Rebel Roses – All done Up!

 Just before Christmas, I received a package from Karen, my design director at Henry Glass and CO.  Inside that package was 5 yard cuts of the new line that Mom and I had painted up several months earlier.  It’s called Rebel Roses and should be in stores next month.  Here’s a sneak peak at my stash –

 cropped-rebel-roses-stack

I know this looks like a huge stack, but I really wanted you to see the colors.

 

 

I also want you to see my partner-in-crime, so to speak, so here’s a shot of my Mom and I with our new goods –

 rebel-roses-with-pw-eyes

By the way, you don’t even have to read the sentence above to know where I came from.   My Mom met up with a friend last week that was visiting from out of state (and they don’t get to see each other that much) and she told Mom that I look more like her than she does!  We got a chuckle out of that, as she was good friends with Mom about 20 years ago – the same age that I am now!

 

I may have mentioned Mom and I working together, just a few times in the past.  This fabric line was another of our collaborations.  We were inspired by these rich, yet fresh and cheerful colors, along with our favorite mix of prints  – An extra large floral, plaids, stripes, and assorted other prints and smaller florals.  It’s fun to work on together on the prints, and even more fun when the fabric starts arriving.  Since then we have been busy cutting and sewing up some new quilts.  We’d like to show you how the fabric works up and maybe try to inspire you with ways to use these fabrics.   

dsc_0005

 

 I chose to make a new quilt for my kitchen.  It’s called From the Heart  and it’s in the book Livin’ Large.  I’ve already made two of these quilts, so I had to change the words a bit.  (I have a hard time following my own directions).   The original says Faith ~ Hope ~ Love.

dsc_1092-adj

 

I would also love to make this quilt with Bistro– the new line by Deb Strain and replace the flowers with coffee cups and the words with Mocha – Espresso – Latte.  For some reason, I haven’t found the time to make a 4th one!

 from-the-heart-rebel-rose

 

 

Mom has been working on Sunday Picnic, also from Livin’ Large. 

rebel-rose-sunday-pic-3

 

 

This quilt is my favorite done out of these fabric – so far.  I like that the blocks are large enough to show off the large-scale prints in the line, along with the border print and the bias printed plaid (meaning you don’t have to cut it on the bias)

 rebel-rose-sunday-pic-2

 

Mom also finished piecing this quilt, though I haven’t gotten it quilted for her yet.  The pattern is called 4-Patch Fusion and it’s in the book Charmed and Dangerous.

rebel-roses-4-patch-fusion

 

Here’s a close-up of that border print.  I love the big roses – they are so dramatic.

rebel-roses-4-patch-fusion1

 

I was trying to get another shot of that quilt hanging over the quilting machine, but somehow my camera got distracted with this. 

addi-rebel-rose

I take back what I said earlier – maybe this is my favorite.  Can you even stand it???

 

Oh, back to my point.  Watch for the fabrics in stores in February.  I know the yardage is already in the states, we just have to wait for them to wrap it on the bolts and for those beloved UPS drivers to bring it to us!   Stop back later, as I’ll be giving away a fat quarter pack when the rest of the yardage comes!

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Fabric Trends, Quilting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

76 Responses to Rebel Roses – All done Up!

  1. MichelleB says:

    It’s wonderful! I love it! The Charmed and Dangerous is my fave so far.

  2. MichelleB says:

    Sorry! I meant the 4 patch fusion quilt FROM Charmed and Dangerous. LOVE it.

  3. mariajhmom says:

    I think I like that last photo the best too, although that rose print is right up my alley. Too bad my sewing room looks like an alley right now!!! Soon….

  4. The fabric is gorgeous and yes you do look more like your mom than she does!! I thought this was such a funny comment. The new quilts are wonderful too.

  5. Kelli says:

    I love to find really pretty chocolate brown fabrics. Yours are gorgeous. I can’t wait to get my hands on some of this fabric. Although, I’ll also need the greens. And the reds. And the yellows. And…I guess I’ll pretty much need a little of everything.

  6. Kritta22 says:

    Oh my gosh! This fabric just screams my name! Seriously there isn’t a one that I don’t LOVE!!

    Can I have 10 yards of each?? Seriously I can’t wait to buy this!

    I really love the second quilt!

    your quilting is beautiful, BTW!

  7. Auntie Pami says:

    I’m in love–that fabric makes my heart sing! Reminds me of something happy, cheery and warm–Italy? Thanks!

  8. Barb C says:

    Those roses! I have to have them. Waiting is hard:0)

  9. Judi says:

    Just found your blog and I love it. The new fabric line is beautiful. What a dream to have your own fabric line. The quilts are gorgeous.

