Day 1 of the Fall-O-Ween Blog Hop

Hi Everyone!  Welcome to day 1 of the Fall-O-Ween Blog Hop.  There will be 10 days in the blog hop, each day featuring a different designer.  On their chosen day each designer will share a little bit about themselves and they will also share a free project with you.  We will also be having several great prizes that will be given away at the end of the blog hop.  If you would like to be entered into the drawing for prizes, all you have to do is comment on each designer’s blog some time during the blog hop.  Today, Gudrun is our featured designer, so be sure to visit her and leave a comment.

In addition to that, each day we will have a topic or theme.  Today’s theme is: 

C O L O R

 

I live in Minnesota and we are currently surrounded with the most amazing fall colors.  Fall is my favorite time of year in Minnesota, and the state turns the most beautiful shades of gold, orange and red.

All the colorful leaves reflect off the lakes, turning the water into golden fall colors.

The fields turn from their summer green into shades of brown and gold, highlighted with red sumac.

The sumac is probably my favorite of the fall colors.  It’s just such a brilliant, intense red.

The woods around our house begin to glow as all the leaves change to yellow.

Front steps are covered with fall mums and pumpkins.

 Can you see why I love the fall colors in Minnesota?  I could go on and on about the fall colors, but I will wrap this up so you have a chance to check out the other blogs participating in today’s hop.  See you back here tomorrow!

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Quilting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

85 Responses to Day 1 of the Fall-O-Ween Blog Hop

  1. nicolette says:

    Beautiful colours indeed! So inspiring!

  2. Jocelyn says:

    Beautiful! Even though I live in the deep south, I love to use the fall colors to warm up our home. Looking forward to a very fun week ahead!

  3. Gene Black says:

    I love the red of the sumac too. WE have a good bit of it in Alabama.

  4. madame samm says:

    Ohhhh and colour it is! It mirrors your life Heather, no wonder you have found “home” there..
    blessings madame samm

  5. LaurieC says:

    Such beautiful colors – one of my favorite flowers is the fall mum. I can never have enough of them.

  6. We are into spring here and I love the flowers that are just starting to bloom. Autumn to me is a chance to see vibrant reds, glorious goldsand awesome oranges. Thanks for the projects and inspirations

  7. Beth says:

    Love the colors of Fall!!!!

  8. Sue Bennett says:

    Love your theme. Fall picture are amazing.

  9. Kathy J says:

    Love the shade of red mums!

  10. Danielle says:

    Your photos are stunning! I love the intense fall colors as well, and everything about fall, too!

  11. Deb A says:

    Love fall, it’s my favorite time of the year. Beautiful colors and cooler weather!

  12. Paula W. says:

    I agree – fall is a favorite time of year for me. I love the colors.

  13. Big Rig John says:

    While orange is a great fall color – Red has to be my favorite when it comes to fall leaves. Thanks for sharing a little bit of fall from your corner of the world.

  14. Colleen says:

    WOW! What a beautifil color story!

  15. Melody says:

    Your photos are breath-taking. Your home town is amazing. Here in Melbourne we are heading into Spring.

  16. Susan says:

    I love the colors.

  17. What gorgeous scenes of colour…makes me a bit homesick as we don’t get the same vibrancy here in the UK.

  18. Grace says:

    Oh WOW, I love your photo of the trees along the shoreline. Just beautiful! I love all the colors of fall, and the way that they play off of each other. Also love the color of the mums too!

  19. Tiffaney says:

    Oh the fall colors refecting on the water looks wonderful!

  20. Janet says:

    Lovely web site! Great idea for blog hop.

  21. Marcia says:

    I love Minnesota! I grew up in Hastings! LOVE IT!

  22. Darlene B says:

    What beautiful pictures of autumn glory! Too bad that it signals the beginning of cold winter weather! dsb448@att.net

  23. Linda P. says:

    The sumac is beautiful. I also love it when the bittersweet starts to turn – maybe I just like saying that word! LOL

  24. Kelly Ann says:

    love your red mums…..

  25. Cindy C. says:

    Absolutely “Picutre Perfect”, Heather. There is just nothing more beautiful than “natural” beauty. Thank you for the color.
    Hugs, blessings and Happy Fall.

