New Fall 2015 Pattern Preview – Part 2

If you missed Part 1 of the preview, click here.  For Part 2 of my new pattren preview, I have two quilt patterns to share.   Both share my love of 60-degree angles and use one of my favorite rulers on the market, the Creative Grids 60-degree triangle ruler.

The first design is called Garden Party.  It was inspired by my love of English Paper Piecing (EPP) – or should I say my love of “the look” of EPP.  The problem is, I don’t actually like doing it.  I know it’s very popular, by my left arm just doesn’t hold up to the pinching motion that is required of the left hand.  So – to get this look, I have come up with a design that looks like it’s EPP, but is actually machine pieced.

Garden Party Pattern Front 600

 

The flowers are strip pieced, cut with the ruler and then have folded corners added to create the petals.  The leaf units are cut with the ruler and sewn together in sections.

DSC_9939

 

You can see the sections a little better in the photo below.  If you look very closely, you can see seam lines in the background that wouldn’t be there if it was done with EPP, but this method is much faster and gives a similar look.  You end up sewing triangle shaped flower blocks to trapezoid shaped leave units to create rows, then sew the rows together to create the look.  No Y-seams involved.

DSC_9993 adj600

 

 

I enjoyed making this quilt and I really had fun quilting it!  Lots of feathers and stippling, but the solid grey background is the perfect place to show off some quilting.

DSC_0001 adj

 

DSC_9952

 

I added some size options to the pattern.  The math on this pattern was challenging for me, along with figuring out a way to piece the pattern, while achieving the look that I wanted – so why not complicate the math some more by adding size options!  Haha.  It is all worth it in the end.  Otherwise I get lots of emails from quilters asking me to figure it out for them.  I also experimented with different background colors, from grey, to aqua, to white.   I like how adding a colored background adds interest, without busy-ness that takes away from the design.

DSC_0390 adj crop

 

Lastly, this photo shows the scale of the runner on a table.

DSC_0424 adj

 

If you are interested in these beautiful fabric lines, the cover quilt is made with Tucker Prairie, the wall quilt with Hello Darling and the runner with Prairie – all by Moda fabrics.

 

 

My next pattern is called Seville.  Joel and I were in Seville 5 years ago.  I loved the colors and all the geometric patterns on the floors there.  This star design reminds me of that, though not quite as complicated as the mosaic floors there.

seville pattern front 600

 

Once again, the design starts with strip units, and depending on your color placement, you get two different looking stars.

DSC_0288 adj dark grey

 

Notice that the star in the runner is a little different from the one in the quilt?  Both are constructed with simple diamond 4-patch blocks.  I couldn’t decide which one I liked better, so I wrote both options into the pattern (Which required a whole second set of instructions, by the way.)  It also complicated the math, because now the cutting for the stars was different for both options.  And while I am in the business of complicating things for myself, lets add size options to both color options.  Are you still with me?  My brain still hurts from all the calculations – and so does my mother’s (she is my wonderful pattern tester!!!)  Again, all worth it in the end to be able to include all the size options.

DSC_0432 adj

 

I also had a lot of fun quilting this one.  All that white is the perfect place to show off some stitching.

DSC_0290 adj

 

DSC_0487

 

(By the way, my binding isn’t actually this wavy.  Our grass was a little long, so it wouldn’t lay flat!)

 

DSC_0490

 

As I mentioned, I included quite a few size options.  The other sizes are larger and can be used for beds, but I also included the option below.  It can be used as a wall quilt, large topper/tablecloth or tree skirt.  Can’t you just picture it done up in Christmas fabrics?  I also love it in the Gooseberry fabric line shown below.

DSC_0437 adj crop DSC_0444 adj crop

PS:  No Y-seams in this pattern either.

 

So there you have it.  Leave a comment to be entered into a giveaway of the new patterns (all 4).  If you are interested in purchasing the patterns, they are available as paper patterns here and here.  For PDF patterns, click here.  Or, better yet, ask your local quilt shop for them!

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Fabric Trends, Machine Quilting, Pattern of the Week, Quilting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

80 Responses to New Fall 2015 Pattern Preview – Part 2

  1. Jean says:

    Do you mark those feathers before quilting or are you able to “wing it.”? Beautiful. My head hurts thinking about the chore of figuring it all out!

  2. Diane W says:

    I really love the bright colors… cheery. And of course, nice pretty patterns, like always.

  3. Carol C says:

    Lovely quilts! I heartily dislike EPP so the first pattern especially is calling my name.

  4. Brita says:

    How does your brain figure out all those calculations!!! They’re all really pretty, I’m glad I wouldn’t have to choose if I won 😆

  5. Paula Lipe says:

    Gosh, those quilts are stunning. I love the grey background in the first quilt.

