Where in the world are Heather and Joey?

It’s been well over 3 weeks since my last post.  I just might have a good reason!  We have been on a vacation trip.  I say trip and not vacation, because we worked far too hard to call this a vacation!  We didn’t stay in one place for more than 30 minutes and it’s been the first trip that I have actually lost weight from walking so much!  It’s also been the first trip that we have taken where it wasn’t centered around something to do with work.  We have talked about going for quite a while now, I just thought it would never actually happen.  But, we finally decided to book it, and less than two weeks later we were gone.   We’ve been home for over a week, but my mind is still reeling from everything I have seen.  It will probably be the trip of my lifetime and I kinda have to pinch myself so that I know it is real.  Of course looking at my pictures reminds me and I thought it would be fun to share some of the pictures with you and see if you can guess where we have been.

 

1.  Hint:  See the sign in the background?

2.  Hint:  The country side was covered in olive trees

3.  Hint:  Joel lived in this city for a semester in college.

4.  Hint:  Considered to be the highlight of a trip to this country.

5.  Hint:  Costa del ______

6.  Hint:  Gaudi

7.  Hint:  Oh so “nice”

8.  Hint:  We didn’t stay in this city.  Far too many Ferraris for my taste!

9.  Hint:  Do you really need one for this location?

10.  Hint:  This fountain was made famous by the movie “Three coins in a fountain”

11.   Hint:  This spiral staircase is located in it’s own walled city, within the city of _____.

12.  Hint:  Very important government decisions were made here.

13.  Hint:  Gladiator.  You probably didn’t need that hint either, as I have totally given away the location now!

14.  Hint:  Under the ______ Sun

15.  Hint:  The heart of the afore-mentioned location.

16.  Out last city.  Hint:  On the water

Want to venture any guesses?

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

57 Responses to Where in the world are Heather and Joey?

  1. Sherri says:

    Tuscany, Italy! Gorgeous!

  2. mariajhmom says:

    I don’t think we’re in Kansas any more!!!

    There’s no such thing as too many Ferrari’s!!!!

  3. Doris says:

    I already know having seen you in person shortly before your departure… Lovely photos, glad you enjoyed your break!

  4. Patsters says:

    Italy!! We were there 3 years ago and those pictures bring back such wonderful memories. Isn’t it the most beautiful country with the most wonderful food and people. It was my first International travel and was so positive we haven’t stopped and continue to see more of the world each year. Go see more. Make the time you won’t be sorry. Thanks for sharing the wonderful sites of Italy, I will go back.

  5. Cathy Burk says:

    Oh, Heather, I’m so glad you took the opportunity to take this fabulous trip! Travel as much as you can while you are young, that’s my advice. Sounds like a dream trip!

  6. megan z. says:

    I was wondering where you have been! I am so glad to see you are back from … Italy?! The pictures are amazing! Thanks for sharing!

  7. Sheila says:

    Well, I thought it was Italy, but then the mention of a Costa and Gaudi made me think of Barcelona and Spain. Did you go to both countries, or are there also Costas in Italy?
    Or am I just toally confused, even though I live in Spain – lol !

  8. AnnieO says:

    A bunch of places in Italy for sure! Beautiful country and looks like you had a fabulous tour. It’s a good thing to get away from home with your hubby🙂

    Actually the first picture looks an awful lot like the wine country near the Central California coast with those rolling hills, but they are covered in grape vines and oaks not olive trees.

  9. Nancy says:

    Did you visit Panama?

  10. DianeY says:

    When I saw the first photo, I thought the food made it look just like a place we ate in Rome! Then I wasn’t so sure! Then I was sure again! For me it was also a trip of a lifetime!

  11. Jana says:

    I was going to say Spain, but maybe you did Spain and Italy? Either way, what a wonderful trip!

  12. Good for you for making time for such a special trip! You always seem so ahead of the game and organized so it surely was a well deserved treat!

