Always Busy, Busy!

Hi Everyone ~

Only 4 days left until Christmas.  Are you ready?

I have all my shopping done, gifts finished and just a couple left to wrap.  Everything that can be done ahead is ready to go.  The problem is, I have four Christmas parties to go to, and they all fall within 3 days.  One of the parties is here, so somehow I have to make food for all four parties and clean my house.  I’ve started making lists, in the hope that I won’t forget anything.  I plan to start cooking and cleaning on Thursday, but until then, I have time to finish up a couple quilts!

The first is one that I started this summer.  Last week I finally got around to quilting it.

 As you can see, I didn’t do an all-over pattern, but tried to emphasize the different blocks in the quilt.

When I do that, I match the thread color to whatever color fabric I am quilting on.  I match the bobbin thread with each color change and it makes for some interesting patterns on the back of the quilt.  More importantly, I don’t see all the little tension dots that appear when you are using a contrasting bobbin color.

The quilt is going in my downstairs TV room.  See?

This is the quilt that has been hanging there for the past 4 years.  Can you believe that I left something unchanged that long? 

It was time for a change.  (BTW, this quilt can be found in my Fat Quarter Cottage book)

 

I have to say, I like the softer colors against the blue wall.

You might recognize the pattern from my last Christmas fabric line, “At Home for the Holidays”.  This was the free pattern.

 I just changed up the applique and added a row to each side of the quilt, as I had such a large wall to fill.

(The pattern is free to you by clicking here:  At Home for the Holidays

That’s it for today.  I’ve got a couple more quilts to get binding on before my company comes, so I will show them later. 

 In case I don’t check in before this weekend, I just want to wish everyone a Merry Christmas and safe travels.

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Decorating, Machine Quilting, Quilting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Always Busy, Busy!

  1. Kelly O. says:

    the soft colours really do make a beautiful statement on that wall! gorgeous!
    Merry Christmas!!

  2. A Betty says:

    Your Martinique is beautiful and your quilting is unbelievable. It must take you hours to do and changing the thread that often!! I have my martinique Elizabeth pinned and ready but not sure what I’m going to do. I can manage the little swirls but I’d love to have your flowers in it too. Couldn’t bring up the free pattern. Your home looks beautiful. Merry Christmas.

  3. Lorrie says:

    That’s a beautiful quilt and looks awesome hanging on that wall!

  4. Mary says:

    I like the soft colors on this quilt better on the wall as well. It is beautiful.

    Merry Christmas!

  5. Jocelyn says:

    LOVE the quilt! Wishing you a very Merry Christmas too!

    (btw, the link for the pattern says “not found”)

  6. Jess says:

    Your new quilt looks great on that wall! Hope you have a very Merry Christmas too!

  7. Brita says:

    Just lovely. Thanks for sharing the pattern. Merry Christmas!

  8. Jan says:

    I really, really do love that wall quilt! Great job of quilting it!

    Sounds like you have a lot on your plate the next few days! I too have a lot going on, but I love the excitement of it all. Our church is hosting an event for 3000+ people on Christmas Eve, in which I am helping put all together, then I have 30 folks coming over Christmas day, then another family party the day after. By Monday, we will all be longing to put our feet up and just be!

    Merry, merry CHRISTmas to you and your family!

  9. Kristy says:

    Absolutely beautiful Heather. Everyone will be so blessed at your party, being surrounded by such a lovely atmosphere. I would invite you to our party, and you wouldn’t have to cook or clean…….but we are in Ohio. Merry Christmas, and may your 2011 be filled with dreams come true.

  10. quilty chick says:

    Beautiful- the quilting is beyond gorgeous-I do like the soft colors. Thank you for
    a wonderful blog. Wishing you and yours a wonderful Christmas and New Year.

    Hugs

  11. 4dreamsr says:

    The link wouldn’t work for me either. This is a beautiful quilt, with the softer colors & the pointsettias in the middle. All your work is beautiful.

  12. Patty B. says:

    Lovely quilts, just lovely! I did your “At Home for the Holiday” quilt. It was so fun to do and I did it in one weekend. Merry Christmas and thank you for sharing your gifts. You are truly blessed.

  13. Sherri says:

    I love this new quilt…it looks amazing on the wall…goes just beautifully with the blue paint and the rest of the room decor! Hope you have a very Merry Christmas!

  14. amber says:

    Both versions are beautiful. I love the quilting on the one you just finished. Thanks for sharing and good luck with getting everything done!

  15. Bonnie Novak says:

    Your colors are so new and fresh!!! I just love them. I can not bring up the link for the free pattern though….hopefully maybe after this weekend maybe you can have someone fix it?? I so want to make it!!
    Merry Christmas and have a Happy New Year..please keep those patterns and fabrics coming!

  16. Jocelyn says:

    Thanks for fixing the link ;-D

  17. Cara says:

    The new quilt looks awesome. I love it and how you quilted to emphasize the different blocks!

  18. Shasta says:

    I love all the beautiful quilting you have done on the quilt. It looks marvelous.

  19. Alissa says:

    Very pretty! I recently finished a quilt in the Shooting Star pattern. I love it:)

  20. Linda P. says:

    Heather, I’ve so enjoyed all your postings this year, you have been very generous in sharing not only your knowledge and patterns with us, but your family as well. Wishing you and yours a Merry Christmas, and many blessings in 2011.
    God Bless you!!

    PS: I do have the book, but had looked for the pattern, thanks bunches!! xo

  21. Susan says:

    I love the new quilt in your TV room. I agree with you – the soft colors look wonderful against the blue wall.

    Merry Christmas to you and your family!

  22. Marsha says:

    Lovely new quilt. Looks great in your room. Merry Christmas

  23. carol broughton says:

    Your quilting is spectacular!! You have inspired me to make the At Home for the Holidays Quilt. I am getting ready to write my “Quilt Goals for 2011” and will definitely put that one on my list. Thank you for sharing your gorgeous pictures and inspiration. Best Wishes for 2011.

  24. Absolutely stunning! I love the quilting and the quilt design!!

Leave a comment