Angles with Ease 2 Preview – Part 2

Today I am going to continue with more projects from the new book, Angles With Ease 2.  If you missed part 1, click here.

Angles with Ease 2 cover jpeg

In part 1 of the preview, I showed all the quilts that are made with the Triangler Ruler and strip units.  Today, I am going to share the quilts that are cut from the ruler and strips of fabric (but the strips are not pieced).  Are you with me so far?  If that all sounds confusing, you can watch the You Tube video that I made to go with the first book, Angles with Ease.  Click here to see the video.

Now back to the quilt –

The back cover of the books shows the “Monsters Not Allowed” and “Zig Zag” patterns.

DSC_6740 crop

It happens to be one of my favorite pictures from the book.  I kinda liked this one too, but I decided that Max looks a little too expressive in this picture.  I think he was about to eat the camera.

DSC_6736 carter better crop

I designed the monsters to be Max’s baby quilt.  The teeth are made using the ruler, which is why the design is included in this book.

DSC_7686 crop

DSC_7687

I think it fits him.  I am in no way calling him a monster, I just think every little boy should have a monster quilt (or fish or puppy quilts, for those of you who remember the previous baby quilts and fabric lines that I have done for my boys)

DSC_6264

The Zig Zag quilt was made to match Carter’s room.  I like this one because it is very quick to make and takes just 7 Fat Quarters.

DSC_7693 cropsharpened

The zig zag quilt also comes in a runner size and uses just eleven 10″ squares.

DSC_6441 adj

Next up, Vintage Stars.

DSC_6619 adj crop

This quilt features a new designer for Moda, Brenda Riddle.  The fabric line is called Ambleside.  I added the solid red to really make the stars pop.

DSC_6559

The quilt comes in 4 sizes – Runner, wall (shown), throw, and twin.  Just add a border to make a double bed size.  Both the pinwheel block and the star points are made using the ruler.

DSC_6561

The next quilt is called Dresden Chain.  In this quilt, the ruler is used to make the Dresden wedges.

DSC_6544 adj best crop

Typically, the Dresden block has lots of wedges.  Sometimes lots of teeny, tiny wedges – which is why I have never made one before.  I just know that I don’t have the patience to do it.   This block has just 8 Dresden wedges.  I can handle that!

DSC_7680

The featured fabric line used in this quilt is called Flora and was designed by Joel Dewberry.  Once again, my photos just don’t do the fabric justice.  They are so pretty in person, but got a little washed out in my photos.   (Full sun isn’t always helpful for taking photos)

DSC_7679

DSC_7677

This design comes in 4 sizes – Wall, Throw, Square, and Long Twin.  Again – Just add a border to make the twin into a double bed size.

DSC_7674

In the next 2 runners, the ruler is used to cut half hexagon shapes.

DSC_6450

That shape (I called them Spools) can also be arranged like this –

DSC_7648

You could also turn the half hexagons around so the long edges are facing each other.  You would end up with hexagons, instead of spool blocks.

For the last design, I just cut tall triangles and arranged them like this –

DSC_2937 adj

If you aren’t sure about doing the binding around those angles, just click on the tutorials tab above.  I’ve got several posts about binding inside and outside corners.

DSC_2968 adj

Lastly, this is the shot of the runners that I included in the book

DSC_7105 adj

I like seeing them all lined up like that.  It makes me happy that I decided to add all the size options.  It takes the math of all the designs and multiplies it by 5, but I think it is worth it.  My poor brain has not recovered yet!  I’m going to need lots of chocolate therapy.

DSC_7080 adj

Well, that’s all folk!  Everything from the book.  It’s a total of 12 designs and over 30 size options.  I’d love to give away another copy with this post, so just leave a comment to be entered.  Again, I’d love to hear what your favorite design is.  My personal favorite is the Monsters, but I could be wrong.  The winner from the first part of the preview was “Let it Snow.”  To be honest, that was one that almost didn’t make the cut – which goes to show how much I know!  (I ended up remaking it in new fabric and changing it up a bit so that helped.)  Please share your thoughts – I really appreciate you all helping me with my “market research”.

