Big Splash, Part 2

My latest fabric line, Big Splash previewed at market this spring.  I shared a little bit about the inspiration for the line in this post, if you want to read more about it.

 

It comes out in November, but is available for shops to preorder now from Henry Glass Fabrics (or their distributors).  I got some early yardage and have made a few quilts that I want to share with you today.  These are the prints that we have included in the line.

 

The free pattern with the line looks is shown below – with a fun Octopus applique in the center.  The pattern will be available on HG’s website (it is currently on there, but the directions will be updated.  They aren’t incorrect, but they are for an entirely appliqued quilt.  I want the blocks pieced, so we are working on changing that.)

 

While I wait for the rest of the yardage, my design directed had a digital quilt printed of the free pattern.  It has found a home on my son Carter’s new big boy bed (he just turned 5).  I made my son Max a small throw with his name appliqued on it.

 

I used some of the patches from the panel to embellish the name band.

 

This quilt takes 7 fat quarters, plus some background fabric and the chevron for the binding.  The pattern is called Oh Baby and can be found in my “Little Quilts for Little Kids” book.

 

 

One of my favorite prints from the line is the chevron.  Not only is it great for borders and binding, it’s also great for my Starstruck technique.

 

I made a few more of those little stars and finished the small runner from the book.   Each one is a fun surprise to open as you press that final seam, that they are highly addictive!  This runner takes roughly 1 yard of chevron fabric and 1/2 yard of the grey.

 

Some close-ups of the blocks –

 

Lastly,  I made the Puppy Love quilt from my “Little Quilts for Little Kids” book.  I switched out the puppy applique for one inspired by the little crab print from the line.

 

This quilt uses the chevron again, along with all of the other prints from the line except the panel.  I would have used it for the backing, if I had enough yardage left.

 

If you are interested in this fabric line, please mention it to your local quilt shop.  Preorders are being accepted from quilt shops now and the order to the plant being placed in the next two weeks.  You can click here to go over to Henry Glass’s website to see the entire line or find a sales rep.  If your local shop does not carry the line, I will also be offering kits for the projects that I shared today.

Thanks for stopping by!

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Fabric Trends, Quilting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Big Splash, Part 2

  1. Vicki in MN says:

    Adorable projects and such fun ‘boy’ inspired fabrics!! I can see why the starstruck technique would be addictive!

  2. AnnieO says:

    Beautiful line, love the colors. The octopus is really fun. Congrats on another fabric line and terrific quilt designs.

  3. Vicki H says:

    I love the Starstruck runner.

  4. susan lentz says:

    Just love this! Love everything from Anna’s Treasures.

  5. Claudia V says:

    Nice to see your new line of fabric…. I love it !!! but I thought Henry Glass was done and going out of business ?. Did something change ?

Leave a Reply

