2 Months

I can hardly believe it, but Carter is over 2 months old already!   Today he is 9 weeks and 2 days old, so I am a little late in getting to this post.  Over the last month I have been trying to take lots of photos of him.  I am so painfully aware of how fast this is going, that I don’t want to miss a minute of it.  I also don’t trust myself to remember, thus all the pictures to remind me.

So are you ready for picture over load?

Just warning you.

This photo was taken at about 6 weeks.  The next photo was at 8 weeks.

As you can see, he is now ready to try out for the pee wee football team.

At his 2 month checkup, he was in the 90th percentile for height and the 96th for weight.  Nicely proportioned, don’t ya think?

He is now full of these cute little rolls.

I especially love the one above his wrist.  It’s so kissable . .

We are so grateful to have such a healthy, happy boy.

He has made some great strides this week.  He is now getting up only once a night to eat.  It was three times a night, so I am grateful to be getting more sleep now.

Secondly, he has started napping more regularly.  (again, see how kissable he is?  Check out those perfect little lips . . . )

For a while there, the napping thing wasn’t going so good.  He would only nap about once every four days.  On the days he didn’t nap, he would finally fall asleep at five in the afternoon.   He wasn’t usually too fussy, but there were days when a nap would have been nice.  My job doesn’t come with maternity leave, so there were always a few things to attend to every day.  This week he has taken a morning nap and a long afternoon nap each day.  What a difference that has made!  I have finished up a few projects and I feel better knowing that he is getting some rest.  During those long naps, I find it a little hard to wait until he wakes up.  I just miss this little face!  Sappy, I know.

The third big thing was that he rolled over yesterday.  He hasn’t been the biggest fan of tummy time  (as you can kinda see in the photo below – no smile). 

He squawks the entire time and yesterday he was so worked up that he pushed hard enough with his arms to roll himself over. We thought it was a fluke, but when he did it a second time, I wondered. Can a 2 month old learn things like this?  Hmmm . . . . Not sure about that one.  I guess I will have to see how often he does it.

At 2 months, his favorite things are the swing, his silky blankets, a flashing musical star, smiling, talking, and obviously, milk.  His least favorite things were napping and tummy time. 

I wonder what 3 months will bring?

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

55 Responses to 2 Months

  1. Camille says:

    He is delicious!!

  2. Terry says:

    Awe…he’s such a sweetie! My little ones are 14 and 16 years old, so it’s been a while since we’ve had baby pictures around here! Thanks for sharing! :0)

  3. Mary Ann says:

    So such a wonderful account and he is so very cute Heather. All those smiles and rolls just brighten my day even just looking over your shoulder so to speak!

  4. Aw he is so cute! Yes, take lots of photo’s! 🙂 I love all his adorable outfits too!

  5. Dawn says:

    He is darling! Love those rolls (babies are the only things they look good on)!

  6. shelley says:

    So happy for you, happy baby and healthy!! I bet you are the best mom! Love his wrinkles on his little forehead (in the tummy picture)! You’re right, the time goes quickly. Looks like you are saving some good memories to look at later …. kindergarten, high school, graduation, off to college, … enjoy every minute!

  7. Jane says:

    He’s a beautiful baby, Heather. I’m so happy for you!

  8. Phyllis Singler says:

    Great pictures and he is absolutely precious!!!

  9. Randi Mason says:

    He is so sweet! I am so happy for you!

  10. Kris bair says:

    Beautiful and healthy baby boy! You are so right….it goes so fast and next thing you know you have an almost teenager! Take TONS of pictures (it’s nothing for me to take 5000 pics a year and ours are 12 and 9;))…..enjoy it!

  11. Linda Verburg (spec. Ed. Teacher) says:

    What a blessing! Thanks for sharing!!

  12. Nancy says:

    Such a handsome boy! He’s almost the cutest little guy I’ve ever seen!!! My 5-month-old grandson is the cutest, and I MAY be just a bit prejudiced, but your son is adorable!

  13. Bev says:

    He is without a doubt the cutest baby ever! Seriously, I’m not just saying this, you should enter him in the GapBaby contest. I’m sure he would win! Thanks for sharing photos of your gorgeous baby! Cheery wave from Bev

  14. He’s adorable. Enjoy every minute. As you said, it goes too fast.

  15. Kathleen says:

    He’s such a cute baby!! He looks just like his mama, I’m thinking. And so well dressed! Enjoy every moment….it all goes so fast.

  16. karen says:

    VERY cute! You are wise to take lots of photos!

  17. Noela says:

    Such a cute baby. You are wise to take lots of pics. Time just flies when they are this age and everyday they seem to achieve another milestone.

  18. Carolyn says:

    He is just beautiful; what a treasure!

  19. Bari Jo says:

    Wow is he ever a beautiful baby! I love seeing these pictures! So very happy for you!!!!! You are wise to document with pictures etc! It goes way too fast!

  20. Cassandra says:

    Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww. He’s such an adorable baby!!!

  21. Candie says:

    So happy for your family. Love the cute little sweaters he gets to model too. Thanks for sharing Heather!

