Vonica

Today I have a finished knitting project to share with you – And no I didn’t just finish this since having the baby.  In fact it was finished the week before he was born and I have just finally gotten a few pictures taken!  Carter is almost 4 weeks now, so that is pretty bad.  But, it’s also been way too hot in MN to even think about donning a sweater.  The temps are down into the 80’s now, so it’s a little better now.

The sweater is called Vonica.  It was designed by Bonnie Marie Burns of Chic Knits.

The construction of the sweater was really interested.  It’s a top town pattern and there are no seams – Not even to attach the collar or sleeves.  Bonnie has a unique way of setting in the sleeve that I think is really clever.  I haven’t seen the technique used in any of the other patterns I have knit.

This shot kind of shows you how the collar wraps neatly around the back of the neck. You have to know how to do a provisional cast-on to be able to do it, but that isn’t hard and is well worth knowing to be able to do the construction seamlessly as written.

The yarn is 100 % bamboo so it has wonderful weight and drapes beautifully.  I have noticed that it is pretty stretchy and I am curious to see if that will be a problem with this open lace pattern.  I seem to remember hearing that bamboo does stretch quite a bit, so that might become a problem (I have heard that bamboo blends are much better).  I have knit with this yarn before and it didn’t seem to be a problem, so we will have to wait and see.  The name of the yarn is Eden by Madil.

You can find my Ravelry link here.

That’s all for now.  I’ll be back shortly with a finished quilt!

 

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Vonica

  1. Denny Aleckson says:

    Just happended to be on here! Love it! The color is GREAT!!!! Thanks for sharing it with us! Can’t wait to see the finished quilt too!!! Have a GOOD day!

  2. Very pretty Heather! It’s your color too.

  3. Judy says:

    Beautiful sweater & you look FANTASTIC. Congratulations on your little bundle of joy !!

  4. Christine Thomas says:

    You did NOT just have a baby 4 weeks ago…look at you. Slender and svelte and all. And what? No pics of Carter? I think the sweater is beautiful but I don’t knit. So I’m itching to see the baby.🙂 Truly, the sweater and lacey pattern are gorgeous. Your work is impeccable.

  5. Barb Larson/Mpls. says:

    I love so many of the sweaters that you knit. I’m a basic/beginner knitter who wants to advance. Do you have a recommendation for a beginner sweater? Also, congratulations on your baby!!! Watch out though – they grow really, really, really fast. My babies turn 10 and 13 this summer. So enjoy each and every moment.

  6. marsha nelson says:

    Look how skinny you are!! The sweater is so beautiful as are all of them. Can’t wait to see your quilt.

  7. Gorgeous color and beautiful sweater! I’m not sure how you could wear it, even at 80º! And yes, you do look marvelous!

  8. Anne Allen says:

    Very cute sweater and you look great!

  9. MerryK says:

    I was just thinking the same thing. You did not just have a baby 4 weeks ago! You look fabulous. Enjoy that little one.

  10. sequana says:

    Wasn’t it fun to type “since having the baby?”

  11. Patty D says:

    Beautiful!

  12. Chris says:

    Ditto to all the above comments!!

  13. Chris says:

    I love seeing your knitting projects and it has inspired me to knit again which I haven’t done in a number of years so keep posting them. I love your son’s name too as it is my 5yo grandson’s name! My Carter is a sweetie as I know yours must be too. Congratulations.c

  14. Such a beautiful sweater. I wish my knitting skills went beyond a simple scarf so I could do something like this. Congratulations on your baby! You look great!

  15. Cloud Mom says:

    I could hardly focus on the beautiful sweater…you look so good after having that baby 4 weeks ago!

  16. ColleenM says:

    The sweater is beautiful. And seriously, my stomach was never that flat even before my three kids!! You look fantastic…keep cool it’s supposed to keep warming up here in MN this week.

  17. Jeanne says:

    Your sweater is absolutely gorgeous!

  18. Deb Praus says:

    Wonderful sweater but where is Carter? LOL

  19. Jandy says:

    You look great, and the sweater is beautiful, but could you move over a bit, I love the quilt and fabric in the background, they are wonderful.

  20. Megan Z. says:

    I really like that sweater, the color and the drape are pretty. I am signed up to take a Beginning Knitting class next month at a nearby knitting store and am really excited! It would be so nice to make some of the beautiful sweaters I see in magazines and books … right now I’m only a scarf knitter and don’t even know how to purl (yikes!) Your knitting posts are so inspiring, thanks for sharing!! p.s. It’s hard to believe Carter is 4 weeks old, hope he had a wonderful first 4th of July🙂

  21. Tina McNamara says:

    The sweater is beautiful and you surely don’t look like you have just had a baby. I am still carrying baby fat from 21 yrs ago. ;->

  22. Anne Heidi says:

    Your jacket is really pretty, sounds like a very interresting pattern the way it is knit🙂

  23. Mary Ann says:

    Gorgeous sweater and the color is amazing! You look terrific Heather, next time show us Carter on the quilt please!

  24. Linda P says:

    Love, love, love!! It sure drapes nice. I’m envious! I also like the color!

  25. Jane Wimmer says:

    Heather, this sweater is beautiful. You really have a god given talent!!!!

  26. Rose E. Glasses says:

    I have been gone longer than I thought! i missed the last 6 weeks of posting. Summer activities and our family has been home visiting Life changes!! CONGRATS to the whole family ON THE NEW BABY BOY! The sweater was beautiful to see too, but that baby is way adorable. Again, congrats.

  27. Jean Ruter says:

    The sweater is great. I gave up knitting for myself when my Icelandic sweater was too small after all the hours invested. Kudoos to you.

Leave a Reply

