Fabric Trends

After a long day of dealing with misbehaving quilt blocks, incomplete design ideas and number crunching border ideas that don’t fit a quilt center, a box came along to brighten my day.  It contained some fun fabric and I’ll also show you some other fun fabrics that I’ve been finding lately.

First, Garden Party by Anna Maria Horner

 

 

 

  Here’s a closer look at my fat quarters.  I got them here:  www.quiltedtreasures.net (Thanks Mary!)

 

 I couldn’t wait to get started, so I’ve already started cuttting.  For more ideas on this fabric, visit Anna Maria’s blog at http://annamariahorner.blogspot.com/

  I also got this in the mail.  It’s not brand new, but I still love it.  It’s by Heather Bailey and she also has a great blog. http://heatherbailey.typepad.com/

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’ve also gotten some fun new Moda fabric that I’ve been playing with.  It’s pretty bright, but I love it.  It’s Nest by Tula PInk.

 Joel asked me why I put a chicken on my quilt.  I said “It’s not a chicken.  It’s a birdie.  Chickens are so 5 years ago.  The birdie is the new chicken.”  Birds are everywhere in quilting fabric now.  Plus, if you look close at the fabric, you can see birds, feathers, and eggs.  Very clever!

 

I’ve been craving large scale prints lately – Can ya tell?

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Fabric Trends, Quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Fabric Trends

  1. Anne Sutton says:

    Gotta love those fabrics! So much fun and I can’t wait to see what you do with them. Welcome to blogging! Yours is just wonderful.

    I’ll be looking for the next issue of American Patchwork to come in the mail. Can’t wait! Thanks for sharing your home and projects with us. Give that husband of yours a big hug from Bunny Hill.

  2. Tina Dillon says:

    Hi Heather,
    I found you through Bunny Hill. What a wonderful and inspirational blog – I love pictures and seeing designs and creations happening before my very eyes. You are very talented and it’s very exciting to visit your blog!
    Tina D. (Melbourne).

  3. Bernie Shell says:

    I love your new blog! I’m mostly a lurker rather than a participant in blogging! But I’m trying to come out of my shell! I would love to be a regular reader of your lovely work/blog!

  4. pam says:

    Anne said to come on over, what treat! Can’t wait to see what else is going on in your world!

  5. Helz says:

    Adore Garden Party… & I already Heart Fresh Cut Muchly… off to see Anna Maree’s Blogspot… Soooo… Luv your Blog!!! Will be back…………….

  6. Vickie E says:

    I found your blog through “Bunny Hill’s” Anne Sutton. I love it! Especially seeing your studio while you are “really” creating….whew..now I don’t feel so bad LOL. Anyhow, I am a big fan of your patterns and books. I’m interested in what you’ll do with Anna Maria’s fabrics…I’ll be back for sure.

  7. Jodi says:

    So GLAD Anne posted about your new blog! WELCOME to Blog Land! I LOVE your patterns. I have 3 of your books and have made many projects from them. I’ve posted several on my Blog. In fact I’m in the process of cutting out another one of your quilts, and super excited to get sewing! I’m loving your Blog already, and it’s really nice to get to meet you. Happy Bloggin! xxoo~jodi
    http://www.simplythisthatandtheother.blogspot.com

  8. Heather,
    Welcome to blogland! Love your patterns and can’t wait for the magazine.
    Nadine
    the material girls quilts

  9. Gudrun Erla says:

    Hi Heather and welcome to the blogworld. I am so glad you got it going, I know we talked about it at market. Good luck with everything, it looks great!!
    See you soon.
    Gudrun

  10. Diane Nagle says:

    Hi! I love your new blog! I have used your patterns for a long time and always enjoyed them. Good for you–I am new at blogging too but it is so much fun. Love those fabrics you ordered–I am crazy for color myself.
    Best of luck to you!
    Diane

Leave a comment