Home for the Holidays

I have been waiting for today –

The day I get to show you a fabric line that I painted up last summer.  I have gotten the go ahead from Henry Glass fabrics that I can spill the beans. . . .

It’s called At Home for the Holidays

The line includes traditional Christmas colors of red and green, plus the black to add some depth and sophistication to the line.  The prints are a combination of traditional motifs and some larger scale prints that give it a modern feel.

Again, trendy and traditional, my favorite combination!

There are only four prints in the line that are specifically Christmas.   I wanted to be able to use these fabrics for Christmas and around the house year-round.  I have lots of red and black in my house, so this line will work in well with my decorating.

For example, this is my dining room – and this fabric line will be perfect in here!

My favorite color in the line is the red.  Deep.  Saturated.  Bright, but not too bright.

I added more ivory prints to the line than I usually do, but I just couldn’t resist the black and red on the ivory background.

Just a close up of some of the apple greens and blacks . . .

By the way, it is a very dark, gloomy day here in MN, so the fabrics in my pictures don’t look as vibrant as they actually are.  But maybe this will help you see what the line really looks like –

I put together this free pattern that shows how I envision the line working together.  I’m excited to make this quilt, but I have to wait for my yardage to come, so this is actually just a digital quilt at the moment . . .

This pattern will be available at http://www.henryglassfabrics.com, later this spring.

Sorry.

Yes, you are going to have to wait until May to be able to get the fabrics.  So why am I showing this to you now?   First of all, I have been holding this secret for like six months now.  Secondly, I thought you might want a heads-up on what’s coming out.  Plus, the fabrics reps are now out selling this line and if you are a shop owner, now is the time to get this line for your store.   I will let the rest of you know when the fabric is available in stores.  I know it seems like we just did the Christmas thing, but Christmas fabrics usually come out in May/June.  The fall fabrics come out in July.  Weird, right?  But this way you have plenty of time to get your Christmas quilts finished 😉

You guys are the first to see this line, so let me know what you think.  I’m always curious to see what your favorite prints and colors are.

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Fabric Trends, Quilting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

107 Responses to Home for the Holidays

  1. Diane Ruby says:

    Love it — can’t wait untill it’s available! You never disappoint us.

  2. Jan says:

    Oh WOW!! So great! I think my favorite 2 are the white with the red and black flowers and the red with the white and black flowers. I think the large black with the white flowers would make an awesome skirt. If I were going for the total Christmas look though, the black with the red poinsettias is so eye catching!

    This must be such a thrill to see your design ideas become reality AND have people actually use them in their projects!

  3. midmainecustomcabinetry says:

    i like them all, but i especially like the blacks. they are so vibrant, and i am really digging fabrics with black right now. i am logged in as my husband, you can check out my blog here
    http://luv2knit-luv2knit.blogspot.com/

    sTacey

  4. Anita says:

    It is beautiful, I like it.

  5. Vicki says:

    Pretty! I love the black with white flowers and the red with diamonds and holly berries.

  6. Kelly O. says:

    So pretty!
    I love the look of the damask-ish fabrics and that red IS RICH!
    So luxurious.
    mmm…. I love that red and white stripe and see it as the binding on my next Christmas quilt!!

  7. DianeY says:

    They are so beautiful together in the quilt! Love them all, but especially all the red ones

  8. Vickie E says:

    I really really love your color choices…I am buying this for sure.

  9. Tracy says:

    Well, you’ve done it again! I’ll be forwarding the link to this post over to The Boss to add to my “things I want you to buy for the shop” list (the other thing on the list is the Wildflowers line!).

    Love the colors (the red looks hot pink on my screen, but I have a good imagination) and the designs are very verstatile!

  10. Deb G says:

    I love it! Thanks for the preview!

  11. Patay says:

    Love the fabrics and can’t wait to get to use them. Anxcious to see the quilt made up, since you do such wonderful work. I really like all the fabrics you have designed. Usually, I’m done thinking about Christmas for awhile in January but would actually start something if those fabrics were available now. Very nice.

