Favorite Quilts of 2014

Welcome to 2015.  Are you ready?  I’m not quite ready because today I am going to share my favorite quilts from 2014.  Considering I made very few actual quilts this year (I mostly made runners and minis),  I had to get a little creative.  I decided to come up with my favorite for an assortment of categories.

 

#1 – Favorite use of Hexagons:

Patchwork Mosiac Runner (found here).  This is also some of my favorite machine quilting, simple as it is.

035

 

#2:  Favorite use of a Mini Charm Pack:

Woven Squares (found here)

154

 

#3 Favorite use for a blue dresser:

Fresh Connection

 

DSC_0043 adj bluer crop

 

 

#4  Favorite Topper

Summer Stars

DSC_8924

 

#5 Favorite Binding:

Spinners   (Also favorite use of the partial seam technique and triangles.  Oh, and hexagons.  Did I already do that one?)

 

DSC_0063 adj 600

 

#6 – Favorite secondary use for a runner – Use as a bed runner:

Granny Square Stars

DSC_0364 adj lightened 600

 

#7 Favorite quilt made with one of my fabric lines:

Puppy Love using the I Love Puppies fabric.

DSC_0553

 

#8 – Favorite non-scrappy quilt  (By the way, this is the only non-scrappy almost-two-color-quilt that I have made this year)

Nordic Stars

DSC_9804 adj best

 

#9 Current Favorite Color Combination:  Grey, aqua, teal, and green

Venetian Tiles

DSC_9904 adj runner darkened crop 2 (2)

 

#10 – Favorite project using fabrics from my stash

Divine

DSC_0593

 

#11 – Favorite Project using a strip piecing technique:

Awesome Blossom

DSC_0050 adj bluest 600

 

#12 Favorite Mini:

Pretty in Pink

pretty in pink mini cover 600

 

#13 Favorite Project from 2014:

Max 😉  Hands down.  No question about it!

DSC_4927

 

That’s all the categories that I could come up with.  I hope your year was full of favorite quilts too!

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Fabric Trends, Machine Quilting, Pattern of the Week, Quilting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Favorite Quilts of 2014

  1. Diane says:

    Great stuff! I loved all of it , especially the last one !!!

  2. deborah a. manning says:

    All are so beautiful. Max is so cute!! Thank you.

  3. Karen Wolter says:

    love every one of the projects. One of the favorite is Mr. Max. He is so cute. Can’t wait to see ya in the fall at LBBC retreat. Happy New Year to all of you.

  4. Bonnie Johnson says:

    All the projects are Winners! Max is so Handsome!

  5. treadlemusic says:

    Max is in a uber special category head and shoulders above all else!!!!! My absolute fave, and the reason I purchased your book, is “Nordic Stars”. Living where I do (S.E.MN, not too far North of Decorah, IA, and the absolute “heart” of Swedish/Norwegian territory) it would be “un-American” not to love this and make it (one of my goals for this year…….although, hopefully, a bit larger in a lap quilt!). Beautiful!!! Your quilting on each, although very simple, is the perfect enhancement for each!!! Love your style!!!!! Hugs from the soon-to-be–more-frozen southern “arrow-head”………

  6. Carol says:

    Love your photos. Very nilce of quilting, knitting, decorating but esp the two non-quilt projects.

  7. Linda Lee Aune says:

    Super blog today, Heather. You are right – a child is such an amazing blessing -to your family and those around you who can watch him grow.
    The bed runner is perfect and I’m going to have to try your green -teal combination. Blessed new year !

  8. Marsha says:

    I love how colorful your quilts always are. It’s hard to choose a favorite. Question. I always notice the blue bird you use in your displays. Where did you get it?

  9. DORIS MCALLISTER says:

    very beautiful Heather great work

  10. Mary Ann says:

    All these fun projects and the amazing Max project! 2014 was a wonderful year!

  11. ConnieG says:

    Thanks for sharing and Happy New Year!

  12. Debbie says:

    What a cute baby, and the runners are beautiful Heather. Love your blog. Happy New Year

  13. Nancy harpster says:

    Can you share what solid gray is your favorite choice for those runners? Thank you!

  14. Marsha Nelson says:

    Of course Max was your very best project this year!!! I really like Nordic Stars and Pretty In Pink. Can’t wait to see what you come up with this year.

Leave a comment