It’s been a little quiet here on the old blog – but that usually means it’s very busy behind the scenes.  That has been the case over the last month, as I’ve been working on a new booklet.  I decided last minute to publish my idea, so it’s been a scurry of activity trying to make it in time for fall market.  Today, I’m going to give you a sneak peek at the idea, while I’m editing and working on the final photos for a post with a full introduction.

This idea came about because I was trying to piece a complicated looking star from a strip unit.  Something I’ve done before, but this strip unit was first pieced into a chevron, cut apart, sewn back together, then cut apart again.  After lots of trial and error, I thought – “Why don’t I just use a chevron fabric?”  I drew up a little graphic to show you what I mean.


So, first of all, the math was complicated for me to figure out so that there was little waste and you could get one block from a strip set, etc.  It was so much easier to start with the printed chevron!  It eliminated some complicated steps and it allowed me to use different fabrics so each block would look unique.  I immediately ordered a bunch of chevron-ish fabrics to give my idea a try.



I thought finding the chevron fabrics would be a challenge, but I easily found them all in one spot (click here).  This is a bad night-time iphone photo.  They are much prettier in daylight!


As soon as the fabrics arrived, I started cutting.  I cut the chevron fabric into strips and then cut the strips into triangles, stopping to sew every few blocks to see how they would turn out.  Each block was a fun surprise.  Each block only has 6 pieces, so they are quick and easy to sew.



I used some of my scraps to cut small blocks too – because these fabrics were too pretty to waste!  .  . . . .  The famous words of all quilters😉






Those blocks are now part of 7 quilts.   I’m working on a post to share the full shots, so please stop back in a few days!




About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Fabric Trends, Machine Quilting, Pattern of the Week, Quilting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Starstruck

  1. I think you’re onto something! The quilt shops will love to have the chevrons in their stock start moving again, and your booklet will certainly do that!

  2. Very pretty! I love when someone shares design inspiration.

  3. Karen Wolter says:

    love them

  4. Marsha Nelson says:

    Great idea!

  5. Gloria Cotten says:

    These are gorgeous! Can’t wait for the pattern!

  6. Kaye M. says:

    Absolutely gorgeous!

  7. Kris P says:

    How is that!?!? Can’t wait to see the finished product!

  8. Jean says:

    Way cool!

  9. Shelly J says:

    You have such a creative mind! It’s great to see a fresh, new way to use the chevron fabric that has been around for a while. Can’t wait to try this.

  10. Linda Fleming says:

    These are so pretty. Thanks for the inspiration!

  11. Kristi says:

    Wow!! I can’t wait to see all of the quilts!

  12. Molly says:

    The quilt and blocks look awesome and actually seem pretty easy to do! Thank you!

  13. Gale says:

    I absolutely love them. Your quilting on the blue one just makes it look so Beautiful!! This will be a wonderful and much sought after book for sure. Good Luck at quilt market. Looking forward to seeing all the quilts and buying the book.

  14. Patty Bretheim says:

    That was really neat, who would think chevron fabric could make such a wonderful selection of hexies. Keep up the new ideas. Thanks, Patty B

  15. Jenny Wilder says:

    Really fun, love reading your stories!

  16. Tina McNamara says:

    I LOVE this idea!

  17. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this! What a great idea!

  18. susan margeson says:

    Creative and inspirational. Wait to hear and see more.

  19. Kathie L says:

    I love the kaleidoscope look.

  20. Great idea!!! Can’t wait to try it out:)

  21. Jenny says:

    I love the turquoise quilt. I think it’s the best I’ve seen in a long time. Definitely one of my favorites from your work!

  22. Pingback: Introducing Starstruck | Trends and Traditions

  23. Tiffany says:

    This is amazing! What a great idea!

  24. Judy Werner says:

    Love these! Looks like sew much fun! Great Job Heather!

Leave a Reply

