Let It Snow QAL

Hello!  Anybody still here?

DSC_1656

Happy New Year – only 19 days late!  It’s been even longer than that since I’ve posted.  It isn’t that I’m not busy making things, it’s just really hard to find time to take photos and get them posted.  I also have so many things I’m working on that I can’t share just yet.  As I look around my studio, I have at least 15 quilting projects going (most of them small), a few knitting projects, and some garment sewing.  As a business owner, I am constantly bombarded by all the things I should be doing.  Blogging, Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, Newsletters, Teaching, etc. etc.  But, when it really comes down to it, I LOVE making things.   I get so overwhelmed by all of those things I should be doing that I don’t know where to start and I just go back to the sewing machine.  I guess that makes me very bad at marketing, but I have a lot of fun while being bad at marketing😉

So what does that mean for the new year?  I will still by stopping in here and there.  I will still be posting on Instagram a little bit.  In between, I am busy being a mother and finishing my newest book that I am working on.  I also thought I would do a little QAL (quilt along) – if anybody wanted to join me.

A while back I finished up this quilt.

DSC_8326

 

I had a few tree blocks leftover, so I made them into this runner

DSC_1654 adj

 

It was really fun to be able to make something with those extra blocks.   Winter is so dreary in Minnesota, that I find I make an abundance of winter quilts to help cheer up my house at this time of year.  I like how this runner can be used for Christmas, but can also be kept out for the Winter.

DSC_1653

 

It looks so cheery on my table, despite the bleak winter outside right now.

DSC_1199

 

And – if you wonder why I have trouble getting blog pictures – This is why.  No matter if I set the runner on the floor or table, he is all over it!

DSC_1589

 

If anybody is interested in this pattern,  it can be found in my Angles With Ease 2 book and uses my Triangler ruler.    The runner pattern isn’t in the book, because I finished it well after the book was published.  For those who would like to quilt along with me, you can make either project (or both).  I will put together a cutting list for the runner, and you can follow along in the book for the instructions.  Here is another shot of the large quilt. It measure 46″ x 53″.  The runner measures 16 1/2″ x 59″.

DSC_6522 adj best crop

 

Is anybody interested?  If you are, please leave me a comment or send me an email at hmulder@wecnet.com.  This will help me know if I should write up the cutting instructions for the runner or not.

 

If you are wondering if you happen to have the right fabric in your stash, the wall quilt uses 1 Layer Cake and the Runner uses a minimum of 5 – 10″ squares and some 3″ x 20″ strips for the border.  You could also uses up leftover strips that are just laying around.

If you don’t already have the book and ruler, please ask for it at you LQS!  You can find them here and here.  I am offering 25% off the book for those joining the QAL.  Just use the code QALBOOKSALE.

I hope you’ll join me!  It always helps motivate me to do something with someone🙂

DSC_1197

 

 

 

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Machine Quilting, Quilt Along, Quilting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

52 Responses to Let It Snow QAL

  1. Beth says:

    Just ordered the book and ruler! Love the runner and the quilt and would love to QAL🙂

  2. Cheryl Kirk says:

    I would love to quilt along with you. I have the book and the ruler and have not used them yet. I have too many projects I want to do. This will help me focus.

  3. Becky Bradshaw says:

    Love the runner and the quilt. I would love to QAL! Please write up the table runner directions!

  4. Marsha says:

    I’m interested. Enjoying small projects these days since I work 40+ hours a week – and that’s just the ones outside the home!

  5. Vicki in MN says:

    Sure I’d be up for doing the runner! I have the book, thanks to winning it from you🙂

  6. Karen Wolter says:

    love the runner. Have the book but have not made the quilt yet. Have made other projects with you ruler.

  7. Kris P says:

    Heather, I’d love to quilt along with you with you. I purchased both the book and the ruler while your trunk show was at Millie P’s. A QAL is just the incentive I need to put them to use.

  8. KimG says:

    I would be interested also!. I think I remember seeing that your Mom made the quilt in Holly’s Tree Farm by Sweetwater, would love to see another picture of that, if I remembered correctly. I wanted to make that so this might help me get started on it. Thanks!

  9. Elaine M says:

    I have the book and ruler and that quilt is on my “to do” list, I would love runner instructions. I just finished the petals on a string quilt from that book and would like to try a few more. The ruler really makes a complicated looking quilt easy!

  10. Sue says:

    Will be ordering a book & ruler if you ship to Australia? Just love both the quilt & table runner!!! Always love all things christmas & especially projects that are bright & colourful & fun!!!
    Cheers Sue

  11. Heide says:

    Super cute runner as well as quilt, love the fabric and your cute little helper!

  12. Carol Bender says:

    Love the Christmas table runner I am a scrappy quilter one of my favorites is the rocky road to Kansas block! Adios Carol Heather Peterson posted: “Hello! Anybody still here? Happy New Year – only 19 days late! It’s been even longer than that since I’ve posted. It isn’t that I’m not busy making things, it’s just really hard to find time to take photos and get them posted. I also have so ma”

  13. Pam says:

    Count me in. I can use the runner. Got the book during your last sale.