  26. Jean says:

    I just got back to Colo. from Duluth on Thursday. Every time I go back I realize what I love about the Fall, no hardwood trees in Colo. so only great golds and a few reds but Mn. is so full of color and when it is against Lake Superior it is always a grand event.

  27. Deb C says:

    Love it! I am in northern part of NY near the Adirondack Mountains. We have all the colors going on here also. Warm days, cool nights. Feels great.

  28. Dawn says:

    Love the colors of fall. Your pictures are beautiful!

  29. katie paxton says:

    Minnesota looks lovely .
    Waiting on some of that color here in the Ozarks.
    Excited about the blog hop and finding so many new sites.

  30. Angie Wood says:

    Wow what great pictures! By looking at these pictures I would love to visit Minnesota one day during the fall time of the year.

  31. Linda says:

    Fall is my favourite time of the year. THANKS for the lovely pics.

  32. Beth says:

    It’s still summer in Texas – I’m jealous. Send some fall to us!

  33. Wendy P says:

    I love red too! Looking forward to the whole week of fall and the related topics!

  34. Jess says:

    I love when the leaves change in the fall! It amazes me that one tree can make all those beautiful colors.

  35. What great colors and I love the reds and brights firey red oranges. Oh but look at that lucious yellow green! Mercy I love it all thanks for showing us your area it is a great place .
    Patchall

  36. Kathy K says:

    In Iowa we are waiting for the sumac and bittersweet to “shine” their colors. Can’t wait for this beautiful time of year. Your pictures speak a million words!!!!

  37. Lola says:

    Beautiful pics! Fall is just a breathtaking beautiful season and I love it!

  38. Pamela says:

    I just love your pictures – here on the Oregon coast we don’t get all the lovely color that I used to see in Colorado, but fall is still my favorite season! Very inspiring!

  39. Deb F says:

    Loving all these fall colors. We aren’t quite there yet in NY.

  40. Polly says:

    Our leaves here in nrthern VA are just starting to show some color… might not be as pretty as last year, though, as it’s been verrrry dry! Polly

  41. sandra says:

    Enjoyed your pictures of the beautiiful colors in Minnesota. Am going to enjoy this blog hop.

  42. Sandi says:

    Lovely photos, thanks for sharing them with us. We are getting some lovely reds out here on the coast this year in British Columbia.

  43. dawn says:

    The picture of the fall trees reflecting in the lake is amazing! Definitely a beautiful time of year!

  44. Mary says:

    Ooh! I’d love to get some of those red mums! All the colors are pretty–I’m trying to get some better variety in my mums.

  45. karen M says:

    Fall is my favorite time of the year. The colors are beautiful this time of the year. It’s also my favorite time to decorate the house. Thanks , Karen

  46. Barb Colvin says:

    I, too, love to see the fall colors reflected in the lakes. My favorite thing about fall is the way the leaves sound when one walks through them.

  47. You have beautiful flowers. We are in Indiana and about everything is brown. What a burst of color.

  48. the picture of the trees around the lake is just gorgeous. Golds are my absolute favorite and I seem to have a lot of fabrics that are gold. Do you have a lot of your favorite color?

  49. wbotw39 says:

    I really miss living in MN this time of year….Thanks for the pictures!

  50. Erika says:

    thanks for the delightful photos, I love fall and its colors

  51. Dawn says:

    I am enjoying day 1 already! Can’t wait for day2!

  52. Bonnie Nyquist says:

    Beautiful pictures! Lots to read on your site as usual, love the Blog Hops,thank you! Look forward to your project! Bonnie Nyquist bonniesline at aol dot com

  53. Liz A. says:

    Your photos of fall colors are just wonderful! I love the reflection of the trees on the water. And the mums, I have a big pot that same color sitting on my porch. I think I’m going to paint my front door that colro.

  54. Teresa says:

    What beautiful pictures! I love the second picture the best…the reflection in the water is amazing! Thanks for a fun blog hop!

    Teresa

  55. Jennifer says:

    Beautiful! Much more Autumny than what we see out here in California. Thanks for sharing!

  56. Penny DeMora says:

    Your photos are beautiful thank you for sharing them!

  57. Sandy says:

    Gorgeous! Fall is my favorite season too.

  58. SheilaC says:

    Beautiful fall colors! Thanks for sharing the pics!