  13. Cindy says:

    Gaudi tells me Spain! Several others tell me Italy! Did you go anywhere else? My geography is not too sharp.

  14. Cindy says:

    Ooh, I forgot The Vatican City! which is not in any of those countries!

  15. Mimi says:

    Tapas says Spain – Florance says Italy — do not know my Spanish cities but the Italian at least were Rome, Venice, Florence and the bread basket of Italy

    Fun – pinch yourself often….

  16. Jocelyn says:

    Beautiful Italy. What incredible pictures. Thanks for sharing the beauty from your trip.

  17. Deb C. says:

    wow. Italy and Tuscany? SaaWEEt! Hard coming back, isn’t it?

  18. Debbie says:

    Congratulations on a fabulous trip! I’ve missed your blog.

  19. Jan says:

    How very fairy tale like!! Wow, amongst all that wonderful food and still loose weight! THAT is remarkable! So great you got to go~I did really miss your blogging though!

  20. Marian says:

    My goodness, you did a lot in a few weeks! From what I can tell you visited Seville, Granada, Barcelona, the French and Italian riviera, Nice, Monaco, down the Italian coast through Pisa to Rome, the Vatican, back up to Florence and through Tuscany to Venice.

    We want to do the same trip starting from Nice, but I thought it might be too much to do it all in one trip! Glad to see it is doable and that you had such a fabulous time!

  21. Estrella says:

    Ah has venido a Europa, España e Italia y has estado en mi ciudad Sevilla con la calor que hace jajajaja no recomendada en epoca de verano. Por lo que he visto has venido haciendo un tour Sevilla, Granada, Jaén , Barcelona alguna isla, Roma Venecia. La verdad que Europa es muy diferente a America en cuanto a paisajes cultura y comida. Espero que te hayas llevado una buena imagen de los europeos . Un saludo desde una calurosa Sevilla 44º. Estrella

  22. rosa says:

    has estado en Andalucia-Sevilla,Granada,la costa del sol
    Has visitado Barcelona y direccion a Italia,Ferrara Pisa,Roma,Venecia
    bonito viaje
    besos

  23. kimland says:

    I see Italy. I lived there a short time as a child and is on my list of place to return! Looks like you got around, good for you … I hope you followed the rule “when in rome!”

  24. Sharon Dimberg says:

    I think it is Italy. My oldest daughter spent the summer there last year, and the pictures you took reminded me of the ones she took. What wonderful memories you and Joel have!

  25. Diana says:

    Great photos – what a great trip!
    They say that you lose weight while vacationing in Italy and it must be true!!!

  26. Colleen says:

    I’m jealous!!! Gorgeous pics…thanks for sharing…now I’m totally depressed…LOL

  27. Gentrie says:

    Looks like Spain and Italy!!!! YEAH!!!! SOmeday we will make it there too! Congratulations!

  28. Patty says:

    Rome, Venice, Florence, Tuscany region… some of my favorite places. We actually bicycled all through Tuscany a few years ago. Did you find wonderful leathers in both Tuscany and Venice? I am envious of you!!

  29. Paula says:

    Spain (Barcelona), Monaco (Monte Carlo), Italy (Rome, Florence, Venice, Tuscany), Germany (Berlin) – How did you fit all of this into three weeks!! It must have been wonderful!

  30. Tracy says:

    I so want to go there!
    Glad you got to go and I’m tryin’ not to be jealous!

  31. Leslie Schmidt says:

    My daughter is dreaming of going to Italy, especially Tuscany. She would be so envious if I showed her these pictures. What a great trip for the two of you!

  32. Ann says:

    Glad the reason you haven’t posted lately was because you were on a wonderful trip to Italy!

  33. Italy? Is there a prize? haha

  34. Linda says:

    Hi–It looks like you were in Italy and Spain—what a wonderful vacation—–but–did you buy any fabric????? We need the rest of the story….

  35. Nivaira says:

    … espero que hayas disfrutado de la belleza de Barcelona, la ciudad dónde vivo!!!!.

