Quilt Market 2015

We got home from International Quilt Market on Sunday night – and though we had a good time, I am happy to have it behind me!  Writing books is so much work, and then when it’s finished, there is still all the marketing, website work, planning a booth, etc and then getting everything together for the show.  My husband Joel describes it as “Running a marathon and then working all weekend at quilt market.”  The writing of the book is like running a marathon, and then all tired, sweaty and dazed, you have to try to sell the product.  This is my least favorite part of my job, but I really did try to enjoy it this year.  We’ve been around for so many years, that is fun to catch up with the shop owners and other designers that we have met in the past.  Joel is a huge help and I was at ease knowing that my Mom was taking good care of the kids while I was gone.  The orders have already gone out.  Now to get the trailer unloaded and everything put away.  And I suppose I should do some laundry and get my sorry house put back in order.  I think what I will do instead is plant some flowers and work outside.  Carter would love to help me.  Sounds like a good way to spend part of my Saturday!

 

I have a few pictures to share with you from market.  I never did pull out my nice camera while I was there, so these are just cell phone pictures.  First up – my booth.

123

I had a double corner booth, so it was nice and big for displaying all the things form the new book.  (In case you missed it, the new book is Angles with Ease 2 and all the quilts are made with this versatile ruler).

199

 

The Petals on a String and No Monsters Allowed quilts were the favorites.

201

 

This is the group of Henry Glass designers that were at Market.  Karen – the blonde in the lower right corner is my design director.  She took several of us that work under her out for a fun supper on Friday night.  We had a great time reconnecting and hanging out – while having a really good supper (We went to Mesa if you ever want to try good Mexican in downtown Minneapolis).

190

 

A took a few other photos of some favorite things and booths –

Sue Spargo’s work is always a favorite.  Though I have actually never made one of her designs, I still really admire her creativity and attention to detail.

132

 

This is designer’s row in Moda’s Booth.  Lots of eye candy here – and this is only a small part of it.

165

 

Fig Tree was on the end with their quilts made with Farmhouse (one of the lines that I had to pick up at Sample Spree).

163

 

Canyon by Kate Spain was another line that I thought was beautiful.  I will show a few more of their new lines in my next market post.

161

 

Another favorite booth was Elizabeth Hartman.  I love her woodland creatures.  I think I might need to put a few fabric flowers up on my walls too.

153

 

I loved this booth too.  First of all, I loved the wallpaper.  Gorgeous!  The display is beautiful too, with the framed fabrics, bench and bookcase.

211

 

This is Cotton+Steel’s booth.  If you have my ruler from the new book – you could use it to make the quilt below.  I had a very similar sketch in my notebook of things to include in the book, so it was fun to see it done up in person.  I was also very interested in their clothing fabrics – especially the rayons and knits.

182

 

I also spent some time in Indygo Junction’s booth.  For some reason I have the bug to make some clothing.  I picked up one of their new books and I am probably going to make that tunic in the front.

129

 

I’m not sure why I have the bug to make some clothing – but I think it has something to do with all the new fabrics hitting the market.  It wasn’t tempting at all to make something from what they have at my local JoAnns, but when you see that many of the beautiful quilting fabrics also come in knit, rayon, or double gauze, it gets rather tempting.  My mom used to help me stumble through making clothes – that was before I discovered quilting 20 years ago – so we will see how it goes.

Birch fabric had some of my favorite clothing fabrics

216

I loved the double gauze so 1 piece is on its way here for me to try out.

222

 

In addition to getting to see all the new things at market, I was really excited to have so many shop owners compliment me on how my instructions are written – that they are clear, easy to follow, and accurate.  It’s something that my Mom and I work really hard on.  I write the instructions, then she tests the patterns and offers suggestions and changes.  We go back and forth and forth many, many times trying to get it just so and weed out any errors.  It’s a huge job and I have to give HUGE props to my Mom for all her help with this part.  I couldn’t do this without her and to have the shop owners bring it to our attention meant so much to me.

 

I also have to give props to my husband Joel.  He offered to make me some nice booth walls this time, along with lining up someone to help get them all into the booth and set up.  Joel also did many demos in the booth and helped with that selling part that I dislike so much.  I teased him that being “hot and helpful in the booth” was one of my favorite attributes in a husband😉

192

 

I’ll be back next week with a few of my favorite products from market.  Have a great weekend!

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Fabric Trends, Quilting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Quilt Market 2015

  1. Susan Bailey says:

    You two make a fantastic team! It’s nice to hear about the husbands being so interested in the business and helping out! And a cutie such as Joel will draw many women shoppers into your booth!!! Also, I have made some items with your earlier books and it looks like I need to buy a new one and the ruler – great new patterns you have!

  2. LINDA says:

    THANKS SO FOR MARKET PHOTOS! KNOW YOU ARE JUST EXHAUSTED>BEING HOME WILL HELP THAT ♥

  3. Kristi says:

    Thank you for the great market recap! I am looking forward to more next week. Kudos to your Mom and Joel for their help; your family is awesome.