  12. Love it! The black & white flowers are gorgeous.

  13. Diane says:

    Love it, love it, love it. Especially the reds, but they’re all great.

  14. Mary Flynn says:

    OMG!! The green is to die for!! They all work absolutely wonderful together and I must agree will look absolutely gorgeous in your home (and mine!) Hee!! Congrats!! I’m glad you were able to spill the beans with us today.

  15. Coni says:

    I always love your design and the colors you choose. I am going to contact my sales rep right away and add the entire line to my online fabric store for the holidays. It’s beautiful!

  16. Mignonne says:

    It is all gorgeous!!!

  17. Beverly says:

    Love the patterns … and love the red, black, white & green – I use those colors throughout my house so it’d give me lots of options!

  18. Lisa says:

    i LOVE your fabric and the pattern is beautiful! I so can not wait to order some! I have nothing in my house in those colors, but I’m thinking that may have to change real soon! Also, I posted a picture of your fabrics on my blog to let everyone know about them, I hope that is ok. Have a great weekend and thanks so much for the great fabrics your provide us!!

  19. Jenny says:

    lovely fabric. i also appreciate that it works well for Christmas, or mostly any time of year! I love the prints on ivory…so versitle. lovely!

  20. Susan says:

    I love it, and my eye went immediately to the diagonal red/white stripe ~~ woo hooo! It will be great for binding.

  21. Ginger says:

    That green is so crisp and pretty. It pairs well with the black and cream. Love them all!

  22. Amy says:

    Wow, very beautiful fabric line. Can’t wait till it is available. Will you be offering any new kits anytime soon? I’ve purchased two so far and I’m hoping you will offer kits for the Wildflower line and this new line. Please let us know!

    PS – I love the black fabrics the best. 🙂

  23. Jen says:

    I think I found my fabric for my tree skirt! 😉

  24. Kim says:

    Gorgeous!!! Heather you have a beautiful vision and we are so lucky and grateful that you can interpret that to gorgeous fabrics. You nailed it with “trendy traditions.” thank you!

  25. Darlis says:

    These are absolutely BEAUTIFUL!
    Will be waiting to see what you make with them.

  26. Carol says:

    I am in love! I can’t wait to buy this collection!

  27. Jocelyn says:

    Oh wow Heather, these fabrics are so beautiful. Very striking. Can’t wait to see them in person.

  28. Nancy E says:

    The fabric is yummy! The four red fabrics are my favorite.

  29. Giggles says:

    Lovely! My front room is similar coloring to your dining room and these fabrics would be absolutely perfect in there!

  30. angie/sweetbabies00 says:

    Great job! It’s really beautiful! I have to get all the reds! Plus some Black and some Ivory, too. 🙂

  31. Cindy C. says:

    What a great line, Heather!! They really will look wonderful in your dining room – and in my Kitchen!! I can already envision me using them to make up a wallhanging with palcemats to match. Oh – the possibilities!!

    I’m sure glad you spilled the beans – yummy fabrics.

  32. mariajhmom says:

    I can’t wait!!!

  33. Joy P says:

    Beautiful! If I need a secret kept I know who to tell it too (lol). I like that your new line isn’t all about Xmas, the black on ivory would make a great background fabric. So elegant.

  34. Kathie Laposata says:

    I love the green that you’ve paired with the red/black. I’m also glad you’ve got some lights in there. Too often fabric lines are just too many mediums. You’ve got a good range of value. Kathie L in Allentown

  35. Shelly says:

    Of all the fabric collections you have designed, this is my favorite.

  36. A Betty says:

    Very pretty and fun! I like all the reds and the two black and white prints. Now all we have to do is imagine what we will make.

  37. Patty says:

    Simply stunning!!!