    Congratulations for your blog!

  36. Truid says:

    Spain, definitely the Costa del – any of them! El Hambro? Barcelona oozes Guadi! Italy – heavenly Florence, Venice Piza, Rome, possibly even Verona’s collaseum too! Monte Carlo, a principality of it’s own, Germany Berlin. Wow what a mini tour of Europe! You need much longer! You missed so much! LOL Next time 🙂

  37. A Betty says:

    My memory and my geography fail. So you were in South Dakota huh? Missed your bloggin while you were in the badlands.

  38. Rita says:

    Ohh You have visited my country. I’m Italian just I’m from Sardinia. Do you know Sardinia? I love your blog!!!!!
    Rita

  39. Deb says:

    Yes, Italy! I’d love to go back one day.

  40. Miss Nancy says:

    My guess is that you visited Rome, Venice, and Tuscany in Italy and perhaps Barcelona, Spain. Gorgeous pictures! Looks like a wonderful whirlwind trip. What a wonderful opportunity.

    Have a super great day.

  41. Darlene B says:

    I thought Spain at first also. My daughter spent a semester there a year ago, and my DH and I went to visit her. My daughter visited that famous fountain with friends as well (I think it was in Rome?) Anyway, glad you had a great trip and WELCOME BACK!

  42. Danielle says:

    I was wondering why there were no posts! It seems you had quite the adventure in Italy! Can’t wait to hear more about it!

  43. Victoria says:

    I’m not guessing cuz I know… Great great photos! I hope you had a lovely trip… You didn’t miss much other than a week of rain and tornado watches near the lake…
    We did boat over and swim at your dock.. I’ll send you a picture… priceless…
    Welcome Home!
    bet Daisy had tons of wet kisses for you two!😉

  44. Sherrill says:

    Did you go on a Mediterranean cruise? We did that four years ago and saw pretty much everything you had pictured. SO pretty–and that church in Barcelona (forget the name) is WAY cool. And the Bridge of Sighs, the Trevi fountain, the coliseum. I WANNA GO BACK!! SO pretty. But we’re headed to England and Scotland in Aug. YAY! Thanks for the memories.

  45. Carol Lewis says:

    Rome of course, lucky you. Great pictures.

  46. carolinxe says:

    You’ve been in my country and in my city!! I live in Seville.
    I hope you had a great time in your trip, your pictures are great!!

  47. gladys says:

    Three Coins in a Fountain was all the hint I needed. I loved that movie! Glad you had a fabulous trip, have missed you posting.

  48. bernie says:

    Spain & Italy…..Did you do a Mediterranean Cruise? Oh, we did that 4 years ago and its still one of the greatest trips of all time. My Daughter is there on her honeymoon and today they are in Venice…..sigh

  49. Gillian says:

    I recognised Barcelona, Venice, Pisa and Florence. You were busy.

  50. barbara says:

    You lucky dogs! You certainly have worked hard enough to deserve this!

  51. Colleen says:

    You have been busy and Italy – what a lovely place to visit!

  52. Sandra Davidson says:

    I would guess Italy!!!!!!!!!!!

  53. Jodi E says:

    Looks like a long trip to pick up some olive oil!

    Looks like you had a wonderful time.

  54. Martine Poelman says:

    Love you’re pictures very much!!!

    Picture nr. 12 is the monument for Victor Emmanuel II (first king of unified Italy). The monument is also known as “altare della patria” (altar of the fatherland), but also as “the wedding cake”. it is a monument for the unification of Italy and its first king. Today the monument houses a museum.

  55. Patty Boyd says:

    Lovely photos. My husband and I went there many years ago. This sure brought back lots of memories. Thanks for sharing.

  56. Pingback: Page not found « Trends and Traditions

  57. Ines says:

    Espero que le gustara mi ciudad ¡¡¡¡

    Besos desde SEVILLA ¡¡¡¡

Leave a Reply