Have a great weekend.  I will be back early next week to announce the winners from both posts.

PS –

Click here to view part 1 of the preview.

The book is available now, so you should start seeing it at quilt shops soon.  Market is in 2 weeks, so you will see a lot more of it after that.  You can also click here to order.

If you are a shop owner, please come to our Schoolhouse at market to learn more  about the book.

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Fabric Trends, Machine Quilting, Pattern of the Week, Quilting and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

106 Responses to Angles with Ease 2 Preview – Part 2

  1. Laurie Gelo says:

    As usual, you provide us with pure eye. I love all of these. But I agree with you. My favorite is the Monster quilt. And I have a certain little grandson that this design would be perfect for. Thanks for the chance to win.

  2. Vicki in MN says:

    I love runners!! But I like the Dresden plate and Vintage stars quilts a lot!

  3. Deb v says:

    I love the Dresden plate and vintage stars. They are all beautiful.

  4. pam in illinois says:

    All are beautiful!! I really like Vintage Stars.

  5. Pat says:

    Never met a runner I didn’t like. All beautiful!!!

  6. deborah a. manning says:

    So difficult to choose just one, I love them all. The colors and patterns are so happy and vibrant!!
    Thank you, Heather.

  7. Dawn Stephens says:

    I’m in love with Vintage Stars, but would definitely make the monsters quilt for a baby quilt.

  8. Marti M says:

    I like Vintage Stars.The stars just pop!

  9. Milla says:

    It’s difficult to pick just one favorite. My first pick though is the Dresden Chain. I do love the Vintage Stars quilt, too. The red really makes it pop and I love the shape of the stars!

  10. Lisa Marie says:

    Oh yes, the monster quilt is super cute! I also like the rectangular runner with the spools. It’s unique, and I like the look of it.

  11. Nancy says:

    My favorites are the kids quilts! I also like to see your decorating and paint color choices!!!

  12. Therese Wescott says:

    Monster quilt would be my choice as well. My grandson would love it. Your fabrics are fabulous. Thanks for the peek.

  13. Diane says:

    You’re boys are so adorable !! My favorite is the monster quilt my close second is the Dresden flowers.
    I Love your work. When do have the time to do these fantastic quilts ?

  14. Darlene B says:

    I love the Dresden Chain! The quilting design you did is stunning.

  15. Marie Pearson says:

    I love the monsters! They’re friendly, wild and scary all at the same time. I love to see your boys’ pictured with your projects. I also like the spool runner in the diamond shape.

  16. Kathie L says:

    I especially like your Dresden chair. Two vintage patterns that look so current with your use of color.

  17. Whitney says:

    The Dresden Chain quilt is beautiful! I love all the different runners too!

  18. Beth Stanfield says:

    My favorite is Dresden ( with only 8 wedges) Chain. I love your quilting on that one too.
    This book is so inspirational. Love it!
    Beth

  19. Sandra Davidson says:

    Love all of your beautiful quilts and runners and Dresden ones are my fav as I have never done one. Blessings Sandra

  20. Kay Mc says:

    Hard to pick between the Dresden Chain & the Vintage Star quilts. As I was scrolling through I kept thinking that I need to make each one of them. Love them all!

  21. Carrie S says:

    My favorite from this post is the Dresden Chain. I like seeing them all lined up and I still love the Petals on a String from your other post too! Your quilting adds so much to each of the quilts…beautiful!

  22. I love the Monsters! And Vintage Stars–I think they are a tie.🙂 All of them are wonderful though, and I don’t know how you find the time! Happy May Day!

  23. Debbie says:

    Happy May Day! Thanks for the beautiful shots. Love them all but Vintage Stars and the Monster Quilt … which my granddaughter would love… captured my attention!

  24. Jennifer W says:

    From this post my favorites are Vintage Stars and the tall triangles runner. Again, I loved them all!

  25. LINDA says:

    HELLO, I’m with you on this one! Love the Monster Quilt>oh those EYES! I do baby charity quilts+I’ like to do one of these similar ! Thanks for your inspiration+a sweet giveaway too!
    HAPPY SPRING!

