A Few Finished Objects

Has it really been two weeks already since I blogged last?

I can’t believe how the time flies – It seems like I blink – and poof!  There goes two weeks.  I can hardly remember what I’ve all been up to – other than painting up a new fabric line and trying to keep up with Carter.  He is really into everything and wanting all the things he can’t have.  The poor little guy gets told no at every turn  . . .

DSC_7098

I mean seriously, does that face not look like total trouble?  And he lives up to that t-shirt.  He can destroy our living area in less time than it takes me to make supper.  Somehow, before and after pictures of a destroyed living room don’t make for interesting blog pictures . . .oh well, I guess I will just show you a couple finished knits instead.

DSC_7115

The first item is a scarf.  For some reason, I always feel I should be making more scarves (instead of spending double or triple the time on a sweater).  I can’t explain it, but for some reason, when I knit scarves, the time seems to just drag by.

DSC_7121

This one wasn’t as bad as some – partly because I made it half the width the pattern called for, but also because every six rows or so you get to unravel the dropped stitch.  That’s what makes the open line of stitches in the scarf.

DSC_7118

The yarn looked like this when I bought it, so it’s always interesting to see how different it looks in the finished item.

DSC_4507

You can find the details here, on Ravelry.

DSC_4512

The next item is not one that I am thrilled with.  In fact, I haven’t even worn it yet.   I knew half way through the project that I was going to run out of yarn, so I ordered more and it came such a different dye lot that it became something else.  I ended up having to make do with the yarn I had, so the vest turned out differently than it was supposed to.

DSC_6478

This is what the non-matching yarn became – as you can see, the yarns look nothing alike.  Even though they came from the same store and have the same name.  That is just the reality of hand-dyed yarn, I guess.

DSC_1425

The original pattern for the wrap was supposed to look like this –

I thought it was fun and different.  I loved the cable pattern and the collar is really pretty.  I ended up having to make the collar smaller to make up for not having enough yarn.

DSC_6453 2

There are several ways you can wear it, depending on where you put the fastener.

DSC_6477

DSC_6485

It was really easy to make.  You can see from this picture how it’s constructed.  I think I may have to make another one – this time as the pattern is written.

DSC_6495

You can find my Ravelry link by clicking here.

That’s all for today.  Hopefully I can come up with something more exciting to blog about soon!

 

 

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to A Few Finished Objects

  1. Jocelyn says:

    You are such a great knitter! I am just getting into knitting, and so far I love it!! Nothing fancy, but I just love the peace I feel when I sit and knit.

  2. nanakaren62 says:

    Carter is SO adorable. I simply cannot believe he destroys rooms! LOLOL. Yes, I remember how most little guys are at this age. They grow too fast. Enjoy these special times with him.

    Your knitting is exquisite! The yarn you used are wonderful. I need to get out of “my box” and use some special yarns like that. Summertime is a great time to make scarves (and dishcloths).

    I will check out your Ravelry site soon.

    I need to post pictures of some of my projects on my blog soon. Made some little pink things for a special baby girl born July 4th.

    Soon, I’ll be making shawls for donation (belong to a prayer shawl group). As lots of the gals don’t like to work on larger things in the summer (me included), we have been on hiatus since June and meet again in mid Sept. I miss my knitting friends.

    Have a wonderful day.

    P.S. I’ll post some knitted things on my blog soon (I am SO behind there). The link to it is: nanakarenknits.blogspot.com

    Karen Lange

  3. Candie says:

    I love how that vest comes together and how cute it is. I like your improvised pattern far better than the original. As always your little guy is the cutest little bug! Take care and enjoy your time!

  4. Karen says:

    Heather the projects are awesome… And that smile on your son tells the whole rest of the story!

  5. I love that wrap the way it turned out for you. I looks like a really “dressy” top. I can understand how you might be disappointed though, it is nothing like the original,

  6. Nancy Wilson says:

    Your vest is gorgeous! I like it better than the pattern!

  7. Cindy Martin says:

    I like the original sweater version and your amended vest version. They are very different looking. I love them both!

  8. I think the vest you came up with is absolutely to die for! Not only is the color great, but your design, IMHO, goes far beyond the original. So versatile and practical. Not thrilled with it, eh? I`ll buy it off you, hehehe! And Carter just melts my heart. OMG, what a cutie!! What a fun post!

  9. Mary Jean Price says:

    I love your vest….it’s much nicer than the original! Carter is such a cutie!

  10. Kate says:

    Love that vest, looks great as it is without the extra collar bit!

  11. pam says:

    I always enjoy the knitting posts. You have so many pretty sweaters and the weather to wear them in. You always look so cute!

  12. Julie says:

    I have been eyeing up a scarf pattern similar to the one you have just made. That vest is a beautiful colour – still looks great though.

  13. Tina McNamara says:

    Well, I love the vest how you knitted it much better than the pattern. It is amazing how you can change up the patterns. Carter is adorable and looks like he is all boy.

  14. Amy says:

    The vest looks great as it is. I’d wear it in a heartbeat. And the scarf is really nice. Your knitting is beautiful.

  15. So talented! The art of your knitting, designing and working with what materials you had to make such a beautiful textile to wear…. and Carter, sounds like he follows in your foot steps, in his living room re-design skills….he works fast, with materials at hand and creatively.

  16. ColleenM says:

    Carter is so cute!! Your vest is gorgeous, I love it with the short collar and it looks fantastic on you.

  17. Tina says:

    I think that vest is awesome! It looks terrific on you.

  18. Marsha Nelson says:

    Thanks for sharing your pictures. I really like the vest the way it is better than the pattern. It looks great on you. Carter’s little teeth are so cute.

  19. glenda says:

    I love your scarves! The sweater is so beautiful too! You are so incredibly talented.
    Love the pic of your little man too.

  20. Those yarns really are different! Wow! Well, I think your adaptation of the sweater is beautiful on you!

  21. Julie Delaney says:

    Hi Heather, first of all, I can’t believe how much you get done with a cutie like Carter☺all your knitting wow, any way I love your long scarf can’t wait till your class at Grubers so I can find some yarn, hopefully I can find the pattern. And I love peaches, ate a whole lug myself this summer and have made your beehives a lot!!! What a fun and easy way to make a pie!!! Thank you, and see you next month. They haven’t sent out a material list yet so hopefully they will let us know what we need for that Saturday. We’re on our way to cold spring to babysit again today, th drive is getting so fast and easy😀have a good day.

    Sent from my iPad

  22. JS says:

    I LOVE this vest! I think it is perfect just how it is and it looks great on you too!

  23. Emily says:

    I LOVE that vest! What did you use for the closure? It doesn’t look like a button.

  24. I like both versions of the vest! I didn’t see whose pattern it was….? The closure was so clever too. May I ask for the source of that also? Suzanne

    • The pattern is called Adam’s Ribs Cap-Sleeve Wrap by Carol Sunday. The closure is just a shawl pin. I got it years ago, so I don’t remember which yarn shop I purchased it at. Sorry!

Leave a Reply

