Day 4 of the Cross Country Blog Hop

Thanks to everyone who commented on my last post about their favorite gifts.   As I was reading the comments, memories of many of those same gifts came flooding back to me.  Some were gifts that I got, some were gifts that siblings or cousins got.  Either way, it brought back lots of fun memories. 

 

Today the topic of the day is a Christmas Tree story. 

I have been wracking my brain for a good tree story and there is only one that I can think of.  I’ve been trying to come up with another one to share, because if I tell this one, it will embarrass one of my siblings.  But, since I can’t come up with anything else, I will tell the story and leave out the name of which sibling to protect the guilty party.

Our Christmas tree was always set up in the far corner of the living room.  One day my Grandma Visser was over and she and my mom were sitting in the living room visiting.   They heard a rustling noise coming from behind the Christmas tree, followed by the sound of tinkling ornaments as the tree crashed into the center of the living room.  Behind the tree hid a certain little brother or sister of mine, with a red face and pained expression.  Can you guess what my sibling was doing?  What do little kids usually do when they hide?  Did I mention this kid was still in diapers?  I think you get the idea.  There were ornaments and tinsel scattered across the living room, in addition to scaring the bejeebers out of Grandma.  After getting over being startled, Mom and Grandma had a good laugh over it.  I still think it’s funny too –  So any guesses who it was?   You have a fifty/fifty chance at guessing . . . . .

Our featured blogger of the day is the very talented Pat Sloan.  I’m sure many of you already follow her blog, but just in case, here is the link to head on over to her blog to see what she has in store for you today!  Make sure to leave a comment on her blog to be eligible for the Grand Prizes!  The  hop on over to the other blogs on the hop to read their tree stories.  Here are the links:

  Gudrun from GE Designs,  Sandy from Pieces from my Heart,  Terry from Atkinson Designs,  Pat from Pat Sloan and Co,  Pam from Pam Kitty Morning,  Kari from New Leaf Stitches,  Terri from Whimsicals,  Sherri from This and That Pattern Co,   Carrie from Miss Rosie’s Quilt Co,  Roseann from Rosebud’s Cottage and  Linda Lum DeBono

 

 

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Quilting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Day 4 of the Cross Country Blog Hop

  1. Margi Borck says:

    Oh what a great story! Was that little one you! LOL My brother and I use to get into such mischief,,,especially when we were on the hunt for the Christmas present hiding place. I think we actually enjoyed that hunt and the find more than the gifts themselves.

  2. Thea McCurry says:

    we had a similar experience at our house, except it was the CAT trying to climb the tree – he tried to ‘eat’ the icicles!

  3. Wendy says:

    Tell your sister I did the same thing… only I was an adult LOL.

  4. Linda says:

    Sounds like the guilty should remain nameless ………… you may get a really great gift that way!!

  5. Mary Flynn says:

    Sure sounds like a guy thing only because I’ve mostly been around baby boys….some of which would hide behind the couch!!

  6. mariajhmom says:

    First of all…you posted at 4:30 AM. Please tell me you set it up last night to post!!!

    I’m guessing it was your cutel little blonde sister!

  7. Shar says:

    Love it…. it’s already in the printer.

  8. Michele says:

    One year, we had a kitten in the family that loved to torment the dogs. She would jump up on the fireplace mantel to safety. It also proved to be a good launching place to jump on to the tree beside it. Down came the tree on top of the dog. Needless to say, that little kitten found a new home without dogs.

  9. Jewel says:

    Hahahaha funny. I love it… At least it wasn’t the cat.

  10. Thats, too funny.

    I had to put my Christmas tree in a playpen for my first daughter’s first Christmas because she kept trying to knock it down. (I forgot about that!)

  11. Cindy says:

    Now THIS is funny!!!! LOL, got to love it. Our own daughter’s “favorite place” to do her “thing” was behind my rocking chair. LOL

    We had a case of the “fallen tree” as well, but it wasn’t that many years ago. Guess you don’t have to be young to have “experiences”. We came home from eatting out and the tree had fallen over onto the sofa. To this day, we wonder if one of our Weimaraners (we have 3) had something to do with it……..Santa has kept the secret to himself. LOL

  12. Darlis says:

    Love the story. Thanks for sharing.

  13. Ruby says:

    Great story! It sounds like something my little brother would have done!

  14. Betsy Lynn says:

    LOL, good story!
    We had a cat that once pulled the tree down.

  15. marta says:

    Divertidisima anecdota, en mi opinion un hermano varon haria esos lios.
    Gracias por compartir

  16. Jenny says:

    Cute story. I won’t even go into my weiner dogs and the Christmas tree stories. Accck.

  17. arlijohn says:

    Cute story and one everybody can relate to.

  18. Janelle J says:

    Gotta say the story is hilarious. That’s a good one. I love your picture of the tree. So pretty, it’s a great shot!