  10. Kris says:

    Oh my gosh, I LOVE those roses!! All of the fabric is gorgeous! I have often wondered just how a line of fabric is done. Do you sketch it, in color, then send it off? I would love to know how it happens, from dreaming it up, to putting it down on paper, a mock up, then…voila….beautiful, rich, yummy fabric for quilts!!

  11. Sherri says:

    Gorgeous fabrics and gorgeous quilts…I love the live love laugh in your kitchen as well as the four-patch fusion! Can’t wait to see these fabrics in the store!

  12. Christine says:

    Oh wow. I love your new fabrics and all the quilts you and your Mum have made. Your blog is so inspiring … I always enjoy your posts.
    Christine

  13. Kate says:

    Love the fabric, and those quilts show it off perfectly! Will definitely be hanging out for your giveaway.

  14. kathie says:

    Love the picture of her smiling, that is just adorable.
    sunday picnic quilt is beautiful…great colors!
    great border fabric for the 4 patch, rich colors.
    Kathie

  15. Carol says:

    What a sweetie pie…Love your new fabric…Live, Laugh,Love is wonderful…and you couldn’t possibly look anymore like your mom…amazing.

  16. Laurie says:

    Love the roses – and the fact that you have paired the red and brown is wonderful – such a happy grouping –

  17. Jackie says:

    That fabric is so yummy! I love it. It must be fun to be able to share your passion with your mom.

  18. Screen door says:

    You definitely have one customer making purchases here– Great color combinations. I’m redoing my daughters bedroom– this would be perfect… Can you help me with finding stores caring this line?

  19. Stephanie says:

    Honestly you and your mom look more like sisters! Gorgeous stack of fabrics. Wow you two have really been busy!

  20. Nancy says:

    thanks so much for showing the new fabs…great quilt patterns too…

  21. Barbara says:

    I had to look twice to see which one was you! Can’t wait to see the new line in the stores, I just love the rich colors.

  22. jo says:

    Heather…
    Any chance you would post a download template for the words live-laugh-love….I know I could figure it out myself but it would be so nice to have it already done. I have a spot in my kitchen that would be perfect for the quilt!! Jo

  23. danielle says:

    Wow! I love these, I am already ploting somthing out of the reds, yellows and browns. And the bistro version of From the Heart is a great idea as well.

    Great job! Thanks for sharing.
    Danielle

  24. Gayle says:

    I can hardly wait to find these in my local quilt shop… or somewhere online. I NEED some of these fabrics!

    Gayle

  25. Julia says:

    Hi Heather,
    you and your mother looks pretty similar {or similarly pretty ;o)}…I once had the same hair cut as my mother {unintentionally} & nearly the same glasses…yes, I couldn’t have denied where I’m from if I wanted to {…what I didn’t, btw!}.
    Oh, another irresistible fabric line {how will I explain to my bank account? And fell in love with some books by you too…u-oh!} – I love the rich reds…and the beautiful yellow tones…and…well, everything…!
    I’m always amazed how much you get done & how beautiful and perfect your & your mother’s work is…*deep bow*.
    And before I forget: I finally started with my giveaway-prize (Double takes 3 pattern) – it was a challenge to me because I really have troubles to place fabrics randomly…so it’s a perfect practice ;o). Now I only have to wait for some BG fabric to arrive and then I’ll quickly assemble the top…can’t wait for this quilt to be finished…

  26. diane says:

    very nice fabric, you and your mom do so so much resemble each other! your neice mmm mmmm mmmm

  27. Stefanie says:

    Oh Heather! I love the colors of your new fabric line! How can you go wrong with a name like “Rebel Rose”! Who came up with the name..you or your mom?

    Can’t wait for the fabric to hit the stores..BTW..you and your mom look like sisters!

  28. Love your fabrics – the colors are so rich and vibrant! the quilts look fabulous – of course!

  29. scrappylady says:

    Your new line is GORGEOUS! I also like the Sunday Picnic with these fabrics. ( I did get a copy of Livin’ Large, looks like this will be the fabrics to make it in! Can’t wait ’til Rebel Rose is in the stores!)

    You and your Mom do look alot alike! ( Your Mom’s friend was cute to say what she did! ) ~ Wendy

  30. Kristin says:

    Ohh! I love this line. The colors are great and patterns too! Love it!

  31. Christine Thomas says:

    Good grief…I gotta stop reading your blog every day. My blood pressure went up with wanting these fabrics. 🙂 I have a hard time visualizing stuff on my own so I’m rather prone to sewing a pattern the way the designer did. So my quilts will probably look like your quilts. Is that okay? 🙂 Isn’t it fun to be friends with your mom and to share the same passion and “hobby?” Thank you ever so much for your time and effort to post for us. It really is inspiring to see what is going on out there in the creative world. But now I HAVE to keep checking back to be able to enter for the fat quarter give-away. If I won that I’d still have to buy yardage. Yay! for Christmas in February!

