Congrats to Mom!

Hi Everyone!

Once again, the last two weeks have just flown by and I haven’t gotten a blog post done.  Where does the time go?  In the meatime, fall has turned Minnesota into a beautiful golden color.  I have been enjoying lots of walks up our driveway . . .

though not quite as many as I’d like, so I am also enjoying the fall glow from inside the studio.

I am working on several quilts that I will be able to show you soon, but in the meantime, I wanted to share some fun news and brag on my Mom for a while.

Last week I got a letter in the mail from American Patchwork and Quilting Magazine.  When I pulled out the letter, this was inside:

I recognized this quilt right away, as it is a design that my Mom submitted to the magazine over a year ago.  It was chosen to be in their calendar for 2012.

So, not only do I get to brag on Mom for making it in, I was thrilled to see it was used as the first photo that you see when you open their advertisement/letter.  How cool is that?

Here’s a better look at the quilt

The fabrics are from my Perennial Spice line, which has been out of print for about four years now (sorry). 

 

 I do have a more up-to-date fabric combination to show you as well.   When Mom tested the instructions, she made this version out of our Sanibel fabric.

So congrats Mom on having another design published!

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Family, Pattern of the Week, Quilting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Congrats to Mom!

  1. jane says:

    The quilt is lovely. Congratulations to you both!

  2. Jocelyn says:

    Congratulations to your Mom. You are both so very talented and creative!

  3. Carol T says:

    Congratulations to your Mom. I think I will buy their calendar. The trees here in Michigan are turning red and the weather is very warm.

  4. Karen says:

    Heather — you are so fortunate to share your love of design and quilting with your MOM !! Your post makes me happy – - happy that you have that relationship with your mom. My mom and I shared a love of people, cooking, baking, and giving… she was a very special person – I miss her. Thankfully I have my sister(s) to share my love of sewing, crafts and creativeness…

    Tell you mom congratulations from me… !
    Karen

  5. marsha nelson says:

    Congrats to your mom. Her work is outstanding. And your fall scape is just beautiful. No wonder you like to take walks.

  6. Chris says:

    Congratulations to your mom, her work is just beautiful! Glad you have been enjoying the fall weather. We just started getting cooler temps but no color change yet. Looking forward to your new quilts!!! BTW, my niece LOVED the Pinwheel Posies table runner!! Now I want to make one to keep. :)

  7. Chris says:

    Oops! Forgot to say that I showed the table runner to the gals at our local quilt shop, they LOVED your fabric and pattern! They do carry your patterns and even had a little trunk show of sorts last spring of some of your things. :) Just thought you’d like to know that we support you here in Virginia. :)

  8. Linda P. says:

    How wonderful!!! Congrats to your mom!! You will have to cut out the photo and tape it to each month – haha! just kidding!! I loved the quilt the first time I saw it.
    Can’t wait for market so we can see all you’ve really been up to. I love all your designs!

  9. Stephanie Neumann says:

    Congrats to your mom! It looks liek the apple didn’t fall far from the tree in your family. I am definitely buying that calendar! And hopefully someday my girls will pick up my love of quilting. Althought I must admit I didn’t start quilting until olong after my mom was gone even though she was an avid quilter!

  10. Lesley says:

    What a wonderful quilt…and beautiful in both fabric lines…a proud day for you both…congrats!

  11. Megan says:

    Hope all is well!!

  12. Diane R. says:

    Missing your blog — hope it’s just because you’re busy creating fabulous things!

  13. Anna says:

    I follow your blog and have really missed you. I too hope all is well. Your in my thoughts.

  14. Linda P. says:

    Really missing you and your blog, Heather, hope all is well in your neck of the woods. I know you will have something wonderful to show us soon. Didn’t get good photos of your projects from Market – looking forward to them. Hope all is well with the rest of the family also. xo

  15. Audrey Henry says:

    Is there a pattern available to buy for the quilt that your mom designed?

Leave a Reply

