Day 2 of the Cross Country Christmas Blog Hop

Today is day 2 of the Cross Country Christmas Blog Hop.   If you missed the kick off of the blog hop, just scroll down to yesterday’s post to read how it all works.  Today Sandy Gervais from Pieces from my Heart is our featured designer.  Be sure to stop by her blog to see what she is sharing with you today.  For those of you who don’t know Sandy,  she has been in the business for quite a while, has designed tons of patterns, and does wonderful fabric lines for Moda fabrics.  I have designed many of my own patterns around her fabric lines and I am anxiously awaiting her next line. 

She always has one of the most creative booths at market too – Check out this picture from this past market –

(pictures taken from Sandy’s Blog)

 

In addition to the project that Sandy is sharing with you today, the rest of the bloggers on the blog hop will be sharing a favorite holiday recipe with you.  There are so many good holiday recipes out there, that it was hard to pick – but since we are all quilters, I decided to share two recipes that I would make if I was having my hand-stitching group over in the month of December. 

spiced tea

The first is my MIL’s recipe for Christmas Tea.  It’s so good that I start making it a month early!

Start by brewing 6 tea bags in 1 quart of boiling water.  Set aside.

Simmer Together:

3/4 cup brown sugar

4 orange slices with whole cloves

4 cinnamon sticks

1/2 tsp nutmeg

3 cups cranapple juice

Combine tea and spiced juice.  Serve warm.

 

For dessert I would serve this Peppermint Dazzle Dessert:

First Layer:  Mix 2 c. graham cracker crumbs and 1/4 cup butter.  Spread in 9 x 13 pan and set aside.

 

Second Layer:  Cream together :

1 1/2 c. powdered sugar

1/2 c. butter

 5 squares unsweetened chocolate, melted

3 beaten eggs

1 tsp vanilla

Beat until smooth, then cool until firm.  Spread over graham cracker crust.

 

Last Layer: 

Whip 1 pint whipping cream

Mix in 2 1/2 c. miniature marshmallows and 1 tsp vanilla

Spread over chocolate mixture and garnish with 8 crushed peppermint sticks.

Refrigerate for 3-4 hours before serving.

 

I wish I had a picture of this dessert, as it looks pretty and festive!  Suddenly I’m craving something sweet . . . .

 Be sure to hit up the other blogs on the hop for more fun holiday recipes!

 

 

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

54 Responses to Day 2 of the Cross Country Christmas Blog Hop

  1. all sounds good.
    Thanks
    Regena

  2. Darlis says:

    Thank you for the recipes. They sound very good.

  3. Margi Borck says:

    Oh that tea sounds perfect for a cold Michigan day! Can’t wait to try it.

  4. Penne says:

    That sounds like a great tea, I am a lover of tea and will try this out very soon.

  5. marta says:

    Me gústan sus recetas, el te especiado parece delicioso, y no dudaré ante el postre de menta.

  6. Lisa Otis says:

    yum that peppermint dessert sounds good!

  7. Jewel says:

    Yummy! I have to do that tea!

  8. Tammy Lewis says:

    I love spiced teas! Thank you for sharing.

  9. Laura Toombs says:

    Wow!
    Just got back from Minnesota Quilt Camp and boy are the tires on my car TIRED!
    Missed the first day of the Blog hop due to travel but what a great idea and how much fun is everyone having! Perfect timing too!
    Thanks Heather for such a great project and so much fun at Camp! We love you here in Missouri!
    Laura

  10. Susan says:

    My birthday group (no quilters in it, and you believe that?) is coming next week. Will get started on the tea today!

  11. Julie in WA says:

    The dessert looks so light and tasty, just what you need after a big holiday meal! Plus, I just love any recipe with crushed candy canes!

  12. Lisa says:

    Yumm, all these recipes are killing me. I need to start baking!🙂

  13. Sharon S says:

    Nummy! I’m going to have to make both of these!

  14. Linda says:

    The recipes sound so good—I would love some tea right now……….

  15. Marcy says:

    I have been craving peppermint candy lately so I will have to try out that dessert. Thanks.
    Marcy

  16. Cindi says:

    That sounds so good! I can’t wait to try it.

  17. Jenny says:

    Your Christmas tea recipes sounds wonderful. I have bookmarked that for my cookie baking party I have each year. Love those booth pics. Wow.