  38. Peggy says:

    Absolutely gorgeous. I love Christmas fabrics that have black in them…makes everything look so rich!!!
    Peggy in NJ

  39. Mary-Kay says:

    I love them all. A few favourites would be the black with the red flowers with the swirls in the background and the black with the green swirls and red berries in it. I’m planning on asking my friend if she would order this line. She has all your books in her shop but I don’t think she has any fabric. I’m calling her right now. I can’t wait to see this fabric up close. Great job! And your dining room is beautiful.

  40. susan says:

    I love the whole collection. Really like the black. You have inspired me to use more black in my quilts and it really makes the other colors pop.

  41. Lisa says:

    I think this is my favorite of all your collections!!! I love the graphic look of these prints with the flowers!!! I’m a red person, so this is right up my alley!!!!!!! Can’t wait to see it come out!!

  42. I love it! I love the prints, the colors, everything! The black and white added in with the red and green is beautiful! I will definitely have to get my hands on this when it comes out! I like that the green is that apple green too. So cute!

  43. Be still my heart! Wonderful prints and I can’t wait until they come out.

  44. Paula says:

    Wow! Not very often does a fabric line take my breath away, but this sure does! It’s wonderful! Can’t wait till it comes out!

  45. Linda P. says:

    This will definitely be on my list!!! I just love that it doesnt “scream” Christmas, and that we can keep these out even after the holidays. Reds are always my favorites – I think you’ve really hit a winner. Is there a new book along with this line?? Thanks for the awesome preview!!

  46. Carol T says:

    Oh my gosh!!! I love this quilt and all that fabric!!!!

  47. Cindy says:

    Beautiful! I really love the reds. Also the creams with the black and red. I also love the fact that most of the fabric can be used for times other than Christmas. Great job, Heather!!

  48. Lani says:

    We ordered it yesterday! As soon as I saw it, I knew we had to have it.

    Love the colors and the designs are to die for.

    Congratulations on another outstanding collection 🙂

  49. Katie B says:

    Gorgeous! I love that your Christmas line has non-Christmas prints. So versatile. I think my favorite are the three in the top photo: the black/white, apple green/white, and red/white.

  50. Jessie says:

    I love this line! I will definitely be looking for this in May!
    That quilt pattern is beautiful too!

  51. Sherri says:

    It’s gorgeous! I love how so many of the prints aren’t Christmas specific…and I love the large red poinsettas on white. I also love the black in the line…and the greens look so contemporary…love it all!

  52. Kd Courtney says:

    Love Love Love It!!!

  53. Jessica says:

    Black, red, white and green are some of my favorite color combinations so I’m glad you couldn’t resist the fabric you created!! Would love to sew with them.

    thanks for sharing.

  54. Jennifer says:

    I think the line is really nice. I like the mix of holiday and non-holiday fabrics and I really like the black w/red & green flowers on it. Great eye candy once again!

  55. Tracy says:

    Luv it! Can’t wait till it’s out.

  56. Jackie says:

    I think it is absolutely fabulous. Definitely sophisticated and can be utilized for something other than Christmas. Genius!

  57. V says:

    OOOH! Heather! you go them! They look fabulous! Love the black prints!! and the red with the flower with little black stems.. mmmm, great red. Love love love red… Way to go girl!

  58. I LOVE THIS!!!!! It is great.

  59. I love it! The reds especially, but the apple green is nice too. And I like the blacks, oh and the creams, too! I like that it isn’t all Christmasy

  60. Rebecca Woods says:

    Absolutely gorgeous fabric as always. I dont know how you do it. I love it and will have to get this one for sure. I dont think there is anything wrong with Christmas fabric coming out mid year. I always get in the christmas spirit then and need to make something.

  61. Sue says:

    Beautiful! I love them all, too. So glad you added blacks in there. I will definitely be thinking of something to make with them. Great job!

  62. Leslie Schmidt says:

    This is a fantastic line! For once, I don’t think I could pick a favorite out of the group. It will be so versatile. I really like the greens. I looks so fresh. Can’t wait!

