Metro Hoops

I’ve been working on a project since last summer that I finally finished.  I rarely get a chance to work other designer’s patterns, but this was a quilt that I knew I wanted to make time for.  The pattern is called Metro Hoops by Sew Kind of Wonderful.  (images from their website)

Metro Hoops (Paper Pattern)

I’m always interested in learning or working with interesting techniques.   I have worked with curves before, but that was probably 15 years ago.   My experience with doing curves was making a traditional Wedding Ring quilt.  I thought the Metro Hoops patterns was a way to use that technique to make a more modern looking quilt, using a simplified technique.

1. Quick Curve Ruler ©

The technique uses the “Quick Curve Ruler”.  I’m not generally a huge fan of rulers –  Unless they can do multiple techniques, create many quilts that look different, or save you a lot of time.  This ruler fits the bill and Sew Kind of Wonderful has lots of patterns to support it.

212

 

I don’t have many photos of the process, but you start out with strip units and cut them using the ruler.  You also use the ruler to cut the background fabric used for the blocks (see above photo).    I really enjoyed the process and I am loving the finished quilt.

 

DSC_1959

 

I went a little out of my comfort zone with the machine quilting.  The gals at Sew Kind of Wonderful do a beautiful job of machine quilting and I wanted to try some of the straight line quilting and pebbles that they do a lot of.

 

DSC_1776

 

I did lots of straight lines in the border.  It’s far from perfect, but that’s okay.  The overall effect from a little ways away is more important.

DSC_1777

 

The fabrics are all from my stash.  The background fabrics is Robert Kauffman’s Yarn Dyed Essex Linen in Graphite.  I am now on my second bolt of this fabrics and have developed an addiction to the colorway Steel as well.

DSC_1949

 

I did do a one modification to the pattern.  It is originally laid out like this:

Metro Hoops (Paper Pattern)

 

This is a poor photos, but you can see that I laid my blocks out on point.  I was all ready to sew the rows together and happened to walk at the quilt from an angle, when I noticed how interesting the quilt was from that direction.  I quickly started making the setting triangles so I could put it together that way.

DSC_1773

 

This was definitely a technique that I will be doing again.  In fact, I have already started on their Metro Rings pattern.  I enjoyed the process of making this quilt and machine quilting it – but then again, you are always hearing that from me.  When it comes down to it, I have rarely met a quilting technique that I didn’t like.  Okay – except for paper piecing, but other than that, it’s all fun!

DSC_1771

 

All for now – Have a good Tuesday!

Heather

 

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Quilting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Metro Hoops

  1. Pam in Illinois says:

    I have done quite a few blocks with the quick curve ruler! I love it. I haven´t made a full quilt tho. Love your quilt and really like the background fabric.

  2. Melanie says:

    This is lovely! I made a Metro Hoop quilt last fall and was thinking that it looked different then yours, love the on point setting.

  3. Jen B says:

    This is gorgeous! I have to say, I much prefer your setting to the original, it looks more complete somehow, with the the border and the squares not being cut in half. I love the single background fabric too.

  4. Diane says:

    I am so Loving this quilt ! From the fabric choices to the quilting, What’s Not to Love ?
    I have never done curves or setting triangles, but I like challenges. Should I start with the
    Wedding Ring quilt or just dive into this one ?

  5. Vicki in MN says:

    Heather you did an awesome job on both the piecing and the quilting! It’s good to sometimes step out of our comfort zone and just do it! And done is always good🙂 I have the ruler and have made several of their patterns up.

  6. Jean says:

    Love it! I had not seen this one.

  7. Cathy Mc. says:

    Gorgeous quilting and I like your alternate layout too. I have this ruler but used it for just one small project so far. I need to get it out again.

  8. quiltnqueen says:

    I think you did a fabulous job of both putting the quilt together and quilting it!! I have a couple of their patterns and the ruler, however, I haven’t tried making one yet. Your’s is beautiful!!

  9. I’ve been thinking about buying that ruler. That sure seems like a much easier way to make a double wedding ring quilt.

  10. Melanie says:

    Oh wow!!! I LOVE the quick curved ruler!! What a beautiful quilt! You did a wonderful job on your piecing as well as your quilting! Good job!!! I really like how you took the alternative layout as well!!! I like it better too!! Hmmm, I just might have to buy this ruler & give it a try myself! I really like the back ground fabric you chose! Really makes your quilt pop!!

  11. noelayoung says:

    Just love your quilt. I have the ruler and a pattern Metro Rings so must try to make a start. Also I think your quilting is fantastic,

  12. treadlemusic says:

    Looking for the “LOVE” button!!!!! (again!) Your quilting motifs/placement are wonderful AND beautifully done!!!!! Love the “on point” idea…..I’ve had that ruler so long it probably has cobwebs on it!!! But I’ve dreamed of doing it with a darker grey background and this has totally inspired me (along with the feather wreaths, pebbles & straight lines!!!!).

  13. Heide says:

    What a wonderful quilt, love the colors and you quilting. I just bought this ruler and pattern, have not had time to play yet….but I will this Summer.

  14. Marsha Nelson says:

    Thanks for sharing your beautiful quilt. You did such a beautiful job of piecing and your quilting is wonderful.

  15. Shelly Barker says:

    I love the quick curve ruler and I like your on point version! Did you know there is a mini quick curve ruler?

  16. Alissa says:

    I love how it turned out! That is beautiful! Way to go against the grain and go with a different colored background, other than white😉

  17. GrannyC says:

    Beautiful work!! Love the background fabric, too – it’s just perfect. Your quilting is so imaginative – as always.

  18. Tresha Cottrill says:

    I have this same pattern but I hadn’t tried it yet. I had heard other people who had tried it say that they didn’t like it. Now after seeing yours and hearing your endorsement I’m sure that I will. I like your setting much better than the pattern too. I hope you won’t mind if I copy you. I think I also have the other pattern you mentioned, I bought them at the same time.

    Like you, I like to try new techniques and rarely find something I don’t like. I too did not like paper piecing the first time I tried it. Hated it in fact, swore I would never do it again. Then I found a pattern that I just loved and the designer told you what size to cut your pieces before you start sewing. You have everything laid out and organized so you can assembly line sew. You just sit and sew, trim and flip, sew, trim and flip and so on. No more guessing if your fabric piece is big enough to fit the space. Now I love paper piecing!!!

  19. Denny A. says:

    Heather! I love it. Love your background fabric too. I wondered about this ruler….the last thing I need is another ruler that I only use for one thing….sounds like there are many patterns to use it on. Might have to check that out. The quilting looks great…..cant wait to see the next one you make. Thanks for inspiring all of us!

  20. bkw says:

    I can’t wait to use mine. Your quilt is beautiful.

  21. Thank you for the love!!!! Your alternate layout is very fun…..it took me a second to figure out it was on point.🙂 What a fun twist! Helen and Jenny of Sew Kind of Wonderful

  22. Cindy Hagen says:

    I love it, thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