  18. Tora says:

    Love te so I look forward to make te from your resipe, thank you

  19. Ruby says:

    Thank you for sharing your recipes, can’t wait to try them. I think the tea will be a great addition to Thanksgiving.

  20. Mandy says:

    Ohhh! It sounds delish!

  21. Fun market pictures, and delicious sounding recipes! Thanks for sharing them!

    MGM

  22. Linda says:

    Thanks for both recipes – on the tea, does it really keep for a month? Sounds deeeelish!!! I always enjoy reading your blog!!

  23. Rita says:

    All these great recipes are putting me in the holiday spirit!

  24. Christine Thomas says:

    The tea recipe reminded me of a Christmas drink I like to make. When my oldest daughter was 7, I attended a home party at a schoolmate’s house. She served this wonderful hot drink that I had to have the recipe for. It has now become one of our family’s traditions for Christmas. Thanks for the reminer.

  25. Brenda says:

    Thank You very the recipe. Can’t wait to try the tea.

  26. Pat says:

    Love all these yummy recipes!!!

  27. Karen M says:

    Thank you for sharing your recipes. The tea sounds so good. I’m a mail carrier and work outside all day even in the cold winter. I can’t wait to try this recipe. Thanks, Karen M

  28. Jean says:

    The peppermint drizzle sounds delightful and easy. Thanks for sharing it.

  29. Wendy says:

    I’m trying that tea for sure. I loved spiced ciders and teas. Thanks so much.

  30. Beth Patrick says:

    yummy tea and the dessert sounds heavenly!!
    thanks for sharing,,
    Beth in Dallas

  31. Sheila says:

    Oooh! That dessert sounds yummy, but boy it must be sweet!

    thanks for sharing

    Sheila

  32. Sara says:

    Nice recipes – especially good on a cold New Hampshire day…

  33. Cindy says:

    Ooh, looks like scrumptious tea. Thank you so much for the wonderful recipe. I KNOW I’ll be trying it this holiday season.jj

    Wish I had some tonight while sitting outside “watching the darkness”.

  34. Oh I wish I had some now!

  35. Mary Flynn says:

    Sounds like a wonderful tea for a fun gathering! Maybe I can round up the gals for some quilting!!

  36. SewLindaAnn says:

    Both recipes sound really good, I could go for a hot cup right now on this rainy cold night. I love Sandy’s colors and design esthetics. Everything she designs is fresh and fun and usable.

  37. Sandy says:

    Thank you for sharing your recipes today…I could go for a cuppa right now!

  38. Ange Moore says:

    Wow – that Christmas Tea sounds lovely and festive. Might have to give it a try at my next Christmas in July (as it’ll be too hot in Oz at Christmas for festive tea!!).

  39. Gloria Lundblad says:

    I think I’m gaining weight just reading all these good recipes. Thanks.

  40. Sandi says:

    That peppermint dessert sounds good even without a picture! My husband loves peppermint candy canes so this might be one I should try for him.🙂

  41. Jayne says:

    Mmmmmmmmm, oh my gosh, that tea sounds absolutely heavenly! Can’t wait for an occasion to try it! Thank you!!

  42. arlette says:

    Hmmmmm love the recipes, thank you for sharing!

  43. Lauren says:

    Both sound yummy —thanks for the recipes!

  44. Wanda Sotkowy says:

    I love peppermint during the holidays. I really brings back a memory of cozy family gatherings with good food and thoughts. Thank you

  45. Esther says:

    All of it sounds great. Will have to try both recipes.

  46. Chris says:

    Yum! I am going to try both of them. Thanks.

  47. Cathy says:

    This is fun! Thanks for the recipes. Cathy

  48. Penny says:

    Hmm your tea sounds great. I’ll have to try it.

  49. Sue Goodin says:

    The Christmas Tea sound wonderful. Will have to try it. ( can it be spiked )

  50. Leslie Schmidt says:

    Why is it that our favorite food memories all revolve around sweets?
    By the way, yours sound yummy.

  51. sewpam63 says:

    Mmmm… ; D I want to try both of these recipes! Thanks for sharing them!

  52. Iva says:

    Both recipes look really yummy; but that tea is one I definitely have to try!

  53. Jocelyn says:

    Oh wow, sounds so delicious!

  54. wbotw39 says:

    I like the sounds of both of your recipes – can’t wait to try them.

Leave a Reply

