Sewing Room Ideas, Continued

Wow!  What a great response to the last post.  I shared a glimpse into my Mom’s sewing room and got lots of comments and questions.  Both Mom and I enjoyed reading all your comments and seeing the interest in her design ideas.

The main question was – “Where did she get those cabinets and/or the ironing board station?”   There isn’t an easy answer, in that I don’t have a link to a website where you can order all the pieces.  These are custom cabinets, made by a cabinet maker to Mom’s specific dimensions.  I’m sure anybody that makes kitchen cabinets would be able to make these same pieces, custom fit to your room.

The second question was – “When do we get to see the fabric?”  Let me just say that last year Mom and I went through her fabric and she donated boxes and boxes of older fabric to church, friends, and quilt groups.  As some of you may know, at a certain point the stash can become a bit unmanageable and you run out of space.  That is exactly what happened to Mom.  The following pictures show what’s left of the stash, with the exception of what’s hidden in the closets downstairs and in the storage room (don’t tell Dad.  It’s really not that bad now that most of it has been cleaned out.)  The upper cabinets hold fabric and project bins.  Mom wanted me to point out that she had these made 14″ deep, instead of the usual 12″.  That allows for folding the quilt fabric in fourths, plus room for the doors to close!   We usually buy fabric in increments of 1/4 yard, so the width of the cabinet is divisible by 9″, plus a couple extra inches of wiggle room.

The pantry cabinet in the left corner of the room holds tons of fabric too (although this is mostly clothing fabric).  This picture didn’t turn very well, but you can still see how much you can fit in there!

There are also drawers filled with fabric. . . .  Many of you asked about the drawers.  They have full extension slides that allow you to pull the drawer all the way out, to access the back corners of the drawer.  They are also self-closing.  This is really important – I designed my sewing room first and didn’t specify to the cabinet maker what kind of slides I wanted.  So, with my drawers, you have to push them closed.   This is no big deal, but the problem is that when I sew (and I like to sew fast), the drawers slide open from all the vibrations.  Periodically, I get up from sewing and don’t realize that the bottom drawer next to me has come open.  Then I either bang my shin or almost trip over the dumb thing.  For your own shin protection, I just thought you might want to know  ( for those of  you who said you are currently designing sewing rooms).  You also wouldn’t want to fall with a seam ripper or scissors in your hand, if you can help it. 

And now the closet - The fabric goes from top to bottom, organized according to color, with large baskets for projects.    In the lower right you see my niece playing with the buttons on my Mom’s serger (her tension on her sewing machines always has to be checked before sewing, as the grandkids love all those buttons!).  The serger stand is on wheels so it can be pulled out of the closet when needed.

For those of you who want to incorporate your knee lift into a custom cabinet, this picture shows how that is done.  The picture also shows where Mom stores her laptop and all her bobbins.  The bobbins stick to a magnetic strip, so everything stays in place.  We got these bobbin holders as a gift from a friend and if anyone knows where we can get more – please e-mail me!

I think one of the keys to Mom’s successful organization is all the dividers in the drawers, as this picture of the ironing station shows.  Having one big, open drawer just seems to get messed up right away.  Having dividers keeps everything in place and provides compartments for similar items.

 I hope that answers all your questions from the last post . . .

Now, onto some exciting news.  This box was sitting in my garage when I got home last weekend.

The label says it’s an international priority package from Korea, containing more FABRIC!!!

 A sneak peek at the fabric:

And a sneak peek of what we are doing with it:

I’ll be back soon with more on the new fabric line . . .  . . .

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Decorating, Quilting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to Sewing Room Ideas, Continued

  1. Gale says:

    That fabric is beautiful!! I can’t wait to buy some.

  2. Sherri says:

    Oh…love the new details on your Mom’s sewing room…the divided drawers, the laptop right next to her machine…but really LOVE the new fabric and design!

  3. Rosalie says:

    I think our local Bernina shop carries the bobbin holders. I have one, and I’m pretty sure that’s where I got it. (OKC Bernina store)

    Love your fabric! And the sewing room! Looking to organize mine, so the pictures are a plus!

  4. Mary Ann says:

    Oh my, I did just redo part of my room and now I am to the cabinet piece. I was debating on stock vs custom cabinets and now I am really torn! Such good ideas incorporated in every corner!

