New Fall 2015 Pattern Preview – Part 1

Fall quilt market is right around the corner, and with that comes the release of lots of fun things in the quilting industry.  My contribution is 4 new single patterns – each with several options.  Today I’m going to share 2 of the patterns, with the other two coming in my next post.

The theme for today’s new patterns is Christmas.  I have always wanted to do a stocking pattern, but never had any ideas.   Having two little boys changed that!  They need stockings, right?   So, that thought led me to designing a stocking pattern, with four different block options that can be used to change the theme of the stocking.

Nordic Christmas Socks Pattern Front 500

 

I am loving all the Nordic things on Pinterest – especially these Nordic cross stitch patterns.  I haven’t cross stitched since the 80’s but I thought it would be fun to combine some of the design ideas with my love of quilting – and finally an idea for making my own Christmas stockings comes together.

DSC_0229 adj

 

The little rocking horse is for Max

DSC_0209 adj

 

The snowman is for Carter and the snowflake for me.

DSC_0224

 

The scrappy tree is for Joel.

DSC_0210 adj

 

They look good in my studio – and they have been hanging there all summer!  I’ve had to explain to any guests why they are hanging there in July, but I must have things out as I am working on them – thinking about them a little bit each day.  I have another set made for my living room fireplace.  They just need to be quilted and bound, but I have a few months left to finish them.  Or should I say a couple?  They are a different color scheme, so I will share them when they are finished.

DSC_0249 adj from palmer

 

My next pattern is an ornament set – inspired by my boys and my Auntie Lynn.  Growing up, she gave ornaments to each niece and nephew every Christmas.  I remember being just fascinated by the ones that she hand painted.

DSC_2892

 

You may also remember that I have been making some ornaments for our tree (click here to read about them).  They are all made with wool and though my embroidery skills are not good, I loved making them.

DSC_5523

 

As I was making these, I was thinking about the things that Carter gets excited about and realized that these ornaments were much more for me, and not really for him.  That thought got me to thinking that my boys needed their own ornaments – ones designed especially for them.  For the theme, I decided on fish and puppies, to go with the fabric lines that I designed for them.

boys ornaments 2015 pattern front500

 

The ornaments are done mainly with a blanket stitch and a few other easy embroidery stitches mixed in.  On the roof, I did cheat and do that by machine.  I just couldn’t get my lines perfectly straight!  Other than that, these projects are the perfect little size to tote around with you.  I would bring them out to the swing set or in the yard while the boys played and they were finished in no time.  So much easier than carrying out knitting, with the stitches falling off the needles and the dog trying to steal my yarn ball.

DSC_9840 adj

 

I also plan to add a date to the ornament, but didn’t get it done before my photos shoot.  I  need to decide if it will go on the front, or do it on the back with a little note from Mom kinda thing.

DSC_0067 adj

 

Carter’s ornament includes one of my favorite stitches – the chain stitch.  I learned it long ago while making a stitchery sampler with yarn and burlap in grade school.  It’s really easy to do, so nothing to be scared of.  Also notice that on some of the tiny pieces – like the leaves – are not blanket stitched down.  It’s too hard to blanket stitch those little pieces, so I just stitched down the center, leaving the edges slightly dimensional.

DSC_9838 adj

 

For the hangers, I just braided some embroidery floss together, using 3 strands of each color.  I was initially going to use ric rac, but couldn’t find the right colors.  Using embroidery floss solved this problem, as it comes in many colors.  I also think it looks boyish, so it works with the design.

DSC_0129 best

 

I hope these ideas are something that inspires you.  It’s a little different from what I usually do, but it’s so fun to try something new.  If you would like to try your hand at these techniques, I will be giving away a copy of each new pattern to one of my readers.  Just leave a comment to be entered to win.  Stop back in a few days to see the winners and the post with the other new patterns.

 

To purchase the stocking pattern, click here for the paper pattern and here for the PDF.

To purchase the ornament pattern, click here for the paper pattern and here for the PDF.

The paper patterns will start shipping on Monday.

 

Thanks and have a great weekend!

