New Fabrics

Today is a fun day for me – I get to introduce my next fabric line!  It’s called Home for Harvest.  I have wanted to do a fall fabric line for a long time.  I love fall quilts, as you may have already seen on my blog in the past (click here).  Many of my fall quilts look too dark for my house now, so I really need to make a whole new batch of fall quilts.  The problem was, I could never find any fall fabric lines in the brighter colors.  I ended up just pulling things from my stash when I made this quilt last year:

harvest time final cover

 

These colors became the inspiration for that fall fabric line I had been wanting to do.  I also wanted the line to work for both traditional and modern quilters, just like this quilt does.

DSC_7958 adj

 

I worked on the line early this summer and my design director Karen got it into production right away so we could show it at Fall Quilt Market.  With market this weekend, I now have permission to share a sneak peek at the prints from the line.  This is what the cover of the sales card looks like

Home for Harvest Pg 1B

 

Inside that cover are the images of the CAD drawings of all the prints

Home for Harvest Pg 2 Home for Harvest Pg 3

Home for Harvest Pg 4

There is also a panel print with the line.  This is something that Henry Glass has encouraged me to add to my lines.  Honestly, my first thought was, I don’t usually use panels.   My design director took the artwork from my Here Fishy line and made a panel for me, just to show me how it would work.  It ended up being my favorite part of the line!   (you can see that panel here).  Since then I have been trying to work one in.  It helps them sell the line and shows how all the prints can be used together.

Home for Harvest Pg 1 psd

The free project shows how I envision using the panel.  (The free project is on the cover of the sales card, which is a few images above)

Home for Harvest Pg 3B

I received the first set of strike-offs, which gives me a little glimpse of what it will look like on fabric.  At this stage, there are still a lot of changes to be made and the colors all have to be tweaked, but I thought I would share a peek at them anyways.

DSC_3279 adj

 

DSC_3278 adj

The line is previewing at Quilt Market this weekend.  If you are a shop owner, please stop by the Henry Glass booth to preview the line!  Click here to view the images on Henry Glass’s website or to download the free project.  The line will be available in shops next May.

Thanks for stopping by!

 

 

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Fabric Trends, Quilting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to New Fabrics

  1. deborah a. manning says:

    LOVE,LOVE the new Fall Pattern and the Colors!! Simply Beautiful. I LOVE your work, Heather.

  2. pam in illinois says:

    I LIKE IT ! CAN’T WAIT FOR IT TO HIT THE SHOPS.

    OH IT IS NATIONAL TYPE IN CAPS DAY. 🙂

  3. Laurie says:

    I love the new line. The fresh colors for fall are a real treat! Can’t wait to see it in the stores!

  4. Mary Ann says:

    I like all of the new line. Can’t wait to see it in a quilt shop.

  5. VickiT says:

    Heather I love it. Great colors for Fall.

  6. Sheri says:

    Love, love, love them! I need them now!!!!!!

  7. Judith says:

    Love, love the colors!!!

  8. Shelly J says:

    Love the new fall line, especially the panel. Congratulations on another great collection!

  9. Kaye M. says:

    Your new fabric line is wonderful, I love the saturated colors! The free pattern is so pretty, I love the brown diagonal lines created by the little squares!

  10. Cecilia says:

    These are beautiful! I love the colors and prints.

  11. Lynda Becker says:

    Wonderful colors, really want to see them in the store.

  12. Susan P says:

    This line is absolutely beautiful. Looking forward to their availability!

  13. Melanie D says:

    Great colors!

  14. Frankie says:

    This is a beautiful fall line! This will be wonderful to work with and I can’t wait!

  15. Karen Wolter says:

    love your new fall line and the pattern that was created to work with panel is great. can’t wait to see them in stores

  16. Jane eilderts says:

    I LOVE this new line!! I am a bright color person too! Thanks for sharing!

  17. ConnieG says:

    I do not normally like “Fall fabrics” but I Love this line…thanks!! Looking forward to seeing it in my quilt shop!

  18. Shelly Barker says:

    Love the greys! Cannot wait to see what you put together with these!

  19. grandykandy says:

    This is GORGEOUS!! I have typically not been a fan of fall fabrics because they are so dreary. I love yours, I can hardly wait to get a jelly roll & layer cake. Good job and thanks for wonderful colors and prints. Be Blessed!!

  20. Polly Blank says:

    I’m an “orange” person, even when it wasn’t used very much. I really, really like your new line of fabric. See the orange does “go with” other colors besides black. haha. I love your designs.

  21. Sharon W says:

    I love this live. Wish it was available right now.

  22. Noela says:

    Love this line, it is gorgeous.

  23. Lisa says:

    I love it! Can’t wait to get some in my stash!

  24. Carol Jacobs says:

    I am an orange person, too. Now the hard part is deciding which of the fabrics to buy to go with the orange.

  25. lepowell says:

    What awesomeness and fun fabric!! I’ve never been too keen on a panel either, but have learned to use a few for a quickie or to cut up as you did. Great job on bringing the new line, with a new baby!!

  26. Debra says:

    Love the colors, especially the deep, rich, brown paired with aqua. Looking forward to having these fabrics in my house.

  27. Tina McNamara says:

    Heather, Love the fabrics, Love the panel. Can’t wait for it to come out in May!

  28. ColleenM says:

    Love the colors and the prints!

  29. Jill R says:

    Love the blues and oranges, especially the blue with leaves and acorns. Can’t wait!

  30. As someone who has probably far too many quilts of blue, yellow, and green, I find this line absolutely inspiring.

  31. k says:

    It’s such a pretty line. I’ll be on the lookout for it.

  32. Cindy Hagen says:

    I absolutely love it-can’t wait til next May!

Leave a Reply