  6. Susan C says:

    Beautiful patterns! I especially like the one that has the look of EPP. Thank you for doing both the designing and the math.

  7. marie says:

    Wonderful patterns to make as gifts, or maybe to keep myself.

  8. Vicki in MN says:

    I agree I love the look of EPP but not so sure I like doing it, but then I have only started with them a little! But your pattern looks awesome!! Love all the new ones🙂

  9. Marie Pearson says:

    These are all really great. My favorite is the Seville runner. I wouldn’t mind going there, too! Thanks for the constant creativity – we all benefit!

  10. Lori in NC says:

    I love your hexies, and those stars are gorgeous. And as always, your fabric choices are lovely.

  11. Marsha Nelson says:

    Garden Party is so cute as a table topper. I would make the Seville into a bed quilt. Love the colors you have used.

  12. Teri says:

    Can you tell me the sizes of the garden party I see they are several sizes bit does not give an idea as to what the larger sizes are that I could see

    Thanks

    Teri

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  13. Nancy says:

    Love the patterns! Really like the Seville table runner! Would love to make one! Thanks for creating the new patterns.

  14. Teri Stiepel says:

    Absolutely love both of these quilts. I also love English Paper Piecing! I really like the them all💕

    Teri

  15. Patricia says:

    So pretty quilts, favorite is Garden Party but both will be on my to do list.

  16. Gale says:

    Love the awesome photos and patterns. Must add the ruler to my Christmas wish list and the patterns of course.

  17. Linda Cwynar says:

    Same here wanting the ruler for Christmas. The stitching is especially nice. Love all the colors in all the quilts. I like the Seville, all the stitching is perfectly placed.

  18. Karen Wolter says:

    love the new patterns and quilts, they are great. will be waiting to get the pattern at fall retreat. see ya there

  19. Darlene B says:

    Love all your new patterns! Somehow you always come up with a great new look to a pattern. Love the machine pieced EPP look!

  20. Jen B says:

    I don’t usually like hexagon quilts, but yours is lovely. I wouldn’t want to sew it by hand either – I don’t trust my stitching not to come undone.

  21. Kris P says:

    Heather, I love these new patterns! I’m crazy for EPP and especially 60 degree diamonds. I can’t wait to give these a try on the sewing machine. I just finished EPP’ing a small wall hanging, and it took forever! Next time, I’m giving your method a try. Congrats on another set of great patterns.

  22. Debbie says:

    I love all the patterns Heather. I would like to start with the table runner. Thanks for the draw and the new ideas.

  23. Gretchen says:

    Love the Seville pattern. It would look beautiful in my guest room.

  24. I love all of them. Very beautiful

  25. Wow! Love Seville! Thanks for the chance to win your patterns!

  26. Sue singer says:

    These are some of the greatest designs you have done.

  27. Linda says:

    These might be my favorite quilts by you yet–just beautiful—-I would love to make them all..

  28. Sandy A in St. Louis says:

    Oh, I love these patterns! Seville is gorgeous! Thanks for sharing.

  29. Deborah Manning says:

    All of them are Beautiful. Love all of the designs and colors. As always, your work is Wonderful.

  30. Sharon Rhudy says:

    Love your new patterns. I am not a fan of English paper piecing, so I look forward to your new pattern and runners

  31. Debbie says:

    Love these clever hexagon designs, Heather! The quilting in the white space came out beautiful.

  32. Ann in NC says:

    Great new patterns! I always enjoy seeing your new patterns and fabrics. Thanks to all of the hard work you and your mother invest in pattern design and testing! It pays off to know your patterns are accurate! Gorgeous samples – piecing and quilting!

  33. LindaV says:

    I don’t know how you keep coming up with all these great, new ideas and patterns! I love every one of these!

  34. Jane Eilderts says:

    Wow!! I love your new patterns!! anxioud to make them!!

  35. Elizabeth says:

    I can’t believe how clever you are with rulers! I just love your patterns!

  36. Donna W says:

    Love your new patterns. Thanks for the chance to win them

  37. Both Seville and Garden Party are lovely! I am constantly impressed with your creativity. Keep those pretty patterns coming!

  38. Pam E. says:

    Love the new designs and your creativity!

  39. Mary says:

    All so beautiful, as usual! I especially love the Seville pattern in the tablerunner and table topper.

  40. Deb G. in VA says:

    I love your new patterns, especially the different size options! Sometimes I love a pattern, but don’t have the time to make the entire quilt, so a table runner is a great option. Thanks for the chance to win a copy of your wonderful patterns!

  41. MaryAnn says:

    Love the patterns, so fresh and pretty.

  42. Cindy says:

    Beautiful! Thank you for your hard work. It is a blessing to have patterns that are so thoughtfully prepared. And thank you for the chance to win.