 

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Family, Pattern of the Week, Quilting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to New Fall 2015 Pattern Preview – Part 1

  1. Carol says:

    You have done it again, made me want another one of you designs! The ornaments are to cute. Will you be doing a girl version?

  2. Jean says:

    The boys will treasure them. Very cute.

  3. marie says:

    Great patterns, love the ornaments as they are a gift easy to mail.

  4. Mary Schettle says:

    I love them!! You make me want to be a mother all over again!!!

  5. Caryn Bravos says:

    Wonderful patterns!! Good luck at Market!!

  6. Lynn Osborne says:

    OH my, they are all so lovely. Thanks for the chance to win.

  7. Denny A. says:

    Those ornaments are adorable! They will treasure those for years to come!! Memories in the Making! Heather!! I actually cross stitched all of my kids stockings back in the 80’s and early 90’s! They were fun to make… Loved doing it back then, but have not done it now, for years!!

  8. Pam Peterson says:

    Have two children who married within the past year and so I’ve been looking for interesting Christmas stocking pattern for both couples. I’ve found it! Love the Nordic look since our last name is “Peterson.”

  9. treadlemusic says:

    Love your Nordic Star/Snowflake AND the bindings you used on all the stockings are awesome!!!!!!

  10. Linda says:

    very cute ornaments

  11. Debbie says:

    Cute stockings! I like Snowman and the Nordic Star best. Looking forward to your next post.

  12. Joy says:

    I love the ornaments…you can leave them out all year long.

  13. LindaV says:

    LOVE the stockings and the ornaments! I give the grandkids an ornament each year but would love to make them homemade!

  14. Sandy A in St. Louis says:

    Love the stockings and the ornaments! Would never have thought of braiding floss for the hanger. Thanks for sharing!

  15. Marsha Nelson says:

    The stocking are so great and the ornaments are darling.

  16. Hildy says:

    The stocking pattern looks great and I finally need to make some this year! And the ornaments are too cute and would be a fun little gift!

  17. Joan Bommen says:

    Your new patterns are adorable – a fun change of pace.

  18. Sharon Peterson says:

    I love the stockings. The ornaments would be lovely as a hang tag for a Christmas gift….two gifts in one!

  19. Cecilia says:

    Your ornaments are adorable and the stockings are beautiful! Thanks for sharing.

  20. Jo says:

    Those ornaments are so cute and look like they would be fun to make.

  21. Nancy says:

    So cute, Heather, would love a chance to win patterns!

  22. Gale says:

    Love both the stocking and ornament patterns. Will wait to see if I am lucky enough to win, but I already have them on my shopping list, just in case. Having two grandgirls will put these sweet patterns to good use.

  23. Carrie S says:

    I make an ornament each year for my 3 boys, my husband and my god-daughter. Last year I did cross-stitch and I’m not sure what this year. These are so cute! Thanks for the inspiration!

  24. Deb says:

    Love those stockings by the fireplace….you’re getting me in a Christmas-y sewing mood!

  25. Maryanne says:

    The stockings are so pretty and the ornaments are adorable! You’re very talented! I’ve made stockings for my grandchildren some years back and usually buy them each an ornament every year and attach them to their Christmas gifts. But I’m inspired by your hand-made ornaments. I’m reminded of the felt ornaments my Mom made and she used to make them starting in the summer also. 🙂 Thanks Heather!

  26. Kristi says:

    I have a new grandson coming in November so your patterns really caught my eye! He will need a Christmas stocking and an ornament for sure. Thanks for the very cute designs and your giveaway!

  27. AnnieO says:

    I’ve been wanting to make new stockings and love your designs. The Nordic one is my fave. Over the years I have made many many handmade tree ornaments and treasure putting each one on our tree every year. Your kids are lucky to have their own designer and maker for a mom! Well done🙂

  28. Julie says:

    Your patterns are adorable and will make some lasting memories for your little guys!

  29. Sue Dee says:

    Everything is cute and adorable! Wish I had done that for my sons when they were little.

  30. Kim Getchel says:

    The ornaments are adorable and love the Christmas stockings! Makes me want to finish up some cross stitch stockings I started several years ago!

  31. Mary flynn says:

    I had two boys and really enjoy seeing more great boy themed projects here.

Leave a Reply

