Plans for 2015

So . . .  I’m about 12 days late in getting to my plans for 2015.  I want to share a bit about what is coming here on the blog this year and why I am planning a few changes.

First of all, my life has changed a little (or a lot) since I started blogging.  I no longer have the time to devout to it that I once did.  Two little boys will do that to you!  That means that I also don’t have time to sit and read other blogs like I used to.  Does anyone else feel this way?

Secondly, I often find that I have a little something to say, but it isn’t enough for a blog post.  Or I don’t have time to take a photo, load it onto the computer, go through all the steps to write a post and publish it.

 

So what’s the solution?  What is my new favorite social media?  Instagram.

 

That doesn’t mean that I am going to quit blogging.  I am just going to save the blogging for when I have a topic that requires a few pictures and text (just like I have been doing).  But, I am also going to start posting on Instagram to keep in touch with everybody in between blog posts.

So why Instagram?

1.  It’s easy to check with my phone.  I don’t need to have time to sit down at the computer to see what’s going on.  It’s accessible anywhere – including my bed (It’s my new reading material before bed) and during those middle of the night feedings!

2.  It’s really quick to do a post – Just one photo and a bit of text.  I can do it right from my phone.  In fact, I just did one while Carter was in the bathtub.  Easy Peasy.

3.  Readers can still post comments.  Readers can also post photos using hashtags.  This is great for doing quilt-alongs and things like that.  I also allows me to see what you are making with my patterns, so that will be really fun for me. (If you want me to see what you are doing, just use the hashtag #ankastreasures.)

4. Instagram will also post to Facebook, so for those of you who don’t want to add another social media, you can still see what I am posting.  I have found that I like Instagram much better, so I am checking that more often.

 

Speaking of quilt-alongs, that is another reason why I am going to start posting on Instagram.  I have several things planned and I am hoping some of you will join along.  Nothing that I am doing will be a big time commitment, they will mostly be small projects like runners.  I will be posting hints on fabric selection, talk about techniques used in the pattern, etc.  My hope is to help provide some helpful hints that people can learn from.   Some of the things that I have gotten the most positive feedback from in the past have been my tutorials (see the tab across the top header).  Even if you don’t join in the quilt along, you may enjoy following along.  I also plan to do some giveaways, with the winners chosen from those posting photos and participating in the quilt along.   Again, it’s nothing huge, but I’m hoping we will have fun with it.

 

So what do you think?  Is there anything you would like to hear more about on the blog this year?  Are any of you recent Instagram converts?  Your comments mean a lot to me, so feel free to share your thoughts.

 

If you would like to follow my Instagram account, click here.  You can click “follow” to follow my account.  Take a look around Instagram and see what you think.  I only have a few photos up, but there will be more.  And speaking of photos, I had to include at least one in this post!

trunk show collage

 

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Quilting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Plans for 2015

  1. Jane says:

    I just started insagram about a month ago and feel just as you do! Snap a pic, add a word or two and share. I love it. Blogging is wonderful but I am going to once a week, if I have something to share. I did not like the pressure to blog! I am not that interesting! I will enjoy following you, thanks for this post.

  2. I agree – converted to Instagram and love how fast and easy it is to post and follow/comment – I use my blog mostly as a record for me of the things that I have done. Look forward to following you on Instagram.

  3. Hi Heather! I think you made a good decision. In just the last month I have been exploring Instagram, and like you, it is my new bedtime “reading material”. I am hooked, but haven’t posted anything yet. I do enjoy blogging, but not its ball-and-chain pressure of regular posts. I’m looking forward to seeing everything the new year brings! Best, Cathy

  4. Judy Brill says:

    I tried to install instagram on my tablet and received the message that my device is not compatable. I am bummed out as I enjoy your posts and especially pictures and antics of you adorable boys, they remind me of when my now two teenage grandsons were that age. They bring a smile to my face.

    Sent from my NOOK

  5. Susan says:

    I’ve been on Instagram a while, and it’s now my favorite form of social media. It’s like mini-blogging! And I’m so so so glad you’re there now too! Heading over to follow you now!

  6. Jocelyn says:

    My daughter got me started on Instagram when she traveled to Australia. It’s been a great way to keep up and find new friends. We bought a travel trailer last summer so that plus the quilting has been my main interest with Instagram. I am following you and I’d love for you to follow me😉
    happycottagequilter

  7. Jean says:

    I have taken the plunge into Instagram. No opinion yet. I always appreciate your tutorials, and pictures of cute little boys, and Joel of course!

  8. Jodi says:

    I really like Instagram and tend to check it everyday. It is quick and if I see something I want more info about I check out the blog post.

  9. Karen Wolter says:

    will have to get an instagram account then can follow. have old phone, may have to get a newer one.

  10. dawn at firstlightdesigns says:

    Gosh, am I the only one who does NOT welcome the exodus of bloggers to Instagram? Over the last year I have been very disappointed to see some of my favorite bloggers drift away from their blogs. I understand the appeal of Instagram in terms of immediacy but one of the reasons I enjoy blogs so much is that I get to read about what happens behind the scenes of a photo — the thought processes, fabric decisions, successes and failures, words of advice. You just don’t get that on a small phone screen.

    • Thanks for your honesty. I’m sure if my favorite bloggers quit blogging, I would be disappointed too. I enjoy the bloggers who have added a few Instagram posts in between blog posts. And just to clarify – I won’t be blogging any more or less than I have over the past year or two (since the addition of the boys), I will just have the addition of a few Instagram posts here and there.

  11. fweeatwast says:

    I understand the Instagram draw; however, I am finding it a bit too instant – sort of lacking in details and a wee bit bland. I am hoping to get the hang of it in 2015. I do love keeping up with my favorite quilt designers/pattern writers. So if Instagram is where you are at I will be there also.

  12. Chookyblue says:

    unlike everyone else it seems I don’t do anything else except blogging so will miss seeing what your up to………….and like everyone else you will just leave your blog behind………..goodluck………..

  13. Kris says:

    I love IG too for all of the same reasons! Now I must go follow you..
    xo Kris

  14. Lori in NC says:

    What is your Facebook? I have an Instagram account, but never remember to check it.

  15. I’m on IG but I love blog posts. I’ve gotten away from blog reading myself or blogging for myself. I need to get better on all counts.

  16. Sarah in MI says:

    I know you’re not Tech Support – but do you have any basic info on how to follow an Instagram feed on Facebook? I don’t use Instagram at all right now, but for you I might be willing to learn…. I forget to go check those kinds of things though, so if there is a way to have it automatically show up in my facebook feed I’d be more likely to SEE what you post! I’d love to follow along with quilt-alongs; right now I am working on ideas for a couple quilts out of the Living Large books, and I just love the patterns you put together!

    • Hi Sarah – You should just be able to click on the link in this post for my Instagram feed. Once you click on that, you will be on my “profile” page and just click the follow button. You will have to have an Instagram account to be able to do this – Just like you have to have a Facebook account to be able to follow someone there. I will be posting many of the same things on Facebook and Instagram, as Instagram allows you to pick the option of posting to your facebook account. I will be posting the quilt-alongs here on the blog, so you won’t miss out on that if you decide not to do Instagram. Thanks! Heather

Leave a Reply

