Trendy Table Size Options

Today I wanted to share some size options for the runners from my Trendy Table book.

As I was making the runners, I was imagining many of them as bigger quilts.  Since I don’t have time to make them all as bigger, I took some time this morning to make a few digital quilts to see how they looked on a larger scale.  I’m not very good at making digital quilts, but this gives you an idea of how they would look.

 

For example, Starburst in its original size shown in the book –

DSC_2784 fav copy

And a larger version:

Starburst

 

I laid 3 runners next to each other, with extra sashing units sewn vertically between the 3 runners.  If you were to make this and wanted to buy fabric for it, you would need 3 times the grey, white, and star point fabric, plus 24 extra charm squares for the sashing (or one full charm pack for the whole quilt).

 

The original Alpine Runner:

DSC_2683 copyAnd a larger version – which is two runners laid next to each other, plus another row.  To calculate fabric for this one, just take the fabric requirements and multiple by 2.5.

trees

 

The original Plus runner:

DSC_2669 swivel copy

This is the equivalent to 3 runners laid next to each other, with the middle runner adjusted a bit so the pattern alternates.  The cutting isn’t quite as simple to change on this one, as you don’t repeat the outer edge 3 times, but it is still fairly simple to do.

plus bigger

 

The original Falling Leaves runner:

DSC_2682 copy

This is the equivalent of 3 runners also.  Just take the fabric requirements and multiply by 3.  Do the same when cutting, but I rearranged the blocks in the middle row a little differently.

maples

The original Wrapped runner:

DSC_1893 adj fav600

 

Again, the size option is just 3 runners laid out next to each other.

wrapped large

 

 

The original Frosted runner:

DSC_29282865 adj

 

This is roughly 3 runners laid next to each other, with some adjustments made in the quantity of the cutting for large blue background pieces.

frosted full quilt

 

The original Charisma runner:

DSC_2369 adj

 

Again, we have 3 runners laid out next to each other, with a little adjusting so I could alternate the blocks in the center row.

charisma

 

The original Squared Runner:

DSC_2674 rotate

Again, we have 3 runners laid out next to each other.

squared large

 

The original Capri Runner:

DSC_2833 adj blue

 

And a size option –

capri big

So, for those of you who don’t like runners, this gives you some ideas for making these quilts larger.  I didn’t do all of the runners in the book, but you get the idea.  For more info on the book, click here.

 

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Quilting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Trendy Table Size Options

  1. Kristi says:

    Wonderful ideas! Thanks for the inspiration!

  2. Tina McNamara says:

    This was a great post. I like so many of these table runner patterns and making larger quilts out of them is a terrific idea. Thanks.

  3. My book arrived and I have already started a Charisma table runner. As I was thumbing through the book, I had the same thought….these could be expanded to full size quilts. Thanks again for the great inspirations.

  4. Carol C says:

    Great ideas! I don’t make runners so that’s a perfect post. I’m going to buy the book after all.

  5. Vicki in MN says:

    Fantastic looking quilts too! I am hoping someone at the MN show has your new book-or are you going to be there. I tend to look at quilts and think what it would look like as a runner as I make lots of runners.

  6. tami says:

    Beautiful quilts! A question about the awesome furniture pieces we see in your posts. Do you paint them or have someone do it for you?

  7. Bev Hanna says:

    I love them all, will have to get the book and save this email.

  8. oohinnud says:

    Thank you so much for the additional measurements! I just love your new book!!!

  9. Ann in NC says:

    Great ideas! Thanks for more inspiration!!! Have a great summer with your guys!

  10. Frankie Easter says:

    I really love how the runners look as quilts. Thanks for the inspiration!

  11. Chookyblue says:

    Hi
    I love that you show the runners in a bigger size option………….
    Now I will have to try and get that book.
    You might like to check my blog post on the 5th June. I have my Rising Star top together…
    http://chookyblue.blogspot.com.au/

    • Hi Chooky – After I saw your comment, I had to swing over and take a look at your quilt. It looks great and sounds like a really fun weekend. retreats are the best, aren’t they?

  12. dawn at firstlightdesigns says:

    I especially like Squared and Capri as quilts. Am already thinking about what fabrics I would use . . .

Leave a Reply