  32. Sinta says:

    I want to reach out and touch your new line of fabric… they looks yummy. I also want to reach out and pinch those little cheeks on that sweet child! Myfavorite is LIve*Laugh*Love, I don’t have that book yet… but the 4-patch fusion is in the que just waiting to get started!

  33. shelley says:

    I, too, am loving this new fabric. Roses are my favorite, whether they are in the garden or on my quilt. Your work is beautiful, and each time you create something new, it makes me say, “I just have to have this!” You can draw my name anytime! How wonderful that you and your Mom can share this passion together. I think you’re getting your niece ready at just the right age!

  34. Mary on Lake Pulaski says:

    No, can’t even stand how cute that toothie smile is!!
    And then for the new fabric and photos of it made up into quilts OO LA LA! So beautiful

  35. Oh, it is so sweet…and that baby smile is even sweeter. I just this line and all of your sample quilts in it.

    I love thos big prints! TOO NEAT.

  36. Angela says:

    ooohh… what a pretty collection… what talented ladies you are!

  37. Nancy E says:

    Oh, what nice fabric line! Love the Sunday Picnic quilt.

  38. Meg says:

    I am so excited for the Rebel Roses to come out…I already started looking for it! Oops! I’ve already designed a quilt for the fabric, I want to use it to redecorate my bedroom. I’ve never designed a quilt, but you’ve inspired me! I love the fact that you and your mom work together. My mom and I are best friends and I would love to have the opportunity to work with her some time. Best wishes!

  39. Becky says:

    Beautiful colors! It’s got to be fun to design with your mom. I enjoy when my mom & I get to collaborate on projects, but she’s in Connecticut and I’m in Texas, which makes it hard!

  40. Martha says:

    Absolutely scrumptious fabric line!! The colors are bright, but exude a warm and inviting feeling. Thank you for another fabulous line of inspirational fabrics!

  41. Leslie L says:

    You’re right, you do look exactly like your mom. Both gorgeous, of course, and so is your new fabric. I adore that chocolate brown with the big, red roses. I need to get some next month!

    I haven’t checked your blog in a while and just saw your bedroom photos, too–wow! So bright and cheerful. You’d never know it was a dark room. That sunflower fabric (the one in the quilt you could only partially reveal) is stunning. What fabric line is it?

  42. Carmen says:

    That’s your Mom??? I always thought she was your sister, in all of the pictures I’ve seen!! At least you know how good you will look in 20 years. Must be those Scandinavian genes!!

  43. Kathy Jewell says:

    What a beautiful new fabric line – simply stunning!!
    Love both the quilts that you and your Mum have trialed the new fabs with!!! Beautiful as always!
    Kathy

  44. Sandy says:

    Love the new fabrics and that last pic is oh so sweet. I can see why your camera couldn’t focus on the quilt 🙂
    If I may ask how do you have your quilt hanging on the wall.
    Sandy in Nebraska

  45. Vickie says:

    Wow … felt like I just got a glimpse of summer! Thank you very much for the sneak peak. Your mother and you share in beauty in so many ways. Not just the physical beauty that is obvious, but the beauty of the spirit, mind, and talent. Amazing fabric … I hope to find it and make something fun and cozy.
    Blessings,
    Vickie in Iowa

  46. Linda says:

    Just beautiful !

  47. AllenQuilts says:

    Beautiful fabric! Are you sure that isn’t your SISTER? 🙂

  48. A Betty says:

    I really like the Sunday Picnic quilt with the beautiful aqua. Addi is adorable. –I once had a lady tell me, “you don’t look like yourself”. What does that mean???

  49. Christy says:

    Thanks for sharing a peek of those gorgeous fabrics! I love them, can’t wait to have them, must learn some patience…that’s always the challenge. Love the mix of colors and the different sizes of prints. Those quilts are gorgeous-I just love the Sunday Picnic quilt. I have other fabric set aside to make that one, so now I may have to make 2! I also love the From the Heart quilt. It makes me consider that I really should learn to applique…we’ll see. Anyway, thanks again for the delicious eye candy. I love your posts and your quilts!

  50. Iva says:

    LOVE those new fabrics — the colors, the prints!! Can’t wait to own a few myself!

  51. Michelle says:

    OOO! It is gorgeous. I can’t wait to get my hands on it

  52. Richelle Robinson says:

    It is beautiful! The both of you should be proud.

  53. Mary Lou says:

    What gorgeous fabric and beautiful quilts! Love them all but I think 4-Patch Fusion is my favorite…if you decide to offer a kit, sign me up, I’ll buy one right now! BTW, you and your mother are both beautiful, and what a joy that you get to do what you love together! Have a great day.

