Quilt Market 2013

Joel and I are back from quilt market!  The bags are unpacked, the laundry is done, and we have all the orders shipped.   Unfortunately the house and office are a disaster and we could both use some sleep.  Nonetheless, it’s great to be back home.

I just have a few pictures to share.  They aren’t the best, as I didn’t bring my good camera.  The iphone is SO much lighter to haul around!

Joel and I in our booth  – As usual, he was a huge help.  Not only does he come in handy when you need the heavy stuff moved or you need something cute to look at besides quilts, but he can also demo any block in the booth.  Just don’t ask him what a Y-seam is.  (yes, a quilt shop owner stumped him.  But just for the record, I don’t think you will ever find a Y-seam in one of my patterns).

iphone 5-20-13 082

As many of you know, I design fabrics for Henry Glass.  As soon as my market crate is back, I will show you the newest line I have coming out from them.

iphone 5-20-13 089

The Henry Glass booth had a whole new design this year, complete with demos, stewardesses, passports, and a whole new look.

Photo: 59 mins. before we draw three lucky winners Each will win one of three pieces of luggage filled with fabric and goodies. #quiltmarket

Fellow Henry Glass designers Jill Finley and Linda Lum DeBono worked hard coming up with all the new ideas.

iphone 5-20-13 078

There were lots of Minnesota designers at market again this year.  I got pictures of a few of their booths –

Gudrun’s booth, from GE Designs

iphone 5-20-13 027

Linda’s booth with her famous critters, from Brandywine Designs

iphone 5-20-13 054 copy

Terry from Atkinson Designs, along with the gals from The Granary.

iphone 5-20-13 097

A few other favorite booths and designers:

Tula Pink – Such a vibrant booth and the machine quilting on her quilts was amazing!

iphone 5-20-13 032

The booth by Emily Herrick  from Crazy Old Ladies, featuring her new line Technicolor.

iphone 5-20-13 058

The gals from Abby Lane – They had just finished up those pillows to the left using my Summer House line.

iphone 5-20-13 067

A few favorite Moda Deisgners:

Bonnie and Camille and their new line Scrumptious

iphone 5-20-13 070

Fig Tree’s booth and their new line Honeysweet

iphone 5-20-13 072

Sandy Gervais and her new line SoHo Chic.  I love the turquoise in this line.

iphone 5-20-13 011

We also enjoyed lots of fun meals after market was done for the day –

Frank’s Noodle House – soon to be featured on one of Guy Fieri’s upcoming shows.

iphone 5-20-13 013

A night at Jake’s Seafood with some of the Henry Glass people.  Karen (my design director) and Jill (of Jillily Studios) ordered the Bag of Chocolate for dessert, which was show stopper.  It literally was a bag of made of chocolate ganache, filled with white chocolate mousse and fresh berries!!  Joel and I are going to try to figure out how to make this one at home!

Photo: Dessert ! Bag of Chocolate!

Portland’s famous Voodoo Doughnuts – which we didn’t even have to stand in line for.  They were delivered to us by Palmer Printing (they print our books and patterns)

iphone 5-20-13 095

But the best part, coming home to this little guy!

iphone 5-20-13 100

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Quilting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Quilt Market 2013

  1. Teri says:

    It must have been so hard to leave something that cute!

  2. Julie Wurzer says:

    Nice pictures! You almost make me miss not vending . . . . I could not tear myself away from Lewie and I wasn’t sure Dad could handle it alone for 5 days. HA!

  3. Kristi says:

    Great pictures of Market and your cute family! I live in Portland so I will have to go to Jake’s for that bag of chocolate. Thanks for all the quilt inspiration!

  4. Melissa says:

    Your booth looks awesome and I must say that desert looks divine!

  5. Mary Ann says:

    Thanks for the great photos Heather. I loved reading about quilt market from the different blog sights. Your little guy is sure getting big. Sooooooooo cute!

  6. Linda P says:

    Your booth looked super, but I can only imagine how hard it was to be away from that sweet, precious face!! Home is always best!
    I finished my top of “Hopscotch”, It isn’t quilted yet, but will try and post it on your FB page (not sure where to send it). I added 2 more rows so it would fit a queen and still keep the pattern, and it’s huge!! I didn’t have all the fabrics but it is similar with the blue border instead of the red. I love it, and will give you credit for design on the back. L. xo

  7. Bev says:

    Thanks for sharing! Your booth looks great and your little family is adorable!

    Cheery wave from
    Bev

  8. Kim Rhody says:

    Thanks for sharing all the pictures from market and your family. I can’t imagine what it must be like being around all those beautiful quilts. I can’t wait to get your new book!

    Kim

  9. aradhana says:

    Love the pictures.

  10. Jocelyn says:

    Thanks for sharing the great pictures from Market. It always looks so wonderful. But I’m sure you were really glad to come home to your little cutie. What a smile🙂

  11. Jean says:

    Thanks for the peak at market and welcome home.

  12. Carla says:

    Market was wonderful! It was a treat to meet you and I am after that ruler. Your little man is adorable : )

  13. rosa says:

    wonderful pics and your booth looks fabulous.Carter is adorable!!

  14. Jan says:

    Your booth is just fabulous and seriously, the best one I have seen online! How very nice to have Joel help you like that and to be interested and involved! LOVE that!

  15. Jeanna says:

    Awesome booth and a beautiful family. I’ve enjoyed making some of your pillows and shams. Looking forward to trying a quilt pattern…something simple as I am not a very experienced quilter…yet🙂

  16. Bar says:

    Thanks for sharing all the pictures…..loved seeing all the different booths!! The picture of your little guy is priceless!!

  17. Chookyblue says:

    Your booth looks great….will your books and rulers be available in Australia?
    Also where are they available online?

Leave a Reply