  5. The fabric is gorgeous Heather!
    I would think I’d had died and gone to heaven if I had your Mom’s sewing room!

  6. Paula in NH says:

    I think you and your mom need to publish a self help book on creating the perfect sewing studio! By far, my favorite idea is a drawer for her laptop. I love having my laptop close to me when I’m sewing and the drawer is a perfect solution.

  7. V says:

    heather! it looks great!!! what fun!!! bring a scrap bag in June!

  8. Polly Monica says:

    OMG! The new fabric is lucious! When can we buy some???? A new book in the making, too??? Although my magnetic bobbin strips are from Bernina, you can now get them here- http://www.joann.com/joann/catalog/productdetail.jsp?CATID=cat3578&PRODID=prd34632&cm_mmc=Google%20Base-_-Comparison%20Site-_-Web%20Site-_-Grabobbin%20Magnetic%20Bobbin%20Holder%208”&utm_source=Google%20Base&utm_medium=Comparison%20Site&utm_campaign=Grabobbin%20Magnetic%20Bobbin%20Holder%208” Polly :-)

  9. Stacey says:

    my husband is a cabinetmaker in Maine, he does custom cabinetry and built in’s. and we deliver in New England. that room is devine and she is very lucky!! here is his link http://kitchenartofmaine.com/

  10. Megan says:

    The new fabric looks simply lovely, and the block on your sneak peek looks like it is TEENY TINY! Can’t wait for you to unveil the rest of your projects!

  11. Tina C. says:

    Awesome, awesome, awesome. Thanks for sharing even more pics. And thanks for sharing the tips too!

  12. Dena Martin says:

    Your fabric is beautiful and I can’t wait to see what you do with it, beyond your little peek. Your mother is lucky to have such a wonderful sewing room. She has done a nice job in organizing it.

  13. Thanks again for sharing those photos of your moms sewing area… very inspirational. Congrats on the new fabric!

  14. Dianne says:

    Whoa! I was oohing and aahing over the room, but then you throw in that sneak peek at the end! I. LOVE. that quilt top corner at the end!!!

  15. Linda says:

    I love the room. And the new fabric…love the colors. Can’t wait for more information.

  16. Christine Thomas says:

    Such wonderful posts, Heather. So much to think about. Even though a lot of people can’t afford THAT kind of sewing room, there are many features and ideas that can be incorporated. Uh, yeah…I still want that ironing station.

    The fabric looks delightful…anxiously waiting for more projects.

  17. Mrs. B says:

    What a beautiful room!! I love the ironing station and the cutting table. I’ve added that to my wish list of things to have in my craft room.

  18. Laura says:

    What a wonderful organization system your Mom has! Thank you for sharing the rest of the room with us. It is great and a beautiful place to work. The new fabric looks beautiful too. Last week I was trying to order some from your Wildflowers line and had an awful time trying to get what I wanted. I finally did but it must be going fast! This time I will try to be faster.

    Thanks again-can’t wait til we can see more.

  19. Mary-Kay says:

    It’s great when you can have a space so organized. Much easier to think and sew up something wonderful. That fabric looks really pretty. I can’t wait to see what’s in the works for it.

  20. Amanda says:

    I’d like to know what you did with the cords in respects to the printer and the laptop. I’ve contemplated putting my printer in a drawer in the office but can’t think of a way to manage the cord. There obviously needs to be enough slack to pull the drawer out, but how do you keep that slack from getting in the way or caught when you close the drawer?

  21. Jessie says:

    The new fabric is gorgeous!! I can’t wait to that whole project, it looks awesome!

  22. Alathia says:

    I saw paisley! I lurve me some paisley! Woo Hoo! I’m in the middle of redoing my sewing room, as well, it’s been painted. I’ll be using an inherited 7′ long dresser for storage, as soon as I get it repainted.

    Can you describe how the drawer dividers are “attached” to the front and back of the drawers? I’m trying to figure out the best way to retrofit the dresser for drawer dividers.

  23. Susan says:

    Love the fabric and the room. I have more questions about the room. I am currently working with a cabinet manufacturer and after seeing this room I think that I am changing my plans. Thanks so much for sharing your pictures. I have a couple of really dumb questions!! What are the dimensions of the ironing station? Is the ironing station the standard height of an ironing board? Did you make the ironing board that goes on top? I looked around on line and I could not find any like that.

