Woven Squares

It’s crunch time here right now, as I need to have everything wrapped up for the new book in the next couple weeks.  On top of that, I have had sick kids so there has been way more snuggling than sewing, and no exposing the babysitter.  And though I enjoyed all the snuggling, the timing could have been better!

During all the snuggling, my sample yardage of my fall fabric line arrived.  It’s always fun when that package arrives – It’s been about 9 months since I painted up the ideas, so it feels like I have been waiting for a while for it to arrive😉

045

In case you missed my previous blog posts on this line, it’s called Home for Harvest.  (You can view the entire line here).  It will arrive in stores sometime in May – in time for you to get your fall quilts finished in time for the season!

038

 

I have several larger quilts that I have started with the line, but while I was waiting for this yardage to arrive, I whipped up a little runner made out of my strike-offs (meaning I had about a 10″ square of each and used a couple of pieces from my stash for the background).

024

 

Since I don’t have any of the other quilts with this fabric done to share with you, and I can’t share any of my book projects yet, I thought I would have another Sew Along to give me something to blog about while I wait.

023 adj

 

During the Sew Along, I will just share a few tips on this runner, but nothing as involved as my last sew along.  I know many of you got the pattern last time or followed along, but were short on time when it came to getting it finished.  This one is a quicker and smaller, so maybe that will make it easier for those that want to join along.  Or you can just follow along, and pick up a few tips.

The runner doesn’t involve any triangles or applique, so whatever you level of quilting skills, you could handle this.  In fact, our niece came over a couple of weekends ago and made this runner.  It was her first quilt, and she had very little experience with a sewing machine.  She sent me a few pictures to share –

021 adj

023

024 edit

 

If you want to join in, you can find the pattern – Mini Charmers 1 – on sale here.  (To view more photos of the runners, click here)

mini charmers 1 front cropped 400

 

To start with, all you need to do is figure out your fabrics.  You will need:

1 Mini Charm Pack (or 38 – 2 1/2″ squares)

1/8 yard cream

3/8 yard grey

1/4 yard binding

The runner measures 11 1/2″ x 34″

154

 

I will share a few cutting and piecing tips next time we meet. Hope to see you back here then!

112

PS – The other fabrics shown are Persimmon and PB and J, both by Basic Grey for Moda Fabrics.

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Quilting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Woven Squares

  1. Marsha Nelson says:

    Once again, you have created some wonderful fabric. I was going to name my favorite colors but there is not one that I don’t love. I can’t wait until this line is in the fabric stores. A large table topper would look so lovely in the oranges, blues and greens. I have just re-done my great room in those colors. Thank you. Hope the boys are feeling better. Time is never wasted snuggling sick babies.

  2. Jean says:

    I have a pack of minis that I didn’t know what to do with. I will be sewing along. If I don’t have the pattern, I will be over!

  3. Melissa says:

    Adorable fabric collection! Can’t wait to get some!

  4. MarciaMarciaMarcia says:

    Beautiful! Ummm……where did the kitty come from?

  5. Debbie Wright says:

    I love the colors in the fabrics and the runner but can we see more pictures of the kitty?

  6. Oh I love your new line of fabric! The blues and the oranges… oh just all of them!

  7. glenda says:

    I love this runner!
    Your new fabric line is just perfect too!

Leave a Reply

