Finishing

Just a quick reminder that today is the last day to post your finished CCCBH projects to our Flickr page.  We will be awarding a great prize for one lucky winner, so don’t forget to upload those pictures!!!

So how was your Thanksgiving weekend?  It seemed like a whirlwind.  It started with a birthday party for my niece on Wednesday night, then two Thanksgiving dinners on Thursday, shopping for new, bigger pants on Friday, a quilt day with cousins on Saturday, and My nephews baptism and buffet dinner on Sunday.  I’m just kidding about buying new pants.  In fact, I always avoid shopping on Black Friday.  First of all, I can’t handle getting up that early, or all the crowds and long lines.  I’d rather stay home and do this:

I got my Christmas tree set up in my studio, along with a few other decorations around the house.  I’m also working on finishing up lots of quilting projects.  First, a small runner from my book “On the Run”.

I’m also working on a few quilts out of my Wildflowers fabric.  I will show you better pictures when they are completely finished, but in the meantime, here is what I have finished (or almost finished!) so far  –

Modern Day Diamonds from my “Livin’ Large” book

Gettin’ Ziggy with It from my “Stop, Drop, and Roll” book

And lastly, the free pattern that will go with the fabric line.

I still have one more side to finish on the binding, but I’m almost there!

In the background you can see some blocks that I am playing with from my Sizzlin’ Sixties book.  The book is written for 2 1/2″ strips, but just for fun, I thought I would try 1 1/2″ strips instead.  The result is a harder block to make, but it makes up for that in cuteness.  Somehow, everything is cuter in miniature.

I love these prints by Deb Strain.  They are so bright, colorful and cheerful!

I’ve also been finishing up some knitting, but I’ll save that for another day.  I have had so many projects going, that I honestly have to say it begins to feel like a burden.  That’s when I know that I need to set aside some time and get some things finished.  It really feels great to get a bunch of things done, so by the end of the week, I hope to feel even better!  It seems like it’s been a long while since I had sat at the machine and worked on some projects.

What a great way to spend an afternoon . . . .


 

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in My Studio, Quilting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Finishing

  1. Sherri says:

    I love the quilt over the chair in the first pictures…I think it’s the only one you didn’t identify. It looks familiar…but just wondering which one it is for sure…I must make that out of Christmas fabrics!!!

  2. DianeY says:

    They are all so beautiful I am almost breathless!!! Especially love the ziggy one!

  3. Jocelyn says:

    Beautiful! Great way to spend a day.

  4. Mandy says:

    I love that line Fresh!!!!

    I have a honey bun of it now🙂 I’d love to make that new pattern of yours!!!!

  5. Karen says:

    What a great view from your sewing machine!!!
    Love all the projects!

  6. Mary-Kay says:

    You have a great view while you’re at your sewing machine. It’s a wonder how you get anything done. I’d be staring out the window the whole time.

  7. Ginger says:

    I love the projects you have shown from that Sizzilin’ Sixties book. I just went to Amazon to add it to my wish list, and bummer, they don’t have it. Guess I’ll have to send my mom a hint by email! There were some other interesting choices that come up when I type the title in though! 😀

  8. I can almost feel how warm and cozy your studio is. Are those all quilts or tops stacked under the longarm? Wow… And even though the quilts are all impressive and gorgeous, I focused on the longarm and your sewing machine. Without good tools, one can hardly make wonderful projects. Aack…I sound like my husband who seems to “need” a $400 something each time I want him to do something for me.
    Great job, Heather.

  9. Andi says:

    Your studio is to-die-for!!!
    What a beautiful space!

  10. Mary Flynn says:

    Can I move in? That’s all I got…just wanna move in.

  11. Melanie says:

    Hi Heather,
    Your fabric looks fabulous in those quilts – so bright and cheery. Love the Sizzling Sixties blocks , planned on making those blocks for a baby quilt. Maybe I’ll try the smaller size instead of just making fewer!

  12. glenda says:

    That sounds so delightful and your room is just beautiful. I love your new quilts. I love the one hanging over the white chair too. Which book is that one in? You are such an inspiration.

  13. Love everything you have going on there Heather!

  14. Penny says:

    What a wonderful view you have from your studio. All that remodeling was worth it. How did you hang your design wall?

  15. Hi dear, all your quilts are beautiful, congratulations, but I would like to see the first quilt, the which is above the chair, fully extended, to see this wonderful quilt.
    Hugs & kisses.

  16. Jan says:

    The amount of things you get done never cease to blow me away. I adore the new fabric line and can’t wait to purchase some! LOVE your decor~Christmas and all!!!!!

    I can’t find a place to contact you, so could you possibly tell me the color and brand of olive green paint in your kitchen? The paint I picked up looks like mud on my walls and I’m pulling my hair out.

  17. Everything looks beautiful – the quilts, your sewing room, the view. So fun! I love your mini blocks from your Sizzlin’ Sixties book! I’m getting my Bloom Wall Hanging back today from the quilter and will then be teaching a class on it at the fabric store I work at. I’m so excited! Wish me luck!

  18. bingo~bonnie says:

    what beautiful quilts you have that you are finishing up!!! and I just have to say, you are an excellent photo taker – I’m sitting here looking/reading your post and it’s better than what I see in some magazines!!! Those budda colored walls are gorgeous with everything aren’t they? I may have to think about a color like that for our guest room.. so soft and pretty!

    Thanks for sharing all your works in progress😉 Love from Texas! ~bonnie

  19. Carol T says:

    Ok, I have to say that everything you make is Awesome and so much fun to look at. I am waiting for your new line to be in the fatquartershop because I want it!!!!

  20. Julia says:

    Wow! I love all the goodness that is in sewing room! I could spend ALL day EVERY day in there and be happy. Even if I wasn’t sewing…just reading a book in there would be absolutely wonderful. You have my dream room with my dream picture windows and my dream view. How fun!

  21. bevb says:

    I love the things you do Heather! Your creativity never ceases!

  22. Tracy P says:

    It does feel good to get those projects wrapped up doesn’t it! Great job. Thanks for all the wonderful inspiration.

  23. nancy r. says:

    Beautiful quilts and beautiful photos!

  24. Kelly O. says:

    Hi there,
    That quilt in the first pick, hanging over the chair? what pattern is it? I love it!
    Could you maybe show a pic of it full out?
    thanks
    Kel

  25. Kelly O. says:

    Okay so I figured it out… 4 patch fusion from the book Charmed and Dangerous… Is this book still available? How many charm packs are required to make it –I was hoping to make it in figgy pudding but need to track down charm packs before they’re gone…
    Thanks
    kel

Leave a Reply