  19. Julie in WA says:

    It probably scared the youngster the most!

  20. Karen says:

    Thank you for sharing your great tree story. Haven’t had one fall over as yet but one year it came half way down but I caught it. Now it stays way back in the corner and too low to and tight to get behind. Karen

  21. PattiCakes says:

    When we were first married, living in an apartment, we wanted a REAL tree. We got the biggest one we could find that didn’t consume all of the living room, and carefully decorated it. That night we heard a tremendous crash. Starttled, we ran out of bed, only to find the entire tree laying flat on the floor across the room, ornamnets and lights smashed to bits. You guessed it, the cat! To this day — more than 30 years later — we still tie the top of the tree to a hook in the ceiling with fishing line. You just never know…..

  22. Sharon S says:

    Cute story. How about your brother?

  23. Jocelyn says:

    That is just too funny. I think it would be your brother, maybe, that was hiding? Oh well, it was either your brother or your sister🙂

  24. Christine Thomas says:

    Glad your mom and grandmother could see the humor in it even at the time. I’m not so sure I would have…later, for sure.
    One early married Christmas, my husband and I went to get our own tree from his dad’s property. So we topped a tree, put it in the Jeep…more hung out than was in…and took it home. Waaaaayyy too big. What were we thinking? And now that I think of it, I don’t remember if we made it work or just got something from a tree lot.

  25. JoAnne says:

    That is a great tree story.

  26. Cindi C says:

    Again, I have to tell each of you how much I am enjoying the blog hop! Keep up the good stories! They are great!

  27. wbotw39 says:

    It’s usually is the cat at my house that knocks over the tree. I think it was your sister….

  28. Sheila says:

    I will guess your sister, since I used to go and hide in the closet to do my “business”.

    Too funny! Thanks for sharing.

    SheilaC

  29. Diane says:

    You guys are all doing such a great job with this BLOG hop! thanks!

  30. Sue Goodin says:

    What a funny story. We had a mouse in a tree one year that would ring a set of nesting bells.

  31. arlette says:

    When I was a kid once one of my balls went straight to the christmas tree, my dad was sleeping and I didn’t want to disturb him so I kept looking for a thing to look for my ball and an idea cross my mind…, I used a candle and you can guess what happened, that time we had a christmas tree and it ended just for a few days

  32. Jayne says:

    The only thing that ever toppled over a tree in our house was the cat. And it’s happened more than once!

  33. Vickie says:

    Hmmmm A kitten, a climbable artificial tree in one room and another slim jim tree in another room … running from one to the other as fast as he could. And we all thought kids were bad …
    He was so dang cute as he peeked out the top branches … sometimes even fast asleep.
    Gosh … then there was my very first beautiful artifical tree (still have it), tree, topper, lights and 3 boxes of ornaments for $28 … and we thought it was expensive.

  34. Leslie says:

    my guess your sister. my grandchildren, would play hide n seek when they all got together. and the little ones think they can’t be seen, but with 8 hiding we only had 1 toppled tree.

  35. Pat says:

    I suspect it was you who was behind the tree.LOL well had a big Sheep dog nobody wanted so I had to keep him (Mike) for a couple weeks. He loved to chew on things well he went out to take care of business and he chewed the cable wire on the side of the house then commenced to eat and break every light on the Christmas light strand over the shrubs he was an electrifying dog A good pet . Thanks for sharing love to reminisce. I sure miss those times Pat

  36. Iva says:

    With kids, dogs, cats, and now grandkids I have never (knock on wood) had a toppled tree. Came close once, but someone had really great reflexes.

  37. Leslie Schmidt says:

    We had a tree fall once, but there was no one around it to take the blame. I guess it just got tired.

  38. Linda T says:

    We never had a Christmas tree when I was younger, mostly because there was no room, and my Mom wasn’t really into it. We did have a huge hill covered in trees, so Mom always said those were our Christmas trees. Once I got married, I got the biggest tree that would fit into our house. It goes up Dec 1 every year.

  39. MaryEllen says:

    When i was little our dad cut the christmas tree on Dec 23let it dry for a day ,and put it up the 24 th.All of us older kids would get to trim it .There was 12 kids the oldes put the lights on and we decorated it according to size .Everyonehad there favorite ornamentto put on. Mary Ellen

  40. Marg McCulloch says:

    We have a cat who just loves it when our phony tree gets put up. She climbs right up the trunk and hides in the branches and sleeps there. She also likes to sleep underneath it on the tree skirt and maybe undo a couple of parcels while she’s there!

  41. Roselie says:

    This is a cute story. I’m guessing it was your brother.

  42. merry g says:

    awesome idea…I love it…

  43. Julia says:

    Ha Ha! He was doin’ his little poopie business!! My sisters son hide’s in the closet to do it! LOL! I love the story! I can just see his/her face…

Leave a Reply