  26. SamanthaK says:

    The Monsters all the way!!! I think I will need to make a few of them for my nephews, who on occasion have been called monsters. Thanks for the wonderful preview!

  27. Susan L. says:

    Vintage stars is my favorite this time! I would like to try it in three colors and skip the small squares,it could be very striking,too! I love all the angles in the new projects. When you challenge yourself,it makes us stretch our comfort zones,too! Well done!

  28. NorahS says:

    I love Vintage Stars. I can really see it made into a Christmas quilt. Sounds like a great project. Monsters is adorable!

  29. Nami11 says:

    I like the Dresden Chain… Again thanks for the chance of the giveaway!

  30. LindaV says:

    My favorite is definitely the Dresden Chain! I love the idea of only 8 pieces and the chain just makes the dresdens pop! Another amazing bunch of quilts!!

  31. Chookyblue says:

    oh I love dresdan chain………the pics with the kids and monster quilt are gorgeous………..I’m sure this will be a hit in market………….

  32. Rachal says:

    I’m Loving vintage stars and the Dresden chain.. The monster one is pretty awesome too

  33. Sue Benson says:

    Vintage Stars for me. Wow those stars really pop. And Monsters for the young boys in my life.

  34. Jocelyn says:

    The quilts are beautiful, but I have to say that your boys steal the shoe! They are just TOO cute! I do love the zig zag.

  35. Jocelyn says:

    oops, that was supposed to say SHOW!

  36. Mary Ann says:

    I really like all the runners. Too hard to pick just one.

  37. catkiz says:

    Oh my, another set of winning designs. They are all so fun, but my favorite is Dresden Chain. I think that would be adaptable for male/female/seasons, etc. Carter and Max are so cute!!!

  38. Ruth Bradford says:

    Wow, that is such a different take on quilt patterns. You have great creativity. I would love to try some of these patterns from your book.

  39. Jeannie says:

    I have my very first grandchild — a boy — to make the monster quilt for. It’s my favorite this time around.

  40. Colleen Gander says:

    I think the Dresden Chain stands out for me, only because I am pretending not to “see” kid quilts. My son thinks my desire to make kid quilts is putting too much pressure on for grandchildren.:-)

  41. boluh says:

    I LOVE the Vintage Stars for the quilt and I LOVE the picture of your handsome boys with the Monster quilt and zig zag quilt. You have did an awesome job on ALL your creativity Heather.

  42. Marsha Nelson says:

    I really like the Vintage Stars and the way you added the red. Perfect!

  43. Mary Ellen says:

    I HAVE to make the Monster Quilt for a little guy I know

  44. NancyL says:

    My favorite is Dresden Chain, and I also like Spools! Love seeing Carter and Max modeling!

  45. Sue Dee says:

    Looking at previous comments, I am going with the crowd and LOVING the Dresden chain but a close tie would be the Vintage stars. That red really makes the stars pop as well as the whole quilt! I love seeing all your new designs and can hardly wait to get both books as well as the ruler! Thank you for sharing pictures of the boys, reminding all of us of the real joys of life.

  46. Sue Dee says:

    P.S. Your photos are wonderful!

  47. AnnieO says:

    Beautiful boys! I’m torn between the spools rectangular runner, and the Dresden Chain. I’ve never made a Dresden quilt either, for the same reasons you state (I started one block in a class more than 10 years ago–still unfinished!). Congrats on suffering through all that MATH. Have plenty of chocolate while you bask in the compliments for your designs and fabric🙂

  48. Linda T. says:

    Dresden chain is my favorite,but a lot of fun ones.

  49. Pam O says:

    I like Vintage Stars. The red makes those stars pop. You definitely have a good eye.

  50. Karen Wolter says:

    I like all of them. I don’t make many table runners as I don’t like changing them all of the time, so make alot of quilts. My favorite is the dresden quilt> can’t wait to try it.

  51. Deb says:

    Love the RED in the Vintage Stars. I’d love to make that one!

