A Great Week

After the whirlwind of market, I needed some serious therapy.  So, I took part of Monday off and went to the local greenhouse to pick out some flowers.  I spent the rest of the afternoon surrounded by beautiful colors, elbow deep in mud.  It was so much fun.  I truly appreciated that day, how calm I felt, and how much I loved being home.  I know many people think I live in the sticks, but after being in the city for the weekend, I was just so happy to live here. 

Calm.  Quiet.  Beautiful.  

(Almost makes up for the winters!)

Tuesday and Wednesday were back to work.  Then a flurry of different activities began – Joel, his dad and his crew set to work on pouring some concrete.

Our garage now has a driveway and sidewalk. 

Next, we emptied our entire kitchen into the living room.  Why?

So we could tear it apart! 

I had several people at market ask if we were done with our house yet.  My response was “We were, until we started remodeling our remodeling.”   The perfect example is here in the kitchen where the ceramic tile and grout wasn’t holding up. 

We decided to put in a new tile that looks like ceramic, but is actually a high-grade linoleum with an acrylic grout.  We are hoping it holds up better than the ceramic, as this was quite a job!  We did get all the cement dust cleaned up and the kitchen and living room put back together before the holiday weekend. 

The weekend was full of good things, with lots of company and too much food!

The weekend also included lots of smiles –

A little babysitting –

Swimming and dunking –

Lessons in patience –

Sandy Toes –

Catching fish –

Boating and kayaking –

Followed by beautiful sunset, after beautiful sunset.

This one was my favorite.  I don’t remember seeing sun beams across the sky like that too many times before.   My picture just doesn’t do it justice . . .

It was definitely a week of living life to the fullest, with a few pauses to remember the reason for the Holiday.

I hope your weekend was full of good things too!

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to A Great Week

  1. Dana says:

    Hi there. I love the photos! Just gorgeous.🙂

    Please do share – what brand of linoleum is that and what type of grout did you use? I’ve been mulling around so many options and this one sounds very good!

  2. Giggles says:

    Those sunset photos are absolutely gorgeous!

  3. Gorgeous photos!

    Your flooring sounds interesting, it’s a job we have to do also in the next year or so also, so please keep us up to date how you like it.

  4. Julia says:

    The photos are absolutely breathtaking. Make me REALLY want to move somewhere like that. Hope all your remodeling comes out beautiful! And love all your patterns and fabric!

  5. Danielle says:

    Your sunset photos are spectacular! What a lovely family you have! I am also curious about the brand of flooring. We are in need of a new floor, as I am very unhappy with my ceramic in my kitchen as well. Nothing but grout troubles since we installed it!

  6. Jen says:

    We have similar flooring in our daughter’s bathroom and entry way and I LOVE it!! Next year we plan to do our kitchen floor with the same tiles. Your sunset pictures are too die for! Thanks for sharing!!

  7. Jan says:

    Incredible photos!!!! Sigh, makes me wish I were there too! (you can have all that snow and freezing cold though)

    Our ceramic tiles in 3 rooms isn’t holding up very well either.

    I’ve decided ~it is totally IMPOSSIBLE for you not to be busy! :)) I do think you are the most productive person I’ve seen.

    Thanks for giving such treats in today’s photos!!!

  8. Claudia says:

    Beautiful pictures !!!
    Are you putting in “dura-ceramic” by any chance ??…..If so – we put it in our laundry room, kitchen, dining room and entry…replaced ceramic tile and linoleum. – And we LOVE IT !!!… It is great to hide dirt !!! Your pic looks like the same color we have……and we have 2 big dogs….and really ….it hides LOTS of mud prints…..LOL

  9. Chris Davis says:

    Thanks for the gorgeous photos! I don’t think I can go back to living in the city — I can probably visit a few days tops, but the country is where my heart is.

  10. Kelly Ann says:

    Please share the info on the lino-tile…btw…love the pictures of the sunsets…

  11. Zarina says:

    Heather – I would like your permission to use your photos (see 2 in this post that I want to use) to create new colorways for my hand dyed threads, listed in my blog.

  12. Darlene Bulthuis says:

    Your pictures are stunning! What a beautiful setting to live in. Glad you had time to decompress after market week.

  13. Jocelyn says:

    Wow what beautiful pictures. Lovely weekend.

  14. Judy Bartholow says:

    Living in the midwest is the best! We have beautiful sunrises over the James River which makes getting up early a treat. Even the winter sun makes a spectacular appearance most days.

  15. AnnieO says:

    Remodeling is never quick and clean, but it looks like you’re very experienced at this game.

    Terrific photos, what adorable kids!

    Thanks for the sunset photos. Sunset is my favorite time of day.

  16. Paula Stuplich says:

    The pictures of the sunsets and wonderful! *jealous*
    I hope you will share the info on your flooring so I won’t be even more jealous of you. ;P
    Glad you had time to de-stress from the quilt market. We all need a little down time sometimes.
    Happy June!

  17. Leslie Schmidt says:

    Oh, Heather, the sunsets are gorgeous! And I’m very impressed with your work on your home. You’ve done a beautiful job. You have a great vision. Glad you and your family had a terrific holiday.

  18. Linda P. says:

    I love that you share so much of your family with us!! While my little grands live in another state, I miss seeing some of the simple things – all your pics made me smile!! The photos of sunsets are gorgeous and I must visit this blog post again just to gaze!! Hope you do tell more of that flooring, it sounds amazing and looking good! How does it sound to walk over? Thanks, Heather, glad you get a chance to unwind now and again.

  19. Carrie says:

    I love your pictures of the sunsets ~ they’re beautiful. (The pictures and the sunsets.)

    Those pictures are almost as wonderful as the pictures of all the gorgeous kids! Too cute!

    The floor looks terrific and I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you that it holds up better than the tile. I love tile but we’re having similar problems with ours and it’s only been down for four years. Because of some “settling” with the foundation, the tiles and grout are getting stressed in spots.

    Have a wonderful summer ~ and don’t work too hard. 🙂

  20. Christine Thomas says:

    I can not believe those sunsets and the sunbeams shooting out across the sky. Stunning…just stunning. The Lord’s handiwork for our blessing. Thank you for sharing.

  21. Diane says:

    Thank you for taking the time to share your love of color, craft and the everyday beauty that is all around us. Just a lovely blog and your work is inspiring!

    Enjoy the summer!

Leave a Reply