  63. SewLindaAnn says:

    I really am drawn to the softer part of the palette. The ivory backgrounds and the green selections. There are always so many bold and bright Christmas prints, it’s nice to have softer options and more versatile small prints to work with. The black print background is very striking. The pattern looks great, usually the free patterns aren’t that interesting, but this design is really neat. Thanks for the pics!

  64. Kay says:

    This is beautiful! It’s fresh and exciting. I like that it doesn’t ‘scream’ Christmas. I love everything…the colors, the motifs…I was going to make a black, white, and red quilt but will wait till your fabric comes out!

  65. Deborah Bailey says:

    So glad you shared…I love getting a first peak!

  66. I love the range its beautiful. I think mt favourites are the apple greens but everytime i have looked at the pictures i have changed my mind. I do love how they work together in the quilt pattern. I do like the idea of using a little black with the range. Lovely can not wait for them to be available.

  67. LIN says:

    Love the line – I want it now!!

  68. Pingback: Home for the Holidays « Trends and Traditions | Trendsfire - todays hot trends

  69. Kay B says:

    Several nights ago I was on the Henry Glass website looking at your free patterns. Guess what I saw? I was so excited. Love this fabric, my favorite is the ivory background with red/green floral print. This past week I had a chance to go to several quilt shops in the Altanta Area that are across town from me. I was excited to see that they carried your fabric. I know where I’ll be shopping now.

  70. andrea says:

    i can speak for all the SIL when i say “LOVE IT”

  71. Charmaine & Co. says:

    Absolutely LOVE this line!!! The colors will be perfect in my home too! What a great combination and I think its a great idea that they can be used year round!

  72. Sally says:

    I love it! I’ll have to hurry to finish some projects so I’ll be ready for it when it comes out.

  73. glenda says:

    I love this line! Love your choice of green to really brighten it up. Can’t wait till it comes out.
    I want the quilt pattern too. 🙂

  74. Laura says:

    Really pretty! I really like the black with the red.

  75. Laura says:

    WOW! I love this new line and the colors you have selected. I can hardly wait for the fabric line to come out and pattern!
    Laura T

  76. Kathleen says:

    Oh my goodness….these are beautiful! And we have to wait til May/June?? Arrgghh! The black prints are my favorites….they sparkle and shine, oh, I can’t wait to own this whole line!
    Great job, Heather!

  77. Sharon D says:

    Heather,

    Your new line is gorgeous. I am really regretting my New Year’s resolution — no buying of fabric. I may have to break it come May.

    Sharon

  78. QuiltyTrish says:

    One word describes your new line … gorgeous!! I’ve already sent my favorite LQS the link to your blog so that she can see it and, hopefully, order it. Thanks for sharing it with us!!

  79. Nancy L says:

    Heather, it’s beautiful!! I love it! Just think, I should actually have time to make a Christmas quilt this year, and I think I just picked out the fabric!! Can’t wait to see the fabric! I’m glad to see some black coming back.

  80. Christy says:

    Love it, love it, love it! The blacks are my favorite, followed closely by the greens, whites and pinks! Can’t wait to see it in person! Thanks for the sneak peek!

  81. di says:

    The new fabric line is just beautiful! The black and green print is making my heart go pitter-pat!

  82. Lisa Dodson says:

    Your fabrics just scream, ” Quilt Me”. After finding your blog, I look at fabric in a different way. Your fabric choices allows the quilting to pop. You have changed the way I buy fabric and quilt. Thank you.

  83. anna says:

    Love the fabric Heather- Poinsettias were my wedding flowers. I love the simple elegant designs- I am sure that it is going to be a hit when it arrives in the stores.
    Regards,
    Anna

  84. Great new fabric line! I do like your choice of colors especially the green and the black. I foresee some of this fabric working it’s way into my sewing room:) Yahoo!

  85. Beautiful Heather!! My favorites are the blacks and it is so great that not ALL of the prints are Christmas. The quilt design is wonderful.

