Garden Party

I finished a quilt that I have been working on for the last 11 months.  Yeah!  I saw it last year at the Minnesota quilt show in the Fiberworks Quilt Shop booth.  I debated for quite a while over if I should buy the pattern and kit.  I don’t usually buy kits or do quilts with lots of applique – this quilt has a ton!  I wasn’t sure if I would really stick with it to finish it, but the design and the fabrics were so pretty.  Now, I’m happy to say I actually finished it and it’s hanging in my stairway.  It’s called Garden Party.

 

I don’t have a great spot to hang it for a photos, so my only option was to lay it out on the grass.  It doesn’t look as pretty as it could, but this will have to do.   Even though my photos don’t do it justice, I hope you can see all the pretty prints that were in the kit.  I took a photo of the ones that were included in mine.  In addition to those print, there were 6 background prints and several text prints for the sashing.  I didn’t have any similar prints in my stash.

 

The quilt is done with fusible machine applique.  I used the blanket stitch in combination with a small zig zag.  I think it took 2-3 hours to trace, cut and stitch down each block.  At that point, I didn’t have all the small heart-shaped petals on the flower stems yet.  I decided to stitch them down during the machine quilting process.  I don’t like it as well, but I was just wanting to get it finished.

 

 

For the machine quilting, I chose to do a lot of pebble quilting  (which was no fun at all – I hate doing it!) and some easier (and much more fun) stitching in the flower petals.  If you look closely, you will see words quilted in some of the petals.

 

In this block, I stitched my boy’s names.  My photo isn’t very good, so you have to look hard to see them (lower left corner)

 

In this block, I stitched the name of my newest book “Joyful Stitcher.  This quilt was part of the reason why I was so inspired to do a book on applique, so I thought it was fitting to include those words.

 

My lessons learned from this quilt –

I’m really struggling with the fusible products on the market right now.  In the past, I have always used Heat’n’Bond light, but I can’t seem to get it to stick at all anymore.  I can’t figure out what I am doing wrong with it.  I think it works a little better when it’s a new roll, but not much.  I also tried Steam a Seam 2 and I thought the fabric frayed so badly with it.  I also had trouble with the glue sticking to the  paper layer that I hadn’t traced my pattern on (but only part of the time, so I wasn’t tracing it to the wrong side).  I’m curious if anyone would like to share their opinions on their favorite fusible?

 

Secondly, I discovered a new thread for doing the applique – Sulky Blendables.   I got this multi pack  (though the spools in the photo might not be exactly what was in that pack).  I liked the weight and the fact that the thread is variegated.

 

If you are interested in this design, you can find the pattern here and the kit here.

 

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Decorating, Machine Quilting, Quilting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Garden Party

  1. Donna says:

    What a pretty quilt! Love that. I can see why you would want to buy this pattern and kit. Nice work on that. I love applique quilts. So pretty!

  2. Sharon says:

    What a gorgeous quilt, and equally gorgeous fabric! I’m glad you stuck with it. Congrats!

  3. Janneke Vanderree says:

    Love this quilt.I normally do not like the sashing in these sort of applique quilts, but here it looks stunning. I use WunderUnder always!!! and I love it!

  4. Kathy says:

    I too like Heat ‘n Bond lite. Do you pre wash your fabric? I believe the instructions suggest you pre wash your fabrics for a better bond.

  5. Lana says:

    Love, love your quilt!!! I love the quilting and the words! I’m really tempted to get this kit— the colors are gorgeous!

  6. maureen says:

    So pretty. I love the colors and the workmanship is awesome! (And I’m all for raw edge appliqué–needle turn is not fun for me.)

  7. Eileen Snee says:

    Congratulations, your quilt looks wonderful.

  8. kshackabq says:

    That is really gorgeous. And I love your quilting, even though it was a challenge. The words quilted into the flowers is very fun. Great colors too. Interesting to read about the difficulties with fusible. Thanks for your wonderful blog!

  9. Sue says:

    LOVE your quilt! I’m always on the look out for new thread to try. What is the weight of the Sulky brand?

  10. Mary Ann Scanlon says:

    Such a pretty quilt! And I love the ideas of quilting words and names into a special quilt. I have struggled with fusible the last few years too but was introduced to one new to quilters by Alex
    Anderson. It’s Quilters Select by Floriani and it is terrific! Comes in several versions but I have been so happy every time I have used.

  11. Patty B. says:

    That is absolutely beautiful. You have so much patience- not sure I would have stuck with it that long. Thanks for sharing!! Patty B.

  12. Tina McNamara says:

    This is a truly a stunning quilt. I understand why it took you 11 months to make it. I would love to see it hanging on your wall.

  13. Jamie Kouba says:

    I have this pattern and can’t wait to make it! So beautiful. I really like a fusible product called Soft Fuse. If you heat it well, it sticks very well, yet has a soft hand that one can even hand needle through. It is available in rolls or sheets. Happy stitching!

  14. Pat D says:

    Gorgeous quilt!!!!!! You are one talented quilter. I am especially impressed since you have two little boys to chase after.

  15. Nina says:

    What a beautiful quilt! I really like the way you quilted words into the flowers. I have a question about your background fabric, I noticed some tiny dots. Am I correct in saying that it was a patterned print?

  16. Wow! It is beautiful. I always love the quilts you design and make. I have a few quilts that need applique and you have inspired me to start working on them.

  17. Liz says:

    As a quilter, l really appreciate all the hard work you put into this one. It is beautiful.

  18. Vicki in MN says:

    Absolutely gorgeous and just has your name written all over it! I can see it was a lot of work but so worth it.

  19. Jane Easton Ellis says:

    Oooooo,, ahhhhh .

  20. Candie Graham says:

    Absolutely stunning! The 11 months of work on this was worth it. As for the fusibles, I am convinced that it’s not us but the product. I always had good luck in the past but not so much anymore. I’ve messed up too many projects in the last few years trying to make it work. I will also try some of the suggestions here. Thanks for sharing!

  21. Robin says:

    That is amazing! The picture you took with the fabric pieces, do you know where I can get that back ground piece. I love that with the cream and then all the light colors mixed in. Of even if you know what it is called? Thank you. rluedtke@cox.net

  22. Cindy says:

    Your quilt is so beautiful! What an accomplishment!

  23. jettsrus says:

    Oh. My. Gosh. Love this quilt. As im a novice sewer, I’m always amazed at the talent thats out there. And Ive never seen variegated thread, how fun is that?

  24. AnnieO says:

    That is a bright and beautiful quilt! Love the fabrics and designs. Sweet to personalize with your boys’ names and book title. Congrats on a wonderful finish. I’ve never done pebbles in my free motion quilting as I’ve been sure I’d hate it! Yours looks very 😊!

  25. I’m making this quilt right now. I bought the pattern in Houston last fall and got started on it while recovering from surgery in May. I’m doing mine by hand and am enjoying it so much. It was fun to read your post about it. It sure is beautiful! And as far as fusibles go…..Soft Fuse! It’s the only kind I use when doing fusible projects.

  26. Audrey says:

    Hi,
    I seal my extra fusible in plastic containers or bags when storing it. This seems to keep it fresh and usable for my next project. Hope this helps.

Leave a Reply

