Sept 2017

Life is busy, isn’t it?  Life is so often about efficiency and whatever is most pressing.  But there is so much in life that is precious to enjoy amongst all the work.  With everything going on, I feel like I finish very little to share.  Meals, laundry and dishes don’t make interesting blog posts.  Nor does the exterior of our house that I am almost done painting.

But – I did finish a quilt project.  It’s  one that many of you have seen throughout the summer as I’ve shared my stitching techniques with you.  It is now quilted, bound and shipped off on one of the many trunk shows of mine that travel to quilt shops.  I finished it and had to take pictures on a day where the lighting was really poor, so I will have to wait for it to come back to have its pictures taken properly.

 

The pictures were so poor, that I only took a couple.  You have all seen so many by now, that I didn’t feel too bad about not getting more. You can scroll down to my previous posts to see more detail shots.

 

The precious moments that I was referring to above – in addition to the moments of stitching that I sneak in – are the ones with these guys.

 

They are the unfinished projects that require unlimited amounts of work that will last the next 18 years, but bring joy in some of the most unexpected time – Like finding a field of beautiful flowers and going back to explore.   I say “back” because we went home and put on some decent clothes to get a few pictures.

 

I’ve been traveling a lot for work lately and it always surprises me at the number of people that ask about the boys and ask to see more pictures of them. So here are a few more . . . .

 

 

 

Every photo shoot with Max starts with him pointing at me and yelling “You have poop on your head”.  Then they laugh and laugh.  I don’t remember how it got started – I think just something funny to get the kids to look at the photographer – but it seems it is something that Max will not forget.  So I have many pictures of him pointing at the camera and laughing.  Boys . . . They are full of it!

 

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Family, Quilt Along, Quilting, wool applique and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Sept 2017

  1. Carol Jacobs says:

    What happy kids! Such a blessing.

  2. Leslie says:

    My three year old grandson would think that hilarious as well! Yet he melts my heart when he says (on FaceTime) “Nonnie I miss you soooooo much! When can you come see me?” The miles between us are frustrating, but I’m thankful for technology. I love seeing your boys as well. Thanks for sharing them!

  3. Jean says:

    Love it all. Keep the pictures coming!

  4. Darlene B says:

    Love seeing pictures of your boys – they are absolutely adorable and so photogenic! It makes me laugh to hear the story of Max during photo shoots. Since I only had girls, this never happened with us 🙂

  5. Marsha Nelson says:

    Your pics are always so fun to see. The boys are just darling!

  6. Sue says:

    Love seeing pics of those sweet boys.
    It never ends — my 3 kiddos are all grown up but the silliness…and sweetness…continues as we care for 4 grandchildren. At the end of the day we are tired…and happy.

  7. Oh my goodness! That quilt is AMAZING! Great job:). A quilt like that is hard to be upstaged, but the boys and their cute smiles and funny poop story are the stars here! ❤️❤️❤️

  8. Candie Graham says:

    HaHa, you have poop on your head! That will never be forgotten, nor not funny! I can see your boys in their 30s laughing over that one! They are so adorable. I love your quilt too and have only a couple of years to retirement when I fully plan to make a quilt like this.

  9. Joan M says:

    Love the photos of your handsome boys! Your quilt is gorgeous and I have your new book so I just have to decide which project to start first since I love all of them.

  10. Gale says:

    Love the photos. I can’t believer how much they have grown. I have the new book, just have not found any time to make anything from it. I have been helping our daughter with her two girls. Two year old and 2 month old. They can certainly keep you busy, but a good busy!!

  11. Sue Dee says:

    I see I am not the only one who looks forward to seeing your adorable sons. Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to brighten our days. I do have a funny story to share with you. I was making one of those ‘quilts from a very hot place’ for the last few months and felt I just wanted to sew something quick and easy. So, I thought a hexagon quilt made with a jelly roll would hit the spot. I got the strip sets made, then it was time to go to bed, so I did……couldn’t go to sleep because I just HAD TO cut a few triangles. But, in my sneakiness trying not to wake up my husband, I grabbed the wrong triangle ruler. In my midnight madness, I happily cut two and a half strip sets with your triangler ruler. The next day, I realized what I had done and had to switch over to one of your patterns from Angles with Ease. Now, I am nearly done with the “hot” quilt and am about to put my new blocks up on the design wall. I can’t wait to see how my first Angles with Ease quilt turns out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

