Painted Lady

So I have a new obsession.

It surprisingly involves lots of handwork – Something I used to be quite impatient with, but am now thoroughly enjoying.   This obsession came about in June, when I went to the Minnesota Quilt Show.  There was one booth there that was fresh and bright and sucked me in right away.  Three kits later . . .  and I thought I was set for handwork for the next 2 years.

Wrong! A short few weeks later, and I had all the handwork done on this project.

DSC_3724 adj

 

It was so much fun to do, that I had it done way sooner than I thought I would.  The pattern is called Painted Lady.  You can find the pattern here and the kit here.  Everything is done with wool, except the background is a woven.  (In person, the background is a better color, but it didn’t photograph well.) I don’t remember a time where I have even bought a kit or made the quilt just as the pattern is written/shown, but I liked this one as is.  I love the fact that though the design uses wool, it is not primitive as most wool projects are.  The colors are bright and the design is modern, so it has a different feel.

DSC_3719 adj

 

When I bought the kit, I figured I would skip all the putsy handwork.  As you can see in the photo above, I followed the pattern and did all the details.  This project was kind of like a good book, I was enjoying it so much, that I didn’t want it to be over just yet – so why not go all out?

DSC_3718 adj

 

I quilted it just like the sample in Fiberworks booth – a 1/2″ cross hatch, right over the applique and stitching.  This is just an Iphone photo from my Instragram feed, but it really shows the quilting.

397

 

This isn’t a great photo either, but it shows how I did the crosshatching.  You do the stitching in one direction first, then take it off the machine, turn it and add the stitching in the other direction.  It’s a design that takes no skill, so even a beginner can do this quilting.

346

 

 

One of the other things I tried on this design, was the thread that the designer used.  The thread is thin, so I used two strands, matching up the repeat so the color variation showed.  I used to hate variegated thread, but I loved what it added to this project.  Isn’t it beautiful?

102

 

That’s all for today.  This isn’t the end of wool applique that will be shown here  –  I have 3 more projects going that use wool🙂

DSC_3726 adj

 

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Machine Quilting, Quilting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Painted Lady

  1. This quilt is absolutely beautiful and I love how simple straight stitching used to quilt can give such an amazing look.

  2. Nan says:

    Just WOW! So gorgeous. I was gifted a pillow kit from an online store called wooly lady. I must get it out & get busy.

  3. Linda says:

    Beautiful…..I love everything about it….Heather, when you quilt like this, do you go the same direction each time??? Not back and forth????

    • Hi Linda – I just went one direction, not back and forth. I did try to go back and forth to save some time, but my thread kept breaking. Going one direction also helps with the puckering that can happen if you alternate your direction.

  4. Marsha Nelson says:

    Beautiful and bright!

  5. Diane says:

    This is just a lovely quilt ! Your enthusiasm is captured here as you meticulously describe every
    Gorgeous detail, fabulous quilting adds just the finishing touch ! Love it ! And Thanks for Sharing !

  6. Arlene M. says:

    I love the applique and the bright colors! It’s so fun.

  7. Frankie says:

    Beautiful! I love wool applique and this one is just gorgeous!

  8. Love! Love! Love!! Oh my– not another quilt I MUST do!!!

  9. Dee says:

    What color is it quilted? Thank you!

  10. Beverly says:

    Beautiful! Love that Cotten and wool are combined. Did you use fusible to adhere the wool appliqués?

  11. AnnieO says:

    Really really pretty! I love handwork but don’t do enough of it. The quilting right over the wool looks marvelous! Enjoy🙂

Leave a Reply