  14. Kris says:

    Beautiful pattern! What a doll face your little one is! Both of them!!
    xo Kris

  15. Evelyn Rau says:

    I would like to make the runner, but I wold love to put the cabin block into it . Any chance of that? As a 74 year old gramma, I love seeing the pictures of your darling boys.

  16. Sue says:

    Love all thing christmas & especially when they are done in such nice bright colors.
    Would like to get a book & ruler if you ship to Australia. & would love to make both the quilt & the table runner. What layer cake did you use? Thanks!!!
    Cheers Sue

    • Hi Sue – I actually just used scraps from my stash for the runner. Most of the fabrics were from a Christmas lined designed by Kate Spain. It’s quite a few years old now, so I don’t remember the name anymore. If you like the Layer Cake shown in the larger version, it’s called Evergreen by Basic Grey. I do ship to Australia, if you decide to join in!

  17. That quilt is on my Make list for this year, so I am in. I already have your book and the ruler and lots of fabric. Ready when you are!!

  18. Louise Blackwood says:

    I have just ordered book & ruler.
    I would like to QAL & get myself motivated!!!
    Louise

  19. Pat D says:

    I’d love to sew along with you. I have the book and ruler.

  20. Becky says:

    I have the book and ruler and would love to have this be my first QAL!

  21. Diane says:

    Love reading your newsletters. Your children are too precious! I would love the pattern and
    Instructions. I also have the book and ruler. Thanks so much!

  22. Jane Eilderts says:

    I would love to quilt along!! I have both the book and ruler and have wanted to make the quilt so this would inspire me!

  23. Shirley J B says:

    Yes, I would love to quilt along with you, love the runner!

  24. Carolyn Sands says:

    I’m in!

  25. Pamela says:

    Too cute! I’d love to join your QAL.

  26. Monika says:

    I’m in! I have the ruler, just need the book now!

  27. embroideredtreasures says:

    I would love to make the table runner — I have the ruler just need to purchase the book! Happy New Year to you also!!

  28. Thelma says:

    I have the book and ruler, would love the additional information for the adorable table runner.

  29. Gilda says:

    I’d love to join in too!

  30. Betty says:

    I’m in. I have book and ruler. Quilt is on my to-do list

  31. Cindy says:

    Would love to do the QAL! Thank you!

  32. Bridget says:

    Would love to QAL!! I will go to my LQS to buy the book as I like to keep them busy. The book has been on my wish list for awhile so this is the push I need. I have never QALed before🙂

  33. Mary Hickey says:

    I’m in. Have the book and ruler. Just need to find the fabric and I will be ready. Happy New Year to you and your family.

  34. Mari says:

    I’ve already made two projects from this book and would love to do another runner! Thanks for sharing!

  35. Kathie L says:

    I already have this book and your ruler. I’d love to add a small project to my list of things to do this winter.

  36. Joan Bommen says:

    I look forward to the QAL. Great idea!

  37. Theresa says:

    I love your quilt and the table runner. A QAL sounds great!

  38. Gloria says:

    I have the book and ruler and like the table runner. Will watch for add’l info.

  39. Cheryl says:

    I bought your book and ruler when you first released them and still haven’t made any projects. I would love to participate! Thanks.

  40. Connie says:

    I would love to quilt along! I just ordered the book and have the ruler already. I would also love to have the cutting directions for the runner. THANKS!

  41. Pat Anderson says:

    I have your ruler and your last two books–won’t be joining the QAL but wanted to tell you that you get an amazing amount done. Being a wife and mother is more than a full-time job so don’t be so hard on yourself! Thanks for the inspiration!

  42. Kris says:

    Count me in! Hopefully for both but definitely the table runner. Thank you!!!

  43. Megan Beckler says:

    I’m interested, also. There’s no such thing as too many table runners!

  44. Theresa W. says:

    Sign me up! I have the book and ruler already. Tablerunner for sure, possibly the quilt too…Lord knows I have enough fabric stash for both! Thanks!

  45. Nancy says:

    I’d love to make the runner! I’ll give the QSL a try.

  46. Louise Blackwood says:

    My Angles With Ease 2 & ruler arrived today. Thank you so much.

  47. Junelle says:

    I have the book and ruler and have been wanting to make the wall quilt. I would love to do your QAL.

  48. Gayle G says:

    I just love your quilt and runner patterns, and your beautiful fabric choices as well. I have two of your books but would need to get Angles with Ease 2 and the ruler, which I have been wanting to purchase anyway. I would love to join the QAL, if it’s still possible. I found a bunch of fat quarters that I have had for a long time and they would work for the runner, Yay!

  49. susan margeson says:

    Yes yes and yes… please add me again if I have left a reply earlier. I am so behind in my emails. Forgive me.

Leave a Reply

