Day 8 of the Fall-O-Ween Blog Hop

Hello Blog Hoppers!  It’s day 8 of the hop and today’s featured designer is Carrie from Miss Rosie’s Quilt Company.  You can visit her here to see the fun project she has in store for us today!

Today’s topic is Traditions. 

A turkey dinner is always tradition come Thanksgiving – and that’s on both sides of the family, so we gets lots of turkey!

You’ve already heard about one of our other family traditions – apple pie day.  As you can see, we are introducing new generations to this tradition.

We also have a few fall birthdays in the family, so we always get together and celebrate.  In addition to celebrating the birthdays, we take a picture of the kids for Mom to use on her Christmas card.   You pretty much have to do your Christmas card photos early in Minnesota if you want them done outside.  There is no way we could subject these guys to the cold December weather (without covering up their cute outfits with winter coats.)  This is the shot from last year.  Aren’t they cute?  And like Kari said, they are so advanced!  I tell ya, Aunties can be just as bad as Grandmas! 

My absolute favorite tradition this time if year is getting together to see the nieces and nephews in their Halloween outfits.  Unfortunately, they don’t all live close by, so I miss out on seeing them all 😦

 In the beginning, there was just one ~  

(Carrie, if you thought my knitting post was unfair, you might want to avert your eyes now.   More cute nieces and nephews comin’ up!)

Then last year, we had four.  This year there will be one more.

Sometimes it goes well

Other times, not so much.

I love trying to get them to pronounce what they are dressed as.  Little Addi kept telling everyone she was a “Bum Bee”.

This little guy was a “Montey”.  I can’t wait for this year, because his older sister is going to be a “Titty” and he just loves “Titties”.  He says they are so soft and fun to play with.

Not that kind of titties.  Gesh!  This kind!!!   Only these innocent faces can get by with saying such things.

I might even have to get that on video, so I can tease him about it when he’s all grown up.  Yes, I might be that kind of Aunt.

We better move on to the other designers on the blog hop, before I get myself into more trouble. 

Gudrun – GE Designs
Terri – Whimsicals

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Family and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Day 8 of the Fall-O-Ween Blog Hop

  1. Sue P says:

    This is one blog post I’ll share with my husband. I’m still laughing!

  2. Cheryl says:

    What precious children! Your post made me laugh-thank you!

  3. Sandra says:

    Hehehe The titties story might be great for his wedding….

  4. Sandra says:

    It looks like your family has lots of special times together, your children will have wonderful memories!

  5. Darlene B says:

    What great fun! Love those cute outfits!

  6. dawn says:

    What a cute story! The kids are adorable and the costumes…too cute!

  7. Jocelyn says:

    What cute pictures. Yes these holidays are for the children. I love to see them enjoying themselves.

  8. Cindy C. says:

    ROFLOL, oh how you could use “that” to your advantage as he gets older….ROFLOL

    Happy Fall.

  9. Melody says:

    Extremely cute kids.

  10. Sandra Cudd says:

    What a cool auntie you are! Bet those little ones really adore you. Thanks for such cute pictures.

  11. Judy says:

    Love the pictures of the kids.

  12. Jackie says:

    As my boys were growing I’ve kept a small stash of cute pics that I’ve taken out when they told me they were getting engaged. I shared them with their future wives so that they knew what they were getting into. Laughs were held be all though my sons said that a few of the pics should be destroyed haha.

  13. Claire says:

    Titties, too funny! Reminds me of my son, when he was little he could not pronounce the ‘tr’ as in truck. He pronouned it ‘f”. And, we had a fire hall right behind out house. And, yep, you guessed it, every time he heard that siren he would announce to all that a fire .uck was on the way.

  14. cute story! and too cute pictures.

  15. Sandy K says:

    You are my kind of aunt….love the “tittie” story…you definitely have to embarass him sometime with that one!!

  16. Ilona says:

    gorgeous lil ones… too cute!!! and family traditions are a definite must!! so much fun!!
    Ilona

  17. What adorable costumes! The kids look so sweet!

  18. Kathleen says:

    Your photos are so precious. I always treasure the time I have with my nieces and nephews…special moments!

  19. wbotw39 says:

    Cute kids and adorable costumes

  20. Polly says:

    What beautiful children your family is blessed with!

  21. Carrie says:

    That is so not fair… but totally understandable and very, very welcome. You have got the hands-down cutest family ever.

    The pictures are gorgeous and I’m happy that you don’t play fair. 🙂

  22. Bridgid says:

    OOOOH how cute they are!!!!!

  23. VickiT says:

    OH MY GOSH! SUCH adorable little ones. And why do we always think that poor child in any picture when they are little tots and are sitting there crying like that adorable little pumpkin is just THE cutest of them all? LOL that poor child is upset and as women, it seems we always see a picture like that and say awwwwwwwwwww isn’t that just too cute? LOL So now you know exactly what I did when I scrolled and saw that poor baby crying. And I’m with you in being so sad at being too far away at Halloween time when you can’t see their cute little faces all painted up and their outfits ready to go out. My Granddaughter is 3 hrs away so we’ve never seen her dressed for Halloween either.😦

  24. Linda P. says:

    Kids are the absolute BEST!!! You all had the best Minnie Mouse ever!!! Love hearing all your stories!!

  25. Laura Hayward says:

    What a cute story and beautiful children.

  26. Bonnie Nyquist says:

    Such sweet little ones and beautiful pictures of al baking together!! Bonnie Nyquist bonniesline at aol dot com

  27. Paula Johnson says:

    The kids have the cutiest costumes. lucky you.

  28. Sandi says:

    I just love all the cute nephews and nieces!! So glad you shared!

  29. Wendy says:

    Thanks for sharing your memories and family photos!

  30. Jeanne says:

    Such cute kids and cute costumes. Enjoyed the cooking with the kids story too.

  31. It’s fun when they’re little and you can pretty much dress them up in the cutest thing possible!

    I have a pic around here of my youngest in a skunk costume… poor girl! But it was so cute!

  32. Kari says:

    So stinkin’ cute! It reminds me of our friend’s daughter who always wanted to come over and see my two “titties”. Of course, the same kind your nephew was talking about. Now that our friend’s daughter is 10, she doesn’t think the story is so funny anymore.

  33. Leslie Schmidt says:

    So cute! You don’t play fair. But thanks!

  34. Your family is adorable.

  35. sue singer says:

    please sign me up for your blog. It is wonderful

  36. Joyce Valley says:

    Thank you for sharing your family and pics. I’ve always loved your patterns…and your visits to our Guild in Fergus Falls. Good job!
    Joyce

  37. madame samm says:

    I have enjoyed every moment of the magic of all of you designers…it raised this season to heights that can only be imagined..thank you for the snapshots of your lives…
    warmest seasonal blessings madame samm

  38. Carol LaBella says:

    How adorable! Love all your designs and thank you for sharing pictures of your family. The children really warm my heart!

  39. Sharon S says:

    “A” for absolutely adorable! Lovethe little ones!

Leave a Reply