  54. Linda says:

    RED!!!! My favorite color – send some my way!!! I can see why you could be distracted, I always enjoy seeing pics of Addie!! Maybe two heads are better than one – they are certainly pretty any ways!!

  55. Nicole says:

    Can’t wait to get my hands on your new fabric line! Love the picture of you and your mom.

  56. Marianne says:

    Oh that new fabric looks sooo pretty! Can’t wait till it hits the stores.

  57. A Betty says:

    I bought my Livin’ Large at the LQS. I saw Amazon is out, and Connecting Threads had them at a good rate- for your other readers. I have fun new layer cakes arriving soon to make Sunday Picnic. This is totally out of the box quilting for me and I am so excited to be trying something different.

  58. Cara says:

    OMG! That is some gorgeous fabric! I love all your quilt you and your mum made out of it! Can’t wait to get my hands on some! : )

  59. Carrie P. says:

    The fabrics and quilts are lovely. I hope our shops get some.

  60. abby says:

    This is my first time leaving a comment, but I read your blog often. I love these fabrics, but what I love even more are your patterns. They are so clear and easy to follow. I love the 4 patch fusion. I’m currently working on it in Roman Holiday but may have to try it again out of these new fabrics. I love the border and the red on red floral. Thanks!

  61. sheri howard says:

    I am new to your blog, but it is so darling! Thanks for sharing all your beautiful work. I love that bedroom, I love those yellow walls!

  62. Cheryl says:

    Oh that fabric is so darn amazing, and the quilts – WOWIE. Great eye candy, and that cutie patootie baby also!

  63. jane says:

    Love the new Fabrics, and the book is on order, a definite must have. Beautiful!

  64. Tracey says:

    That is one cool fabric range. Love what you have done with it. Will have to wait to see it in real life guess I have a while to wait, but there is plenty of other inspiration in my craft space right now. Thanks for sharing

  65. Cindy says:

    Your pics from the teaching trip are wonderful. How great for you that you can have some fun while ‘working’. Your new fabric line is fabulous – can’t wait to see it in the shops.

  66. Melinda says:

    I just bought Livin’ Large to build the cover quilt in a Chez Moi collection I own —- I had been looking for a large scale print pattern for a long time! Now i have even MORE ideas thanks to your post of photos and decorating ideas – – – I love what you did!

    My compliments on your new fabric line – I look forward to finding it this spring in a shop near me.

    Heather, I grew up around quilters; but my first venture into quilting with rotary & rulers was with one of your patterns – so I have a REAL soft spot for what you do. I look forward to everything you come out with – Keep up the GREAT WORK!

  67. Terry Clark says:

    I’m busy now trying to find where to buy the Rebel Roses fabric. I absolutely love it and I want to make ALL the quilts you and your mom made. I just can’t decide which one I like the best. My daughter is always getting told that I look like her sister instead of her mother and I can totally say the same thing about you and your mom. How fun to be able to work with each other and share your passion for fabric. Keep up the good work.

  68. Fabulous fabric. Love your new quilts. I feel temptation builiding. I think I must have a quilt in in this fabric. I too loved the Anne of Green Gables series. I just ordered all the volumes for my school media center. Keep up the great work!!!!

  69. Pingback: More on Rebel Roses « Trends and Traditions

  70. AnnT says:

    Was led to your site today for the first time. Love your new line and will be looking for it for sure. My fav… all of it and the way you used it in the table runner.!! What fun!.

  71. JB says:

    This was my first time on your site and I LOVE the Rebel Roses line. I sure hope my local quilt shop stocks it. How can I find out?

  72. Barbrann says:

    Your new line is just what I’ve been looking for. I love the large prints. Can’t wait to see it in “person”. I also plan to order the pattern for large prints as well. Oh my – so much to look forward to.

  73. Shari @ H2H says:

    I love what you did the Rebel Rose fabric. I can’t wait to make models for the store.
    Keep up the great work!!!!!!

  74. KBQuilter says:

    I was just reading your blogs (I recently found your blog through the Jolly Jabber.) I had no idea Rebel Roses was your fabric line. I bought a fat quarter bundle on-line and made one of the patterns from the Charmed and Dangerous book. I did not make the connection between Rebel Roses and your patterns until just now reading your blog. What a delight! I just LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this fabric line. The Sunday Picnic quilt your mother made is to die for. I wish I had fabric left over to make that quilt.

  75. Elena says:

    It’s veeeeery beautiful !!!

  76. Susan says:

    Cant wait to get my hands on some if these fabrics… what stores will they be in?

Leave a comment