Summer Stitch Along, Part 6 – The Whipstitch

How is everyone coming with their Joyful Stitcher project?  I’m curious to hear where everyone is at.  I am sewing on mine much faster than I am blogging on it, but the next blog posts should be a lot less involved so it won’t take me quite as long to prepare them.

For those of you not doing the stitch along, I have some other projects that I will be sharing soon so there will be more variety coming up.  Just hang in there!  If you follow my Instagram, you have already seen one those projects.  Here is a peek –  I just need to get the photos edited and I can share more.

 

 

Now, back to the Stitch Along.  Today I am sharing my favorite stitch –  It’s hand down the one I use the most!  It’s just a simple whip stitch.  Here is what the it looks like:

 

When I was first introduced to stitching on wool, I was taught the blanket stitch.  Though I love the look of that stitch, I find it challenging to keep even.  My frustration led me to avoid it.  The following photo shows what the blanket stitch looks like – It’s the black stitching going around the outside edge of my ornaments.

When I saw the whip stitch on wool, I decided to give it a try and found it so much easier.  They really do look similar, and when you are using thread that matches the wool applique, you can hardly tell the difference.  In addition to being easier to keep even, it is way faster!  Fast is helpful when you are trying to get lots of handwork done with little people around 😉

 

This detail shot shows how easy that stitch is:

 

There really isn’t much to it.  Position the needle as shown above, then pull the thread through.  Repeat until you run out of thread or the shape is done.  After a little practice, it should be easy to get fairly even.

 

Here are a few samples of places that I used that stitch on the projects from the book:

 

 

 

I hope you will give this stitch a try.  Let me know what you think of it!  That’s all for today.  I’ll be back soon so share more stitches.  In the meantime, the whip stitch should keep you busy until I get back.

 

 

 

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Pattern of the Week, Quilt Along, Quilting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Summer Stitch Along, Part 6 – The Whipstitch

  1. Michele T says:

    Your pieces are beautiful!! I love your bright colours too!!

  2. Claudia V says:

    Beautiful !!

  3. Tina McNamara says:

    Your new quilt is BEAUTIFUL!

  4. Lynn says:

    I just love your work. Thank you for sharing!

  5. Pingback: Summer Stitch Along – Part 7 | Trends and Traditions

  6. Pingback: Ideas for Stitching Stems | Trends and Traditions

  7. Joan says:

    Beautiful! And the stitching holds through wear and wash?

    • Hi Joan – I would spot clean or hand wash the items if needed. They will hold up fine hanging on the wall or a runner, but not as well on a bed quilt that gets rough use or would need to be washed a lot.

Leave a Reply