    SheilaC

  59. Pam E. says:

    Minnesota’s my home state. I sure do miss the beautiful fall colors and sometimes even great fall weather!

  60. Cyndi says:

    Love your beautiful post today. Those photos are spectacular. I love Fall, but I don’t think we are going to be having a lot of color here in Ohio this year. We did not have much rain all summer and the leaves on the trees are now dying and just falling off. I’m really going to miss the beautiful shades of Fall! :o(

    Looking forward to the rest of the hop!

    XOXO,

    Cyndi

  61. sewjournal says:

    Thanks for sharing these lovely Autumn photos. In Sydney we don’t get such dramatic colours as very few of our trees are deciduous.

  62. Pat says:

    Beautiful colors!

  63. Chris says:

    Beautiful Fall pictures. I can feel the crisp air all the way here in Virginia…we are still pretty green but the temps are supposed to fall this weekend, hopefully we will see some color soon.

  64. Vivian says:

    The lake photo is beautiful. It would look great in an oil painting.

  65. I love the colors of autumn! I grew up in the midwest and your photo’s brought back many happy memories! Thank you!

  66. Kristy says:

    We are all surrounded by nature’s color inspiration.

  67. Nancy says:

    I agreee with you Heather, fall is my FAVORITE season of all, and I LOVE all the beautiful colors! The kids used to laugh at me because I was always commenting on the pretty colors of the trees when we were in the car!!

  68. Lovie Ball says:

    I have used nature to find colors for a quilt. The last one was inspired by a flower bed that was a blaze with color. And everything went together.

  69. Red, orange, golden yellow-all so pretty! Thanks for the photos for those of us that don’t have as much “fall”!

  70. Diane Young says:

    Your photos are certainly filled with beautiful colors. It stays green in Hawaii year round-I love that, too!

  71. Louise K. says:

    Thank you for the gorgeous photos! We are much farther south than you, so our fall colors will arrive later. Louise

  72. Laura Hayward says:

    Your photos are absolutely beautiful. This is my favorite time of year. Love the hop, too!!!!!

  73. Cindy Keery says:

    What beautiful fall colors!

  74. Leslie Schmidt says:

    Your pictures are gorgeous! I live on the east side of the Twin Cities, but I haven’t seen that much color yet. But as long as it isn’t snowing yet, I’ll be patient!

  75. Brenda says:

    I’ve been thinking about getting up to Fergus Falls, MN to visit the only two (out of11) surviving uncles on my mother’s side. I grew up in western ND, so i’m not used to seeing a lot of fall color. A bit more here in NE, but not a lot in Lincoln.

    Several years ago I had to regularly commute to Topeka, KS. Not a lot of trees on that highway, but one day the light was just right to bring out all of the different grass cclors.

    Another time I experienced a color shift. I was driving along on a 4-lane divided hightway, and the grass growing in the median was pretty dried up, a yellowish, gold color. The sun was setting and the ditch started to fill with shadows, and all of a sudden that grass turned the brightest green I’ve ever seen on grass. It had to be the blue rays from the sun combining with the yellows of the grass to make a green shadow!

    b/

  76. Paula Johnson says:

    I can’t emagine how you girls are ever going to get through all of these blogs but here is mine. Im in Canada and this is truly my favorite time of year and I love when all of you designers come out with your fall collections they are yummy. And I fell I would love a piece of all of them . Keep designing. lol.

  77. Jackie says:

    This country is so beautiful we really need to take a moment and enjoy the colours.

  78. carol broughton says:

    Your photos are so beautiful! We can’t wait for cooler temps here in FL!

  79. Alice says:

    With the changing of the season; the colors of fall are absolutely beautiful.

  80. Ilona says:

    the woods and the colors, just beautiful!

  81. Amanda says:

    I LOVE your pictures! I grew up in the Northwest on the border of ID and WA and always loved fall. Our town is in an area with a fairly arid climate and we have a lot of evergreens, but don’t have nearly as much color change in the fall. However, right out of high school I moved to Eastern PA and saw how utterly BEAUTIFUL fall was in an area with so many other kinds of trees. And the smell… it’s unlike anything else!

    Now 9 years later, I’m back home, and while it’s great to be here, I always get a little “homesick” for PA in the fall. Thanks for sharing some of your color!

    ~Amanda

Leave a Reply

