A Little Handwork

I know that Christmas has passed us by again for another year, but I wanted to show you some Christmas ornaments that I have been stitching on.  I was just packing them up the other day and thought I should share them before I put them away again for another year.

DSC_5523

 

I have a deep seeded love for Christmas ornaments, especially hand-made ones.  It all started years ago, when my Aunt Lynn gave each of the nieces and nephews an ornament each year for Christmas.  Many were ones she had hand painted and they fascinated me.  It was such a treat each year to take them out, look at them, arrange them on the tree.  When I left home, those gifted ornaments were the only ones on my first Christmas tree.

These ornaments are designed by Alicia Paulson of Posie Gets Cozy.  Her blog is one of my favorites – I love looking at her beautiful photos.  They make me want to move to Portland, move in next door and have Carter play with her adorable little girl (they are almost the same age and they went through some trials to get her too).   If you want to check out her blog you can click here.  Last winter she posted some kits of these ornaments and I took the plunge and ordered some.  I worked on a few or the ornaments then.  I ended up only finishing one this year (bo!) and will have a couple more to work on next year.

Now for some close-ups – A cabin, complete with chimney smoke and beads.

DSC_5529

 

I loved ice skating when I was young, so I love this one.  Again – the details are so fun.

DSC_5528

 

I love this little red coat.  My mom once made me a red wool coat, so it reminds me of that.

DSC_5526

 

Of course, I think the hand knit scarf on the polar bear is a fabulous idea.

DSC_5525

 

The tree and deer have some beautiful details too, including the sequins to look like snow.

DSC_5527

 

If you are interested in seeing Alicia’s kits, click here.  She also has just the patterns, if you happen to have all these different colors of felt, beads, ric rac, etc in your stash.  I thought the kits were a lifesaver!  No running around collecting a million things.  Click here to see the patterns.

I hope someday these will be part of a special set of ornaments that the boys take with them when they move out.  Sniff, sniff.

 

 

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Decorating, Minnesota and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Little Handwork

  1. mariajhmom says:

    I was so tempted to order these!!! So cute!

  2. Ruthie says:

    Wow, they are beautiful! You did a great job making them. Over the years I have cut down on the glass ball ornaments I use and replace them with handmade gifted ornaments. I love to think of the ones who gave them each year as I decorate the tree. I help my granddaughters make a new ornament each year too. They make one for their tree, my tree, and for their two aunts. I will have to look into those kits. Thanks for the information and inspiration. Happy New Year!

  3. Suz says:

    I was lucky enough to win one of these kits in a giveaway a few years back! I’ve made two red coats and I think I gave the polar bear away to a friend. Your other stitching on the boot is gorgeous!

  4. Mary Hanley says:

    So I am suppose to be cleaning an putting away stuff but thought I would take a quick break. These are so cute…maybe make. One for the grandkids. I think I might order a few. Something to look into. Back to work…at last I am making progress.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  5. Chris says:

    I have very one of her ornament kits and have yet to make them! I have got to get on that this year. It’s just so easy to get distracted by quilting and knitting.

  6. Colleen Gander says:

    I think those ornaments are lovely and it would be a wonderful undertaking. I started cross stitch ornaments for my son and tried to make the ornaments match significant events or life moments each year. He is in his twenties now and still coming home at Christmas but I will be very sad when his special box goes to his home and his first tree.

  7. lepowell says:

    How absolutely beautiful!! I adore handmade ornaments and have a friend who does send one each year. I hang them on knobs and such as we haven’t put a tree up in years, since we go back to FL to see our grands. I must go check these out, even if I didn’t make them for myself, it would wonderful to make them for someone else or my grand girls to take when they leave. Thank you for showing them – I’m smitten!!

  8. dawn at firstlightdesigns says:

    Utterly charming! I love every single one. The smoke coming out the chimney — so clever. And your stitching is just beautiful! Thank you so much for showing us these!!

  9. Pingback: New Fall 2015 Pattern Preview – Part 1 | Trends and Traditions

Leave a Reply