  22. Carol says:

    Carter is precious. We have 2 sons and 6 grandsons. I think little boys are the greatest!!!!! Carol

  23. Ruth B says:

    What a living doll!! That child is going to have the most amazing sweater collection knitted by mom! I see he has a good start already. He really is a poster boy for cuteness. And entirely kissable.

  24. gale says:

    Beautiful pictures. He is so adorable. I’m looking forward to lots of posts like this!

  25. ara says:

    Guapisimo!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  26. What a cutie! I know I am late commenting on your miracle, but I just read it, and how wonderful! I began following you a few months ago when I found your scalloped border tutorial. Thank you so much for that, it made it easy and way less nerve-wracking! Congratulations on your beautiful baby boy. I am loving all the beautiful quilts and sweaters you’ve been doing for him, too.

  27. Dorian says:

    He’s adorable Heather! I’m glad he’s doing so well. And remember, babies do things in their own time, so maybe he is learning to roll over already 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

  28. Jean Ruter says:

    You are doing really well if you can get things done while he naps. When mine napped, I was so exhausted that I often slept too! You will be happy to have all the pictures since, as you say, the time like this is very short. Our grandson is now a year and a half. When searching my pictures for some his mom was looking for, I was impressed anew by how fast they grow and change. Loving seeing him.

  29. Denise in PA says:

    Heather, he is absolutely gorgeous! Love his clothes too! Yes, he is eminently kissable!

  30. Anne says:

    He is sooooo cute. Keep taking lots of pictures… they grow up fast.

  31. Hattie says:

    ADORABLE…..enjoy every minute with him. They grow up entirely too fast!!!

  32. Janita says:

    God bless nap time. My kids would say… I don’t want to take a nap! I’d say… You may not need a nap but I do! He is a sweetie for sure! Every day will be better than the last .Loved every picture

  33. Sheryl W. says:

    It is a joy to read about a young mother’s obvious delight in her child! He is adorable and looks so cute in his hand-knit sweaters. God bless your little family!

  34. lindsey says:

    What a cutie pie!

  35. Sandra Davidson says:

    He is just so adorable and I love all his beautiful hand knit sweaters, Thanks for keeping us up to date. Blessings to all Sandra

  36. Grandma Rita says:

    He’s the sweetest little boy and yes they grow quickly, keep up with the pictures!

  37. nancy demase says:

    He is such a little sweetie!! Make the most of this precious time with him because they grow up way too quickly!! Love seeing all the photos of him and his little milestones and of course the odd quilt and knit!!

  38. Estrella says:

    Tiene un bebe hermoso Dios le bendiga con la crianza de el

  39. Melissa says:

    He is adorable, enjoy each and every moment! My nephew is 11 weeks now and he too hasn’t gotten that napping time down. Love all of Carter’s sweaters.
    Melissa

  40. Deb Praus says:

    Love the pics! keep ’em coming!

  41. Susan says:

    🙂 so sweet!

  42. Linda P says:

    What can I say??? He’s so adorable!! Time flies, and you just want them to stay like that a little longer (lots longer). I saw that crocheted granny square baby blanket and wondered how you got it – I made one for my daughter when she was tiny like that and have a photo of her at 3 months on it. It was alternated pink & blue centers. Keep posting photos, I love seeing them!!! What a blessing!!

    • My Aunt Lynn gave it to me. It was given to her many years ago by someone she took care of in a nursing home. That lady made it for her future children, but because she never had any of her own, she gave it to me. I’ve talked about my Aunt Lynn many times on the blog – some of you may remember me talking about the Christmas ornaments that she gave me, etc. This is just so like Aunti Lynn to save this and pass it down!

  43. Dianne says:

    Carter is a sweetheart. Keep the pictures coming.

  44. marsha nelson says:

    Love seeing the pics. He is so cute with smiling face and chubby cheeks. He’s going to be a big boy with those percentages. That’s good and so healthy.

  45. linda townsend says:

    I am totally in love with him. He is adorable. Linda

  46. Sharon W says:

    What a sweetie. I just can’t understand why those rolls are so cute on a baby, but not on an old lady like me.

  47. SuzK says:

    Oh my, he’s absolutely beautiful. It brings back wonderful memories of my baby (now 30). They do what they are ready to do at their own pace. Forget what the books say and don’t judge him by other babies. He seems like a very happy baby and that’s wonderful – he certainly has 2 terrific parents! Enjoy every minute – it goes by so fast. My best advice – always talk WITH him. My son and I always have talked – we don’t always agree – but we always talk. He’s as much fun now as he was when he was Carter’s age (although I do like that he lives in his own place).

  48. Connie says:

    Wow, he’s growing so fast. He’s very sweet, enjoy every second.

  49. ColleenM says:

    Absolutely adorable! Just about time to start trying for a little sister:)

  50. Tina McNamara says:

    He is precious. Enjoy! Lucky boy to have a momma that can knit. Love his sweaters.

  51. glenda says:

    What a beautiful little boy!

  52. Dee says:

    I love all the baby smiles and baby wrinkles. He is a lucky boy to have a Mama that takes such good pictures. Keep them coming!

Leave a comment