  86. quilting chick says:

    Love, love all the fabric-Am sure I will have to work on a Christmas quilt with these-

  87. Kim D. says:

    Congratulations on the new line! Love the reds and the addition of black. Very pretty!

  88. rachel says:

    oh heather!!!
    i heart it.
    i am SO stoked that it’s an apple/lime green instead of the traditional christmas green.
    and the black…LOVE it.

  89. Robin Chapa says:

    GORGEOUS! That is the best Christmas line of fabric I feel like I have seen in years– how I would love to get my hands on a fat quarter bundle of that…. congrats on a job well done!

  90. Karen Sikes says:

    So pretty, I want it all. I think this is probably my favorite of all of the lines you have designed. It is great that you will be able to use it all the time and not just Christmas…

  91. Marie says:

    I REALLY love this line, Heather. The smaller prints are adorable but not cutesy. I think the reds are gorgeous. I’m anxious to see them in real life!

  92. Diane says:

    This line is beautiful. I usually don’t go for Christmas fabrics, but this one is gorgeous, and so much of the line can be used for year-round projects and quilts. Your diningroom rug is also gorgeous, by the way! Best wishes!

  93. Tracy P says:

    I love it!! The designs in your fabrics are always so crisp. I like that its a Christmas line but many of the fabrics can be used anytime. Great job as usual!

  94. Judy W says:

    Wonderfull! Can’t wait to not only see it, touch it, & to have it in our home. I (we) love Christmas & well even though it is Jan 18th, I still have four of my six trees up. I’m off today, Martin Luther Holiday, so I get to play, & it’s off to some quilt store. Wishing it was May. Great Job. This is on my must have list!

  95. patty says:

    Love the line my favorite if I must choose would be the black with swirls and red pointsettias.

  96. Mary A Hentschell says:

    I hope Fayes in Mayville,ND is going to carry this line!! I just love the fabrics; anything with black is a favorite of mine. My goal for this year was not to buy too much new fabric as I have plenty in my stash but now you are teasing me!!!! Can’t wait to see this fabric when it comes out to the quilt shops.

  97. Carolyn Watson says:

    Just gorgeous. Hard to pick a favourite – love all of them.

  98. Sandy Allen says:

    Beautiful! Can’t wait to see it in the shops! And the pattern is wonderful. Thanks so much for sharing it with us, now it is US that have to wait! 😛

  99. Kathy says:

    What a great way to market yourself! I’m sure fab shops will get a good sense for how much people like your fabrics when they visit your post! They look like they would fit perfectly with the color scheme in your dining room! How about a quilt sneak peak next?

  100. Laurie C says:

    Beautiful collection! Can’t wait until it’s in the stores – must have been hard to keep it secret!

  101. Rose Marie says:

    Your fabric is just butiful. Love using the black in with the reds.

  102. Laurie Gelo says:

    Wow, this is my first time to your blog and I have to say that I am super impressed. I am so in love with that fabric line. It is so pretty yet has such an air of sophistication. I am loving this and now I can’t wait to get some in my hands. Thank you for sharing these beauties with us.

  103. PEG says:

    Love it. Red is my fav color and the greens are great. The touch of black adds elegance to the everyday red/green Christmas combo. Great job!

  104. Denice says:

    I am a sucker for Christmas fabric. Several years ago I started constructing patchwork christmas tree skirts. After making several I still am searching for beautiful christmas fabric. I could see a tree skirt out of this fabric line. I will keep my eye out for them, and check at my local shop if you will be receiving some this summer.

  105. Twila P. says:

    Thanks for the preview, I LOVE IT!
    I will make a very strong suggestion to my
    local quilt store that they purchase the entire
    line. It seems as if May cannot come fast enough:)

  106. Helen says:

    I found this as I sit here in a snow storm in Minnesota, and what a breath of fresh air those colors are! Better hurry up and use some of this stash, so I will be ready when your fabric is.

Leave a comment