Labor Day Weekend

I hope you all had a great Holiday Weekend.  Here in Minnesota, it’s usually considered the last lake weekend of our short summer.   We had beautiful weather and made the most of our long weekend.  We had my side of the family over on Saturday.

DSC_9579

It’s a smaller group and the kids are still pretty little.  There is lots of toe dipping, but not a lot of swimming quite yet.  In fact, I think the kids have just as much fun playing trains with Grandpa.

DSC_9618

We went on a boat ride.  These two aren’t so sure about this one.

DSC_9590-adj

 But these two are ready!

DSC_9597-adj

Shortly after this shot, my sister-in-law caught a fish.   (Joey and Daisy had to help.)

DSC_0247

We also caught a baby snapping turtle

DSC_9564-adj

 

 On Sunday, Joel’s side of the family came for the day.   There’s a few more people in this group .  Most of the kids are older so they love to go tubing.

DSC_0025

 

I caught a few pictures of this group of tubers –  They were so fun to watch.  Check out the red tube by the boat – This guy has just done a 360 over the wake. 

DSC_0125

We do have a few younger kids in the group too –  A future Miss America

DSC_0015-adj

and Sleeping Beauty.

DSC_0111

And a few dogs.

DSC_0049

 

On Monday, Joel’s friend came over with his 3 daughters for some lake fun.

DSC_0207

Time to go home and say goodbye to summer –

DSC_0219

Bye Summer.  We’ll miss you.

DSC_0230

  What a fun weekend.  Now it’s time to go vacuum the sand out of the carpet.

 

 

 

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Labor Day Weekend

  1. Barb says:

    That last picture is absoutely gorgeous….
    Looks like fun was had by all…..kinda sad to see the summer go.

  2. Mary Flynn says:

    Loved the dog picture and the last picture truly says good bye summer. It sure went fast.

  3. looks like it was a wonderul wrap up to the summer. Love the picture of all the dogs – however did you get them to stay in one place and pay attention? Our dog looks the other way if there’s a camera about!

  4. Karen Sikes says:

    Love the picture of the dogs, looks like they are best friends.

  5. Kathleen says:

    What great photos! And how wonderful to live on the water in such a beautiful location. All that house remodel was SOOOOO worth it…no?

  6. Kris says:

    I can’t even imagine living right there on the water like that all year! What a wonderful place!!
    Did I see a Wheatie in that dog photo? We have a Sweetie Wheatie named Ducey after our favorite Lake…Bass Lake and Ducey’s Lodge!

  7. Colleen says:

    Oh those photos are so beautiful! Those little girls are adorable :o) And the dog one… amazing! They actually stand by each other… What a pretty sunset.

  8. Okay, I’m not the first one to say it, I like the dog picture the best. That’s so fun to get all of those dogs to pose just so.

  9. Dawn says:

    Hi there, I have just found your blog by surfing the blog rolls . I have spent a hour reading and wow…. I must say the dog picture made me smile… they had fun too. Meet new friends I bet!
    Hugs and Blessings
    Dawn

  10. We both enjoyed Labor Day Weekend on a Minnesota Lake, but the difference is …you documented yours!! Nice.

  11. Tracy says:

    Loved the dog picture!

  12. Pina says:

    I must say I do like the last photo and the heading
    “Bye Summer”
    But to us in Australia its just begining so I can’t wait to welcome it.

  13. Julia says:

    I have GOT to get me a house on a lake!! Your pics were fabulous! Glad you had a good time on Labor Day!

  14. Christy says:

    Looks like the perfect Labor Day weekend! I’m very jealous! I spent the weekend home in bed sick with my daughter! So glad you had such a fun time! Thanks as always for the great pics too!

  15. amber says:

    Heather,
    I just wanted to let you know I got the quilt and books and am completely thrilled. Thank you so much! I posted all about it so I thought you might want to check out the link: http://alittlebitbiased.blogspot.com/2009/09/big-thank-you.html

    Thanks again!
    Amber Johnson

  16. wendysquilting says:

    Our Labor Day Weekend weather was wonderful too, but I’m way to stubborn to say goodbye to summer just yet, it won’t be over until its truly too cold to go fishing. I’m hoping for another month anyways even if it is chilly.
    I love all your pics, that dog one though what a great shot!

  17. Vickie says:

    What a lovely trip down memory lane. I so enjoyed the pictures … the one of the dogs had to be a trick! Our Labor Day was spent at a few weddings and on the road.
    vickie

  18. Robyn says:

    Great pics. Especially the sleeping baby (sigh) it just sets all my maternal bells off and makes me want another despite having one in college.

    The pic of the boat leaving shore at dusk is great too. Nice layout.

  19. Junelle says:

    Love your pics and notes from your weekend. You must really enjoy being on the lake and having company!! But, I especially liked the “dogs” picture. How did you ever get them all to pose so nicely?

  20. Linda G O says:

    This was great—-the dog photo is the best…I lost my dog in May and have been really missing her this week.. so fun to see a dog ..the kids are so cute…..yes–it is good-bye to summer for Minnesota-and way too soon…………

  21. Nicole says:

    How on earth did you get all the dogs in that one picture? Your family is beautiful!

  22. Liz A. says:

    Great pictures but I want to know how you managed to get all those dogs to pose together so peacefully? Great shot!

  23. Sue says:

    My favorite runner is Party Time. I love the colors and it would be perfect for a fun party! It just makes you smile when you see it.

  24. Carolyn says:

    I love all of the taberunner patterns! The fabrics that you used are so bright and fun. As always, your patterns call my name — especially the apple and holly ones. I love seasonal tablerunners — festive and quick additions to my dining room table decorating!

Leave a Reply

