“Fall-0ween”

Hey everyone!

Thanks to everyone who offered up the helpful hints to my last post.  I’m feeling better, but now my computer seems to have caught something.  It locks up every time I try to use it, so now it’s my computer’s turn to go to the doctor!  I sure hope it’s back to normal by next week, because I am going to need it every day next week.  Today I am stealing my husband’s computer, but my 15,000 photos are on my computer and blogging without much for photos is hard and (I think) quite boring!

So, are you wondering why I will seriously need my computer next week?  Starting next monday I’m participating in the “Fall-O-Ween” Designer Blog Hop!

 

Some of you may remember that last year we did the Cross-Country Christmas blog hop.  The concept is similar, we have just switched seasons to offer you different projects.  Just like last time, each day will feature a different designer, topic, and free project.  We are also offering lots of fun prizes, so you won’t want to miss it!

Here’s the run down of designers and the day they will be featured:

Sept. 27th : Gudrun – GE Designs
Sept. 28th : Sandy – Pieces from my heart
Sept. 29th : Roseann – Rosebud’s Cottage
Sept. 30th : Kari – New Leaf Stitches
Oct. 1st : Terry – Atkinson Designs
Oct. 2nd : Heather – Anka’s Treasures
Oct. 3rd : Terri – Whimsicals
Oct. 4th : Carrie – Miss Rosie’s Quilt Co.
Oct. 5th : Linda – Linda Lum DeBono Designs
Oct. 6th : Pat – Pat Sloan’s Designs
 
It all starts next Monday, so be sure to stop back then for all the fun and sharing! 
 
 
 
Speaking of sharing, I wanted to show you some fun things that a few people in the industry have shared with me just lately.
 
I spent last weekend teaching in Nebraska at a Retreat hosted by Julie Geiger, the owner of Prairie Point Junction Quilt shop.   After I presented a trunk show for the retreaters, Julie presented me with a couple hand-made gifts – these two zipper bags and two pin cushions, all made from our “Sanibel” fabric line that came out earlier this year.
 
 
 On the bigger bag, she used all the selvages to make up the body of the bag – very cute and clever!
 
 
On the small pincushions, she had to spray paint the buttons to get just the right color.  I’m so glad to hear when others have a fondness for finding “just the right color”.  Plus, my husband was in the room and it’s good for him to hear that that is a “normal” thing to do.  (He seems to think I’m a little (okay – a lot) overboard when it comes to color.  )
 
 It was also a treat to see how many samples that Julie and her staff have made out of my patterns and fabric.  This is just a small taste! (many with kits available from her shop)
 
 
When I got home from my trip, I had two packages waiting on the front porch for me.  The first was from Camille and inside was her new book. 
 
 
I’ve been waiting to see what’s inside . . .  and it’s full of Camille’s lovely photographs  – and of course, beautiful quilts.
 
 
Thanks Camille  for sharing.  I know how much work it is to put out a book like this, so congrats on the hard work and the finished book!  You should definitely celebrate and put your feet up😉
 
The other package I mentioned was labeled:  From “The one who is not Rosie” and contained this ~
 
 
 It’s Carrie Nelson’s new fabric line.  It’s her debut line, so that is also very exciting!  I always enjoy Carrie’s sense of humor (as you can see from her label) and now I get to enjoy her fabrics too.  Also in that package was something for Daisy ~
 
“Woofers”  heart-shaped doggie treats.  Daisy was so excited that she would hardly hold still for a picture!   We are both happy with our “treats” – so Thanks to Carrie (and Rosie) for the fun package.
 
That’s all for today folks.  I hope to see you all back here for the Blog Hop on Monday!!!
 

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Quilting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to “Fall-0ween”

  1. Jocelyn says:

    Can’t wait for the fun week ahead. I am also a big Miss Rosie (Carrie) fan and have enjoyed making many of her patterns. What fun that she has a line a fabric too!

  2. Sherri says:

    Can’t wait for the blog hop…and what fun gifts from Camille and Carrie!

  3. mariajhmom says:

    I want to see the new book and touch the fabric. Actually, I want to own both, but seeing them would be good enough for now!!!

  4. Julie says:

    Wow! Love seeing Quilts done with your patterns, Julie & her staff did a great job. Also, very creative using the bias for the little bag. Thanks also for sharing Camille’s book. I will be looking for it at local stores. I am anxious to follow
    Fall – O – Ween Blog Hop. Thanks to all of you for organizing it.

  5. Kris Tuttle says:

    I had friends who attended your retreat! I’m sure it was great. I’ve never been to the store in Cozad but I made one of her patterns a couple of years ago and it’s my favorite quilt to date!

  6. frummie says:

    Thanks for running this. It sounds like fun.

  7. Marcia says:

    Daisy is a darling. I know my doggies would have not done as well sitting still for the photo. Those fabrics are beautiful as well and it will be wonderful to see what you make with them.

  8. Kathleen says:

    I love the beautiful colors of fall….and love it when they show up in fabric. I can’t get enough reds, golds, and browns!

Leave a Reply

