Photo Walls

Hi Everyone!

I want to start off today by thanking everyone for their comments on my last post.  I enjoyed reading all the comments, especially those that identified with the “what not to do photos”!   I think many of us have had that happen, so it’s good to know why.   At the end of the post I offered a giveaway –  The winner chosen by the RNG was:

Marietta, who commented on Jan 4th, at 12:18 pm.  (Please e-mail me your shipping address so I can ship out your package!)

I may have mentioned in the past that I can’t do a post without a picture, so today I thought I’d share a little bit about photo walls.

Over the past few years, I seem to be collecting quite a collection of photos.  I also started noticing some really great display ideas in places like Pottery Barn, etc.  If only I had unlimited wall space, I could try them all!  Plus, most of my walls have quilts on them, so my space is even more limited.  Despite that, I have found a few places to display some of my favorite photos.

 First up, an idea to display all those Christmas cards that come this time of year

The photos are simply paper clipped to a red ribbon.

This larger grouping can be found in our basement TV room.

All the frames are brown and all the photos are sepia, just to add some unity to an otherwise busy grouping. 

The shelves are from Menards and were really inexpensive, compared to some I’ve seen.  (Just don’t try to sit or lean on them!)

In our office, we have this grouping.  The theme here is trip photos, so they MUST all be in full color!

 

I got the idea to include the wall words in the grouping from my SIL.   I thought this saying was perfect for these pictures!  I purchased it at a party my SIL had for Uppercase Living.  I also added some captions below each photo, listing the location and date.

This is the grouping my SIL put together using the wall words.

In addition to the wall words, I love the asymmetry of her arrangement.

One of my other favorite groupings can be found in my Mom’s house.

I love the mixture of knick knacks scattered among the photos.

This simple grouping is in my Mom’s bedroom.

The perfect place to brag about those grandkids! (though hard to photograph with all that glare!)

Large, vaulted walls are great places for both quilts and photo walls, as shown in my Mom’s sewing room.  (BTW, if you haven’t seen the post in that link, you should.  It has been one of my most popular blog post.  A follow-up post can be found here)

Above the ironing board is a great location for photos, as ironing can get boring and looking at photos keeps you entertained.

One last ideas . . .   This shot was taken in my booth at market last spring.  I used this standing display to show photos of projects from my latest book.  It requires less wall space and can be easily moved without leaving your wall full of nail holes.

That’s all for today. 

If you have any good ideas for photo wall, feel free to share them with me at hmulder@wecnet.com.

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Decorating, Family and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Photo Walls

  1. WendyMT says:

    Love all your wall art … I really do like your SIL’s words on the wall combined with the pictures. Would have never thought of that before but it’s beautiful in combination! Thank you for sharing!!

  2. Cathy Burk says:

    What a fun bunch of ideas! Thank you so much for posting this!

  3. 4dreamsr says:

    Beautiful ideas! Your rooms look so relaxed & inviting. Love your quilts too!

  4. Carol says:

    All of your pictures show a great way to show a group of pictures. They all look so pretty in all the rooms.

  5. Megan Z. says:

    Wow! I love the great ideas you shared today, thank you so much! I have been trying to incorporate pictures more into my interior design and these have given me a lot of great ideas. I especially love the words on the wall – that is a great idea! Beautiful pictures!

  6. Susan says:

    Thanks for sharing your ideas; I love looking at pictures of your home, as it is so gorgeous!

  7. Jocelyn says:

    Wow I love your photo walls. Beautifully done.

  8. ian says:

    Hi Heather, great post. You are definitely a lover of Photos. We have a section on our website with 7 things to consider when creating a Photowall. If anyone is thinking of putting up a Photowall it should give them a few things to think about

    Here is the link http://www.fridgi.com.au/Photowall-Tips.html

    Regards

    Ian

  9. Susan Muller says:

    Your blog is one of my favorites!!!!I read a lot of them too. I also LOVE your fabric and decorating ideas! Thanks for all the inspiration.

  10. Melissa Carver says:

    Love your family photo wall! Have been looking for some grouping ideas so can’t wait to try something similar. I have long adored your “sewing castle”. Absolutely love it and have used many of your ideas. Your blog is so fun and so inspiring. Thanks for sharing it!

  11. Michele says:

    Thanks for the picture inspiration. I love the wall words. My walls need a bit of a change, I’ll have to try out some of your ideas🙂. The colors in your home are beautiful!

  12. Linda P. says:

    Thank you, Heather – more fabulous ideas and peeks into your home. I always enjoy your posts!! Love those little shelves, I have a few and they sure help out when wall space is at a premium!! Hope you’re staying warm!!
    Happy New Year!!

  13. Ailsa says:

    Your home is lovely and thank you for sharing.

    I live in a small modern house in the UK and have very little wall space which upsets me as now I’ve started quilting I’ve no wall space to display quilts or indeed, photos in the way you are able to. Never mind, when I win the lottery (I’ve got to do it first’ I can buy a house with wall space.

  14. Katie says:

    Thank you for sharing your photo walls, they really add life and love to a room!

  15. Marcia Ahlbrand says:

    Interesting site you have … thank you for sharing!

  16. Jessica Roberts says:

    You have such a beautiful home! And the photo arrangements are perfect. Do you know what the paint colors are. I just love them.

Leave a Reply

