Day 3 of the Cross Country Blog Hop

Today is day 3 of our Cross Country Christmas Blog Hop and our featured designer of the day is Terry Atkinson from Atkinson Designs.  She’s another MN gal, but is well known all over for her quilting designs!   Be sure to visit her blog today for a fun project.

In addition to Terry’s project, each of the designers will be sharing about our favorite Christmas gifts.  I was at my Mom’s house the other day, looking through old photo albums in the hopes that I would find some pictures of me opening gifts on Christmas.  I was hoping it would help me remember what my favorite Christmas gift was!  I told Mom I have lots of memories of Christmas, just no specific ones of gifts.  My Aunt Lynn happened to be visiting and she remembered right away what my favorite Christmas gift was – my shopping cart.

I still have it in a closet in the basement, but I happened to find a picture of this one on Ebay that was in a little better shape.  My shopping cart has strapping tape holding the handle in place!  Turns out I could get fifty bucks for it on Ebay – but not in a million years would I sell this favorite gift!  – Even though it is a little small for me.

PA240014

My Aunt Lynn is known as the family historian.  She remembers everything!  In fact, my husband has nicknamed her the family oracle.  She remembers how excited I was about this gift.  She also remembers me telling everyone, “My name is Headder Modo and just wub my sopping cart.”  I hope I spelled that right, but you get the idea.  My great grandma Anka had that kind of memory also (You can read about her here), and I always wished I had that kind of memory too.  Thank goodness we have Aunt Lynn to fall back on!

The only other specific gift I remember getting was a stereo.  It wasn’t just a little boom box – it was a dual tape player, 5 disc changer, radio with 3-foot tall 100 watt speaker kind of stereo.  It was the year I turned 18 (which is part of the reason I remember it) and it was a combination birthday, christmas, and graduation gift.  I also chipped some of my savings to pay the rest.  I still can’t believe my parents helped buy me this.   I wasn’t the type to listen to anything peaceful or classical.  I also didn’t listen to anything soft or quiet.  Plus I had to turn it up even louder to hear it over my sewing machine or my quilting machine.  I loved it and got many, many hours of use out of it!   My poor family . . . . had to put up with that for a few years until I moved out.

Do you have a favorite Christmas gift?  Or possibly a family historian you can talk to?

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Quilting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

51 Responses to Day 3 of the Cross Country Blog Hop

  1. Mary Flynn says:

    Would you believe a typewriter?! Oh yes…in the 5th grade I decided I wanted a typewriter…keeping in mind back then were no computers. My folks did buy me one and it was well used all through my school years. I loved it…of all things a typewriter! Silly me!

  2. Wendy says:

    One Christmas my mom sent a big box of fabric scraps to a woman who turned them into a ton of Barbie clothes. My sister and I got years of fun with all the new clothes for our dolls.

  3. V says:

    Fortunately for me, my mother kept most of our toys, so i was able to pass many of them onto my daughter. a doll pram, All the fisher price little people houses from the 70’s, and a Peg-o-Board school desk. And funny enough, one BIG baby doll that when you picked her up and put her over your shoulder, she cried. I gave it to my daughter when she was little, thinking she would love it too. She thought it was scary so it sits now in my basement….
    oh well. Cute post. thanks for sharing Heather! I expect to see you pushing that shopping cart through Jhanke’s the next time I’m there…😉

  4. Wendy says:

    My grandmother made my sister and I a bunch of Barbie clothes one year. She was a clothing/dresser lady of the Strip! She helped with the wardrobe for the shows. So she had LOTS of fun fabrics that she used. Wish I still had some of them today.

  5. Rita says:

    One year, I was probably 12 or 13, I received a pair of white go-go boots. Oh my goodness…I thought I was the coolest thing!

  6. Lovely post and picture, thanks for sharing, Heather:) A favourite Christmas gift was certainly a baby cradle, all in wood and part of it painted in light green. I still remember it so vividly. My parents had offered one to me and one to my little sister (hers was dark red). Inside the cradle my grand-parents had put a beautiful doll, quite a big one too, I had named her “Gladys”. Don’t know where I got this name from… As for a family historian, my grand-father Ulysse was the one. A wonderful “grand-papa” who always had so much to tell about our family or the state we lived in. He was passionate about History. He gave me another of his passions too : reading.