  52. Cathy says:

    My favorite is Vintage Stars. I’ve seen a vintage quilt with a similar look, but I bet you made the construction easier.

  53. Marlene Vossen says:

    MOnsters and Dresden Chain!

  54. Frankie says:

    I love Monsters Not Allowed and Vintage Stars — they’re both so wonderful in their own way. Really, everything you’ve shown has been spectacular and I can’t wait to get the book! Beautiful work!

  55. Joan M says:

    Your little boys are adorable. All your designs are lovely. My favourite is Vintage Stars.

  56. Sandy A in St. Louis says:

    Vintage stars just took my breath away! Love it!

  57. Shirley J B says:

    Monsters!! Love their teeth!!

  58. I like the dresden chain the best here. Let it snow was really great, too. So glad it made the cut!

  59. Mary says:

    Even though so far I only have two granddaughters, the monster one is my favorite, but the zigzag and Dresden ones come in a very close second. This will be a great pattern book to own and use. There’s so much variety!

  60. Lizzie says:

    I love them all but Petals on a String really caught my eye. Thanks for the opportunity to win.

  61. Janice says:

    I’ve been looking for the perfect pattern for a quilt for a little boy and Monsters is it! It’s GREAT! I’ll be making this for a project called Make A Child Smile. It’s for children in Primary Children’s Hospital in Salt Lake City. This pattern will definitely make some cute little patient smile! Thanks for the chance, Heather!

  62. Joy says:

    Monsters is definitely my hands down favorite – I don’t have kids and I still want to make it…just too too cute. Also gotta say I really like ALL of the table runners. I’m on a kick to use up every little bit of leftover fabric from my projects and have been making a lot of table runners lately, new ideas are needed and wanted and yours are all wonderful.

  63. Ann in NC says:

    The book is full of great designs! From this group, I am drawn to the Vintage Stars quilt. While I don’t have a need for the monsters quilt, it is fun! Your “models” are absolutely darling! A great pattern to have in the collection for future possible needs – providing I remember that I have it when I need it! Enjoy quilt market. I bet you will be selling LOTS of books! I will be anxious to see it locally! Keep up the great work!

  64. Penny says:

    Heather, I love all of your designs!

  65. Linda Lee Aune says:

    AMAZING – once again, Heather. So well done!

  66. Jan N. says:

    So many beautiful designs. My favorite is Petal on a String followed by the Zig Zag quilt.

  67. Lorraine says:

    My favorite is the Dresden Chain. The monster quilt is adorable, and so unique.

  68. Kim G says:

    ViNtage Stars and Petal on a String are my favorite, but all of them beautiful and the monster quilt adorable!

  69. Mary ann says:

    Dresden chain! All though the adorable little models on the Monsters sell the book!
    !

  70. Judy Hutchens says:

    Love, love the Monster quilt!!!

  71. Roseanna Jakubowski says:

    What a wonderful book! Petals on a String is my favorite. I also love Vintage Stars. Those two little guys are sure adorable.

  72. ZAnyMouse says:

    They are all beautiful, but I really love Dresden Chain!

  73. Dresden Chain gets my vote with several others running a close second!

  74. Laura says:

    Yes, the Monsters is the one, but they are all fabulous.

  75. Dorian says:

    Aww, love the pics with your boys, so darling. The patterns are all so nice, but I am partial to chains and I really like the dresden chain.

  76. Sarah Corley says:

    Monsters!!💗💗😎😎

  77. Kris P says:

    Oh my, the monsters are super cute! I can see myself making Dresden Chain and Vintage Stars first. I love the scrappiness of the Vintage Stars. I’ve been wanting to make a dresden plate and an Irish chain, so this appears to be a great way to combine them! I always appreciate how thoughtfully your patterns are written with concise directions and indications of which way to press. Congrats on another amazing book.

  78. Christine says:

    I love Vintage Stars. The solid red looks amazing with the other fabrics.

  79. Denise in PA says:

    Your new book looks fantastic – I like everything! Thanks for much for the chance to win. I need to have that Monster quilt in my arsenal for little boy gifts! o:)

  80. Susan Ferguson says:

    My favorite is thr Dresden Chain. It is modern and happy!