  4. Kris P says:

    All those shop owners are right, you know. Your directions are always the easiest to follow. I feel so blessed that I found your blog and your patterns very early on in my quilting journey. I’ve made SO MANY of your patterns. All the hard work is totally worth it. I tell everyone who will listen how great your patterns are, and that you take the time to specify what direction to press the seams, to help the points nest. I’m so spoiled that I’ll open a pattern at my LQS and read some of it before I decide if it’s worth the trouble. If it’s not well written, I won’t buy it. Thanks for all you do to make our quilting time more enjoyable.

  5. Karen Wolter says:

    Your directions are great, it is great to have the size of each finished block before moving to the next size and also having several size options. Love your books. Great that Joel got to help you with your least favorite part of market. Hope you got to connect with Nancy. Would have loved to come, but family graduation got in the way. See ya in the fall and weekly on your blogs.

  6. Nancy says:

    Beautiful pictures! Thanks for sharing. I’m so happy to hear there are new fabrics for sewing out there. I would love to make some garments for myself & grandkids but can’t find anything locally that appeals. Why spend all that time sewing with junk? Your quilt booth was beautiful!

  7. Mary ann says:

    Love your patterns and all clear directions each step of the way. I am always frustrated if I buy something and the the directions are virtually non existent. and of course I tell my friends about both pattern designers!

  8. Candie says:

    Thank you so much! What beautiful tributes to your mother and husband! I also love everything you do and your instructions are well written which makes sewing your patterns that much more fun and enjoyable! Thanks again for the share.

  9. Chookyblue says:

    wow your stand looks fantastic…….the quilts really are showing off there best views………..thanks for sharing all the other pics………..love seeing all the stands……………

  10. Jocelyn says:

    Great pictures! Love your booth. It seems to be a lot of work, but you have a great team member right by your side. Can’t beat that. Well, at least not until the boys are big enough to be helpers too🙂

  11. Jean says:

    It all looks wonderful

  12. Laura says:

    It was great meeting both of you at Market! And my husband enjoyed having another husband there to discuss important things like hunting🙂. Hope to see you at our retreat next March. I’ve got the dates on my calendar so hopefully it works out!

  13. Shaun says:

    Thanks for giving us a glimpse of Market. Your booth looked great! I need to get my hands on a copy of the book and new ruler, that adorable monster quilt is calling to me!

  14. Thank you for letting us see how the Quilt Market is set up and some of what is involved. It looks exciting to be able to see so many new fabrics from companies that have such great lines that I love to follow. I really appreciated all of the pictures, they are great and your booth looked terrific. I have your book and am looking forward to trying some of your new patterns.

  15. Janice says:

    Your booth looks beautiful, Heather. I’m in the process of making the Monsters quilt and I’m really loving it. Your ruler and, I agree, your directions are great! Such a cute family!!

  16. Frankie says:

    I love the pictures of your booth — your quilts are beautiful! My list of “must make” is super long but quite a few of your quilts are right at the top. And those shop owners are right — you and your Mom write great directions!

  17. Claudia Voorhees says:

    Spring Market was great ! Your booth was GREAT ! So many fun quilts and projects in your new book. I am anxious to get started on the projects. I was lucky enough to win a book at schoolhouse for our shop…so we can get busy and sew ! I love reading your blog and keeping up with your busy schedule. Thanks again for a great book and much inspiration.

  18. sequana says:

    Lovely booth, really. I made Sue Spargo’s very first quilt she designed. As much as I love it, I’m not in a hurry to make another. You need to be patient and ready to spend a LOT of time on her projects.
    Looks like some nice new fabrics about to hit the shops. Thx for the pics.

  19. Marsha Nelson says:

    Thanks for letting us get a peek into Spring Market!

  20. Sue Dee says:

    Thank you for the great pics of Spring Market. So inspiring I recently “discovered” you and your designs from looking through old quilt magazines. Fell in love with your Lone Star Sensation and just about every design since then! Thank you for sharing your genius and genuine self with the world! Your love for your family shines throughout it all.

  21. Ann in NC says:

    Really enjoyed going to quilt market through your eyes! Your booth looks wonderful! Hope my LQS gets your new book – one way or another, it will be in my collection! One of my favorite tunic patterns is Schoolhouse Tunic by Sew Liberated. Make a muslin first to decide on the correct size. You and your Mom deserve LOTS of praise for accurately written patterns! Your hard work is greatly appreciated!!!

  22. Jane eilderts says:

    I just love your patterns and fabric!! Can’t wait to get mine from Merrys stitchin!!

  23. Cindy Hagen says:

    Wow! I’m so glad you put in all the work behind the scenes because I sure like your finished products – books, patterns, and samples! Thanks.

  24. Marci says:

    Thank you for sharing your pictures. I tried the two Batts thing once, never do that again. The quilt is very heavy and stiff.

Leave a Reply

