Summer Stitch Along Part 9 – Embellishing

I’ve been trying to sneak in some hand stitching over the past couple weeks.  I’ve finished 3 of the 4 blocks and have a pretty good start on the 4th block.  I have 5 more days before “summer” is over and I just might be able to finish it!  This isn’t the best photo, as my design wall doesn’t get good natural light, but you can see how it’s coming along.

 

After looking at the blocks on my design wall, I decided that the blocks needed a little embellishment.  The original quilt from the book doesn’t have the extra embellishment, but the runner option does.  When I did the runner, I thought it would take a lot of extra time to do the embellishment, but it was so quick!  Here’s a photo of that runner to show you what I mean by embellishment – just a few embroidery stitches like French knots or lazy daisy stitches on the applique shapes.

 

I took some photos of the few embellishment stitches that I did on my sew along project –

These two blocks just have a few extra French knots, which are super quick to do.

 

For this block I added a lazy daisy flower.

 

For this block, I combined a few long stitches, with French knots at the end.

 

If you are doing a different project from the book, you can also add some of these fun, yet simple stitches to make them more visually interesting.

If you are doing the Christmas runner, each ornament has a few embellishments.

 

You can zoom in on the photo above to see more of the details –

 

I will also show this pillow photo again, because it shows how the embellishment makes this so much more interesting:

 

The cover runner also has a few extra French knots in the flower centers.  Again, it’s nothing hard or over the top, just little details that are simple to do.

That’s all for today.  I’ll be back next time to share the Chain Stitch – Another one of my favorite easy stitches!

I hope you enjoy your holiday weekend!  I know we will – We are taking the kids to Storybook Land and we are having a little pickleball tournament at our house.  It’s going to be fun!

 

And one more thing I almost forgot!   Bear Patch Quilting in White Bear Lake, Minnesota has their wools kits put together for the projects in the Joyful Stitcher book.  I mentioned a while back that they were going to be doing this and they sent me a few photos to share.  They have kits for each project from the book, but the photos below show a couple options.  You can contact them at 651-429-1039 if you are interested in ordering them.

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Quilting, Tutorials, wool applique and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Summer Stitch Along Part 9 – Embellishing

  1. Tina McNamara says:

    The little added stitches do make it much more interesting. What I would like to know is whyere you got all the grey background squares. I just love the way they look.

Leave a Reply