  81. Jane Wimmer says:

    Anther fun book. You never cease to amaze me!! The monster one is adorable! I love how you quilted the pebbles around the Dresden plates. I am wondering what brand or kind of thread you use when doing the quilting? It looks like you match the thread color to the fabric color all the time😃! I need to start doing that.

  82. sequana says:

    I really like the Dresden Chain and all of its options. Have you had your chocolate therapy yet?

  83. Amy L says:

    I have fallen in love with those smiling Monsters! What a fun quilt for your baby boy! I would love to see how you decorated Max’s room.

  84. Tami says:

    Oh My, I love the Monsters:) Perfect for my grandson! Thanks for being so Generous!

  85. Julie in WA says:

    Vintage Stars caught my attention right away! I wonder what it would look like made up in Christmas fabrics?!!!

  86. Sally says:

    Dresden Chain is my favorite from this post. Simple deaden blocks would be fun to make😉

  87. Chalene says:

    Dresden chain and the Monsters too, great job, so many wonderful ideas

  88. Tracey S. says:

    I love them all but having 2 boys myself I LOVE the monsters and they already put it on my to do list!!!

  89. Dresden chain and Monsters are at the top of my list – love this book and plan to add it to my library!

  90. I really like the Dresden chain. I’m into dresdens these days.

  91. Annette says:

    I like the spools table runners! Thanks for the chance to win!

  92. Melanie says:

    I just recently purchased Heathers new book ‘Angels with Ease 2 !!! It’s beautiful!! Every single quilt is beautiful! I LOVE THEM ALL!! All her books are made so nice!! And very self explanatory!! Good job Heather!! Although, I LOVE the Monster quilt as well. I have a very close friend that is expecting a new little bundle of “Boy” joy!! A perfect quilt!! If you have never bought any of Heathers Books, buy them!! You’ll be amazed how beautiful they are!! Right along with her fabric!! 💖💖 Thanks Heather for all you do for all of us!! Your an amazing quilter! Loved your tutorial!!

  93. Judy Werner says:

    Heather, you really do “Shine”! Love the Vintage Stars, and well, if I ever have another grandson, the monsters will be a winner. Your sons are so precious!

  94. I’m glad I stumbled on your post. I’m just learning to quilt and decided table runners would be the best way for me to try lots of different techniques. I think my favorite is the spools design.

  95. Tressa says:

    That monster quilt is pretty cute–love all the silly combinations that could be created.

  96. chanzy01 says:

    I love the Vintage Stars and Dresden Chain is a close second. The boys are adorable and the Monsters Not Allowed is perfect for a boy.

  97. Sharon W says:

    All of the designs are great, but I like the Dresden chain.

  98. Lori says:

    I agree with you on the monsters quilt. It makes me wish I had a little boy to make it for! Your boys are so cute.

  99. Sheryl says:

    Hi Heather, First, let me say how it warms my heart to see two such happy little boys. Takes me back to my own two who are now 44 and 40! I love the monsters, but at this stage in my life, the Dresden plate is more my style and I thank you for taking out the wedges for us! Love your color choices in all of your quilts.

  100. Gale says:

    I so love the Dresden chain and think you did an awesome job on the quilting. I want to make mine using the same colors and copy your quilting :’)

    The boys did a wonderful job on the modeling!!! Sweet!!

  101. Kathy McDonald says:

    Oh my gosh, Heather, these designs are spectacular! The only things more beautiful are the two adorable little boys. Your photography is also amazing. I am just blown away by your creativity.

  102. Carol says:

    Monsters is my favourite but that could be because I have five sons, a 5 month old grandson, and another grandson due in 2 weeks. Lots of quilting opportunities and brightly coloured monsters fill the bill.

  103. shauna scholes says:

    I love vintage stars the red just pops and those boys are so cute I just want to snuggle them

  104. Mary Ellen says:

    Monsters!!!!

  105. Penny says:

    Your boys make really great models!!

Leave a Reply