  7. Darlene says:

    My favorite gifts over the years were anything crafty – not a big surprise. But I remember one year when all I really wanted for Christmas was…..CRUTCHES! I have no idea why I wanted them so badly – I begged and begged for them (but had no physical need for them….) This still makes me laugh!

  8. Marianne says:

    I’m like you, Heather, memories of Christmas but no one favorite gift sticks out. Enjoyed your post, that is one cute shopping cart!

  9. Jenny says:

    Hey, I think you can almost use that shopping cart still. Cute post!

  10. Jewel says:

    Shopping cart… so cute!

  11. Jane McCarthy says:

    My favorite present was from my 80 year old Danish grandmother. A little bird told her that my heart’s desire was a pink princess telephone (new that year!) and she got it for me. I still remember opening the box with trembling hands, smelling the pungent plastic smell, and feeling absolutely like a princess.

  12. Joyce says:

    Love the stories.. that shopping cart is great!

  13. Margi Borck says:

    oh your story brings back some great memories; my first kitchen set! Man I loved that thing and the shopping cart to go with!

  14. Cindy says:

    I think every little girl loved to have a shopping cart. I remember my own daughter had this one, got it at a garage sale, and the handle kept falling off so we taped it on time and time again.

    Our granddaughter loves to use the little “real” shopping carts when we go to certain stores that have them for “little people”. Too cute.

    No, no Aunt Lynn, and the older I get, the more things fade. I need a family oracle.

  15. I had that exact same cart🙂 Mine did not survive my brothers though😛

  16. Darlis says:

    Cute shopping cart – cute memory.

  17. Jean says:

    We had that shopping cart for our girls. I have a great picture of the back one of them on her first birthday rolling it down the street.

  18. Love your favorite Christmas gift story. I can totally see you loving that cart, decorate it for Christmas and put some new favorite bowl filler giftie items in it. It would look so cute under your tree.
    One year mom, who disliked wrapping presents, put some very fun ones in a big bag under the tree, I was thrilled at pulling them out with my brothers. One item was the etch-a sketch we had years of fun with it.

  19. Ruby says:

    My favorite gift was my grandmothers old singer that she gave to me.

  20. marta says:

    Los mejores regalos los que han hecho mis hijos con sus manos.
    Ultimamente ya mayores son dos regalos hermosos una maquina digital y una cocina microondas.

  21. Linda T says:

    How funny! I received one of these shopping carts for Christmas when I was young as well. My only real memory of it was that my brothers were fighting and one pushed the other one and he landed right in my cart and broke it! Boy was I ever mad about that! I still like to bug him about it 25 years later.

  22. Doris says:

    My sister had one of those carts! Now her boys play with it at Grandma’s house… My favorite ever was my Fisher Price 1972 Little People Dollhouse (the yellow and blue one!). It was later destroyed by kids my Mom was baysitting for, but I still have the staircase.

  23. Patty says:

    I daughter had a grocery cart like yours. She used to push her dolly around and around in it. She even took it to the grocery store when we went and always had to have some groceries in her cart too. One day she had something too heavy and the cart tipped over.

  24. Tammy Lewis says:

    I love your shopping cart! My daughter loved hers! My favorite gift was a 35mm camera.

  25. Sandy says:

    Thanks for sharing and you look very cute pushing your cart!!

  26. Christine Thomas says:

    THE SHOPPING CART!!! Our daughter had one and now it makes me want to have that back for the grandkids. Thank you for that memory. My oldest daughter’s name is Heather, also. Headder is just about right along with Heller. Cute.

  27. Julie in WA says:

    Our grocery store had those little carts for the kiddies to push while mom pushed the large carts. Of course, my daugher had one at home as well.

    I remember getting my Barbie doll case one year. It had room for THREE Barbies on one side, and a large hanger bar for clothes with two drawers underneath on the other side. I kept everything in its place, and the Barbies doubled up in the stalls…Ken and Barbie together, Skipper and Ricky together, and balding Skipper shared the third stall with the yellow luggage.

  28. Iva says:

    As a child my favorite Christmas/birthday gift was a shiny, red, ‘grown-up’ bicycle. Years of fun!

  29. Chris says:

    One of my favorite gifts was “Marybell the Get Well doll”. She came in a case with cruthches and casts and even little cards with sticky spots for the measles and chicken pox. I haven’t thought of her for a long time. Thanks for sharing your memories.

