the bread machine:

2 1/4 cups boiling water.  Add to boiling water:

1 cup quick oatmeal

2 tsp salt

1/2 stick butter

1/3 cup dark (black strap) molasses

1/3 cup brown sugar

Stir and allow mixture to cool to 110 degrees.

 

In bread maker,

Add 5 cups flour

and 1 1/2 Tbs yeast, dissolved in 1/3 c warm water with a little sugar.

Add oatmeal mixture and run dough cycle.  If looks too sticky after the dough cycle, knead in a bit more flour

Shape into two loaves and allow to rise until double in size.

Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes

 

I don’t think the bread turns out quite as good in the bread machine, but I’m just don’t have that hand kneading technique down yet.  Maybe after a few more years of practice . . . .

I hope you all enjoy this recipe – Let me know how it turns out!

 

 

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Day 9 of the Minnesota Designer’s Blog Hop

  1. Marilynn says:

    Wow, you are a one woman show! I know that from meeting you at our guild retreats (we always love your projects and tips!) Personally I would prefer to give up cooking in order to just sew whenever I have free time…I don’t know how you get it all done! Thanks for being such a great inspiration! Thanks for the recipe too! Nothing better than the smell of bread baking in the oven! Now, if they could only put that smell in a spray can…..

  2. laurie says:

    Thanks for your answer about the quilting – it does feel good to be able to make your quilt from start to finish doesn’t it?! I have a small home Janome machine that says it can do machine quilting, but I haven’t had the guts to do it yet! I’m still doing hand stitching on the quilts I manage to finish. Someday I’ll get the courage to try it on the machine. Also, thanks for the bread recipe – I’ll let you know how it turns out once I try it!!

  3. Pat B says:

    Thanks for sharing the bread recipe. I have to say I enjoy the hand kneading; I find it very theraputic and sometimes a tension reliever.

  4. diane says:

    Thanks Heather, you are awesome. I love every post you do. Thanks for being willing to share so much of yourself!

  5. Diane Cannon says:

    Hi Heather–yep only one more blog hop day and then we can discover all the winners–but we sure have had fun and learned alot–I will be keeping my blog list on my one site and will be following all of you from now on!!! Thanks for the bread recipe it does go together a little differently than most–but sounds easier–will see, See you tomorrow, hugs, just, Di

  6. gwendie says:

    Thanks for sharing both recipes. They sound yummy!

  7. Karen says:

    Will probably wait till fall to try the bread recipe. It’s always nice to know when someone does their own quilting or not.
    The blog hop has been fun!

  8. Kathleen says:

    Oh my goodness, but that sounds good! I have a similar one…that uses shredded wheat!

  9. Jocelyn says:

    I too am sad that the blog hop will be ending. It has been fun and exciting to meet the MN designers. I know there must be more designers out there that could be a part! Maybe next year??

  10. susan says:

    Thank you sooooo much for the recipe-as Rachel would say-YUMMO!!!

  11. Tracy P says:

    Hi Heather,
    I also have had a Gammill for years and thinking of upgrading or at least updating. I was wondering why you chose to switch to APQS and if you are satisfied with your decision.

  12. Iva says:

    There is nothing better than homemade bread. This is one I have to make!

  13. Diane Cannon says:

    Happy 4th of July to you and yours–thanks for the great blog hop and I will be keeping all of you on my blog list–sooo i will be back–in the meantime have fun and a great weekend–see ya on Monday–email:dlcquilter3@gmail.com Hugs, just, Di

  14. Linda Groth Olsen says:

    Thanks for sharing the bread recipe–I will try it.. .I so enjoyed the Blog Hop and I will keep you on my favorites list…it was a wonderful time…I am hoping that you all do this again…

  15. Gloria says:

    Love bread – thank you so much – will definitely try this one.

  16. Jennifer says:

    That bread looks so yummy!! I want to just grab it right off my screen and slice it up!!

  17. glenda says:

    Hi Heather
    I wanted you to know I tried your version of the bread recipe on Sunday afternoon. It is delicious!
    (I used a mix of whole wheat and white flour.) I mixed and kneaded it in the Kitchen-aid and it turned out absolutely beautiful.
    Thanks so much.
    glenda

Leave a Reply

