Day 9 of the CCCBH

Logo cross country christmas copy

Today is day 9 of the Cross Country Christmas Blog Hop.  We have been zig-zagging across the country, bringing you projects and Christmas stories from all over!  Today is no exception.  Sherri from This and That Pattern Co is our featured designer of the day.  Be sure to visit her blog to see the project that she is sharing with all the hoppers.

Our theme for today is a kid story.  Each day the designers have been digging deep to come up with fun memories to share.  Every day I have been able to think of something, but today I am at a loss.  I think the main reason is that I don’t have kids of my own.  I’m sure the Mom’s on the blog hop will have plenty of fun stories to share!  In fact, they probably are having a hard time picking something.  We can also share a kid story from our childhood.  Again, I have been wracking my brain for something, and I can’t remember any kid/Christmas stories from my childhood.  (Have I mentioned that I have a bad memory?)    The only thing I do remember (that I haven’t already shared), is that I loved to decorate the Christmas tree.  Dad would bring the boxes up from the storage room in the basement and I would set up the tree, add the lights and arrange the ornaments.  I wonder how I did?  Sometimes kids put all the ornaments in one spot or only on the bottom.  I do remember hiding the ugly ones in the back of the tree.  I’ll have to ask Mom if she rearranged all the ornaments after I went to bed.  I remember it kept me happy and busy all day!    It’s a good memory, but certainly not an interesting story.  I’m just hoping the other gals on the hop can help bail me out with some interesting stories of their own!

You can visit the other designers by clicking on the following links:  Gudrun from GE Designs,  Sandy from Pieces from my Heart,  Terry from Atkinson Designs,  Pat from Pat Sloan and Co,  Pam from Pam Kitty Morning,  Kari from New Leaf Stitches,  Terri from Whimsicals,  Sherri from This and That Pattern Co,   Carrie from Miss Rosie’s Quilt Co,  Roseann from Rosebud’s Cottage and  Linda Lum DeBono

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Quilting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Day 9 of the CCCBH

  1. margi borck says:

    That is a kewl story! It would be so fun to have decorated the tree all myself, as it were I generally had 1 brother full time and 2 brothers and 2 sisters part time who HAD to help and we always had a battle. LOL

  2. Penny says:

    Sounds like you enjoyed the task of decorating your family tree.

  3. Shar says:

    It’s nice to meet you. Thank you for the darling candle mat. I’ll be making it.
    Sharlene

  4. Jocelyn says:

    It’s funny because I really don’t have many memories from my childhood Christmases. I don’t think we had many “traditions” growing up, but my hubbys side did, so we gleaned those when we started having a family.

  5. Margaret says:

    Oh I’m behind on this blog hop! But I’m finding lots of great ideas and new blogs too!

  6. Jewel says:

    You will see you aren’t the only one that had trouble thinking of somehting🙂 I would not be able to remember one either …

  7. marta says:

    Gracias por la historia.Han tenido todas ustedes que pensar un tema para cada dia, implica bucear en los recuerdos , valoro su esfuerzo.

  8. Ruby says:

    I want to thank you and all the designers for your commitment to this blog hop! You all have been so generous in your story telling and projects!

  9. Darlis says:

    Thank you for your story. This has been a great blog hop.

  10. Julie in WA says:

    YES! I remember hanging the ugly ones in the back too! Now my daughter does the same thing, and no one even told her to do so!

  11. Jenny says:

    Cute story! I think we’ve all done that.

  12. Karen says:

    I have a kid story-when I was 7, I got up before everyone else (parents, older brother, 25 and older sister, 21) and went down to see if Santa arrived. Of course, he had! Thought I’d open just 1 gift…then another, all the time checking to see if anyone else was up. Of course, by the time they got up I had opened ALL of my presents! Needless to say there aren’t any pictures of Christmas morning from that year! Mom had the worse time trying to figure out who gave me what to thank them!!

  13. i’ve enjoyed the daily stories from all of you!

    sparks some fun memories of christmas past!

    deanna gipson

  14. Vicki says:

    I can’t remember many specifics about Christmas from my childhood either. That must mean they were all good, right? I do remember that we all looked forward to Thanksgiving afternoon because that’s when the tree went up. My mom loved Christmas and wouldn’t wait another day:)
    Thanks to all of you designers for the blog hop. It has been a lot of fun!

  15. Mary-Kay says:

    I know that when my kids decorate the tree, I usually rearrange after they go to bed. But I didn’t do it all in one night because when I did they actually noticed.

  16. arlette says:

    It’s a good thing you loved to decorate your christmas tree, I bet it was beautiful. I love to decorate mine as well, and I still don’t have kids as well yet!😛

  17. arlette says:

    Forgot to say I looooooove Snoopy, he’s so yummy, lol. thank you for sharing your stories🙂

  18. Cindy C. says:

    I remember looking forward to all the Christmas specials on TV – no recorders back then so you didn’t want to miss them.

    And oh, how I loved when “uptown” decorated the street with lights and decorations with the big tree in front by the Municpal building. I thought our little town was just “IT”.

  19. Leslie Schmidt says:

    I can’t remember many kid stories, either. I do recall one Christmas when my dad’s mom was visiting us. We didn’t have a guest room, so she slept in the double bed with my sister and me. Very early (it was still dark) she woke me up and told me to look. But I was afraid it was Santa, so I refused to open my eyes. It turned out to be my sister, the early riser, standing next to the bed with her new doll. I was so scared!

  20. Leslie says:

    the blogs are terrfic, kids and decorating trees the best memories

  21. arlette says:

    Your snoopy pic is so cute, I’m one of his fans!😛

Leave a Reply