  24. Edna says:

    Love Mom’s sewing room! I can only dream! Heres a link to the Grabobbin Magnetic Bobbin Holders.

    http://www.blue-feather.com/grabobbin.html

  25. Judy says:

    You are so lucky to find great packages of fabric delivered to your door! We are more inclined to have auto parts delivered here!

  26. Tammy says:

    Thanks for the extended tour! And I love the new fabric… can’t wait to see more.

  27. Sue says:

    Like everyone, I love your mom’s sewing room. Oh, to be so organized! Thank you both for allowing us a peek!

  28. Great room to work in and love the new fabric line..very pretty!

  29. Linda P. says:

    Absolutely awesome!!!! I would love to sew there and the light and windows…. it would be heaven! I was going to say the same about the bobbin holder, I have them also. Thanks so much for sharing so much!

  30. Irma says:

    Love the fabric! I really like the bright colors that you use.

  31. Carmen says:

    Love the new fabric, and your project is so cute.

  32. barbara says:

    Could you make me feel any more disorganized? This is just too lovely. Can I just move in with u?

  33. Christine says:

    Can’t wait to see the new patterns! I have collected all your books and still you amaze me with new ones…. You are such a great designer.. I don’t know how you do it!! :) Can’t wait to see the new fabric line… loving the new colors!! Thanks for sharing all the pictures on the new sewing studio! Looks wonderful!

  34. Deb S. says:

    What a wonderful place to create. I’m creating my own quilt studio right now and would like to know how the padded top of the ironing station was made. Can you or your mom give us directions on how to make it? I have a piece of furniture that I’m going to use in a similar way but I need to make the ironing pad for it.

    Thanks.

    Deb S.

  35. Peggy S says:

    Love the studio, what a great place to create. I especially love the ironing station (I just had to buy a new ironing board, and am so disappointed by how flimpsy they are now) and the rolling serger stand. Is the serger stand custom made also? I’d also be interested in more information on the ironing station!

    Thanks for sharing

  36. Mona S. says:

    The organization is great, but you might want to try mini bolts or comic book archival card stock for making the stack of fabric neat.
    My question is “How” do you let go of fabric? “How” do you down size your collection? What question did you ask yourself?
    I have the same issue with books.

  37. Ingrid says:

    Love your Mom’s sewing room. Tell me about the carpet. Is it sisal? Grass cloth? Or something softer?

    Also would love to be able to print this out as a PDF for future reference.

  38. Linda says:

    Love so much about your blog. Keep up the great work. And, thank you.

    Linda

  39. Shel says:

    Can i ask where you buy your fabric? It is amazing, i would love to buy some bolts of fabric, but have a hard time finding any good places online?

  40. Pingback: Sewing Room Ideas and Inspiration Needed | Sewing Machine Creations

  41. Linda Weiss says:

    Love your sewing room. Where did you get your sewing table? Is it custom made? I just bought embroidery machine and am looking for a table with lots of space and draws. Would love to know where you got yours. Linda

  42. Vicki says:

    Wow, my husband and I just moved to a lake home about a month ago (from a 4 bedroom to a 1+ bedroom.) The “+” is a second bedroom that has our laundry in it. We are looking to make it into my sewing, craft room and seeing your great ideas now is just awesome. Thanks for the great ideas.

  43. Pingback: Sewing Room Cabinet Ideas | Trends and Traditions

  44. Jeannette H. says:

    This is gorgeous. Can you show a picture of how the cutting table becomes bigger.

  45. dgwheeler says:

    Ugh! Seeing this sewing room makes me want to buy our retirement home now!! We are military and no way do they give us enough weight allowance to take the cabinets with us :( But as soon as we buy that retirement home I get to start on my dress sewing room (and other misc crafts when I have time for them)

  46. RhondaWebber says:

    Thank you so much for the tour! I am in the planning stages of my sewing room and this design is one of my favorites! Love the drawer dividers and self closing cabinetry

  47. Carol says:

    I really love the cabinets and all that stuff and i was just wondering where she got all of the cabinets. thanks and i loved the tour!

Leave a Reply