  30. Jane Weston says:

    I think the year I got a 14″ colour tv for my room was the most memorable! Thankfully (or maybe not) we have a video of that moment!! LOL

  31. Sandi says:

    I can remember several gifts that were favorites but the one that was really special was the year that my mother put a lovely compact in a silky floral case in my Christmas stocking. For me, it was like I become “grown-up” and I can still see the exact floral print of that case. Wish I had kept it but I simply used it and wore it out! The family historian in our family is me. I’ve kept every ornament the kids ever made and loads of pictures.🙂

  32. JoAnne says:

    Can’t believe you still have the shopping cart! You must have really loved it.

  33. Jocelyn says:

    awwww, how sweet! Love the little shopping cart. And you still have it!!!!

  34. Linda says:

    Great story, and great to have that auntie to remember things……I need someone to remember where those things are!! My great wish of all time I think was a doll in a basket that I had seen in a store window….. my life just would never be complete, and then behold!! I opened it on Christmas and couldnt believe my eyes!!!

  35. pat sloan says:

    what a GREAT story Heather!!!!

  36. Caro T says:

    That is such a cute picture of you with your shopping cart.

  37. Sue Goodin says:

    I still have the shopping cart from my girls now the grandkids play with it.

  38. Sheila says:

    My kids had that same shopping cart! They LOVED it!

    thanks for sharing

    Sheila

    shecarita(at)yahoo(dot)com

  39. arlette says:

    Hmmmm I remember once, on christmas, the gift amount was huge!!!!, that was because my parents went to another country for buy the gifts, I got there a barbie special edition, the barbie it somewhere without her head, lol!

  40. Jayne says:

    I recall getting a Bobby Sherman album when I was in madly in love with him. I had my mother take a picture of me with the album up by my face to show it off. (The pic of Bobby on the album, not my face!) Goofy, I know.

  41. Claudia says:

    The gift I remember the most is my Cabbage Patch Doll. I got one the year they came out. I also have the memory because I rembember looking at the doll at Sears & my mom thought they were so ugly. I remember say I’m asking Santa for that, well lets just say many years later my mom wished she had pick up that doll at the Sears store. The story has it that Santa was only given so many and that I won the raffle for one of them. So I was a very lucky girl. I also was very happy Christmas morning.

  42. Kathleen says:

    My favorite gift has to be my Teri Lee doll…complete with wardrobe made by one of my aunts, and a little suitcase “closet.”
    I hope you will encourage your aunt to write down, or “talk” her memories into a recorder. It will be something your family will be thankful for in the years to come.

  43. wbotw39 says:

    One of my favorite gifts was a “Lite Bright” it was so pretty with all the different colored lites

  44. Vickie says:

    My favorite gift was Baby Tender Love. She was the most amazing doll … I still have her some 30 years … ok 40 years later🙂

  45. Dorene says:

    Heather, I adore this penny mat! I have not tried crafting with wool but this inspires me!
    I also love your binding tips!! WOW! Your blog is awesome and you have quickly become one of my favorites! Thanks for sharing and Happy Anniversary! It is my Dad’s Birthday too!

  46. Beth Patrick says:

    I remember getting a big ( probably 3 feet tall – to a little kid that was big! ) with a very pretty frilly dress… I saw the same doll in an antique store a few years ago! Yikes!
    ( not MY doll, but one just like it! )

  47. Mary says:

    Loved reading your story—Thanks for sharing with us…

  48. Kennette Blotzer says:

    Love that you are doing wool. We LOVE the wool and try to have some sort of wool BOTM offered in the store. Great Job!! K.

  49. TQualls says:

    Your fabrics and patterns are beautiful!! I’s seen them many times. Keep up the good work!

  50. Lana Ebeling says:

    Very cute pattern. I’ll add it to my list.
    I can’t think of a Santa story, but I do remember as a child that falling asleep on that magical night was most difficult. By morning light, that little elf had been in the house and left his goodies. How did he do that?

  51. Marie Gilkey says:

    Fifty plus years ago I received the amazing Roberta Bridal Doll and I still have it in my chest. Seems that brothers and I got up in the middle of the night to see what Santa had brought us and Dad caught us playing with our toys. Of course we had to go back to bed, but not a wink did I sleep thinking of my doll all by herself. She has real nylon stockings and her veil is about 10 inches long. Oh the memories!!!! I haven’t worked with wool much, but your cute pattern has me making this already. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