  43. peggy says:

    Love all the patterns, especially “seville”….I have tried EPP but find I never get around to making anything with the pieces..I really like the table topper…lovely!

  44. Jo Anne Hawks says:

    Great patterns. I especially like all the stars.

  45. Frankie says:

    Gorgeous quilts! I love both patterns so much. When I scrolled down and saw Seville though….just wow!

  46. Amy L says:

    No Y seams! Seville is just gorgeous! And I love that you figured out a way to get the look of EPP, without the papers. Thanks!

  47. Pat D says:

    Love your new patterns Heather. I too like the look of EPP but get bored with the process. What a wonderful way to achieve the look. Thanks for a chance to win!!

  48. Every quilt or topper is stunning! I would love to give these patterns a try. Thanks for doing the math and figuring things out.

  49. Theresa Woodruff says:

    Love all of them! And thank you for size options too! 👍

  50. Kristi says:

    Your quilts are gorgeous!! I love them all.

  51. Joan M says:

    Love all the designs! So bright and cherry!

  52. Cecilia says:

    These are beautiful! I do like having several size options and I really like the fact that there are no Y seams.🙂

  53. pigsinpajamas says:

    Ooh, I love the Garden Party one! I don’t have the patience for EPP either so this looks super!

  54. Julie in WA says:

    As always, I love your patterns! You have a real knack for creating Lively beautiful quilts!

  55. NancyL says:

    Love these patterns! I don’t like EPP either, but can’t wait to try your method!

  56. Vivian says:

    Love these two and am intrigued by the piecing process. Hexies with no EPP? And how are the backgrounds pieced to those stars? Also love how these are quilted: lots of continuous curves and how the stippling pops the feathers. Too cool!

  57. GrannyC says:

    As usual, your flair for color and design shines through – and the quilting really accentuates each portion of your quilts!

  58. Janice says:

    I love them, Heather! Thanks for the chance to win!

  59. Debbie Wright says:

    These are some of the prettiest quilts I have ever seen. I just love all of your work and how you find time to do all of this with two small boys is beyond me but I’m glad you do. Would love to make a table runner using this pattern. Hope I win!!

  60. Michele says:

    I just love all of these!! I love to do EPP but this is very intriguing. I see some new patterns in my future.

  61. Karen Gorse says:

    Another great pattern. Can’t wait to try it.
    Karen

  62. Roseann K says:

    Love the new patterns especially the one done in Gooseberry. Seville is my fav

  63. Terri F. says:

    Seville is awesome! Thanks for the chance to win !

  64. ColleenM says:

    Love the new patterns, especially Seville!

  65. Deb says:

    i love table runners, and yours are beautiful. I’d love to experiment with your patterns

  66. Lorraine says:

    Love these designs! The Garden Party tablerunner is a great idea; the design still shows when you have a centerpiece in the middle.

  67. Kim Getchel says:

    I really like the Seville pattern and all its options, love the gooseberry fabric also! Beautiful quilt!

  68. Karen says:

    I love the Seville table runner. Great patterns using great fabric. Thanks for the chance to win the patterns.

  69. Wanda says:

    I love these, Heather! We had so much fun when you came to our retreat in July. I finished the king-sized quilt that I started that day last Thursday morning before we had to set up for our quilt show. Nothing like stretching it out until the last minute!

  70. Tina McNamara says:

    Heather, beautiful patterns. I LOVE the Seville pattern and the different fabric & size options will definately have to get that one. Also love the Christmas stockings & ornaments. My brain hurts just thinking about what type of math was invoved with these patterns. LOL

  71. Tracee says:

    Oh I do love Seville!

  72. zehrina says:

    The patterns look just stunning! My favourite fabric right now Gooseberry . Thanks for chance to win.

  73. Cindy says:

    Love your patterns! And I love that you give us the looks we love with easier construction! They are all so beautiful!!

  74. Estrella says:

    Gracias por este bloque de estrella homenaje a mi ciudad Sevilla es muy bonito

  75. Janie says:

    Your quilts are beautiful. Love your color combinations. Thank you for the giveaway.

  76. Janet Sabol says:

    You have a wonderful way of putting colors together. I really love hexagons and, especially, if you don’t have to do handwork! I do up any of those patterns right away! Thank you for the giveaway.

  77. Diane Ruby says:

    Your quilts are beautiful, and the quilting is outstanding! Love your blog — I have been a long-time follower!

  78. Sandy Keeler says:

    I am in awe. Love all your hexagon patterns and can relate to the problem with the left hand pinching. I am so inspired every time I visit your blog!

  79. Mary H says:

    I love them all. Thank you for doing all the math for us. Have a great weekend. It is beautiful here in NH.

  80. Janet Sabol says:

    I love doing hexagon work–They’re gorgeous. I also really like the Seville pattern and all the possibilities! I’d love to check out these patterns.

Leave a Reply

